We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - friendly staff - plenty to do for all in the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel - friendly staff - plenty to do for all in the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed for one week in June with our kids on a trip to see our family in Miami. Twenty years earlier, my wife and I stayed at the Biltmore for a New Year's day function but I can barely remember many details. This time around - we had our kids and we found the hotel to be of high quality and the staff to be exceptionally friendly.

On our arrival we were greeted with Champagne and our kids with lemonade - a great way to kick off our trip! The lobby area and indeed all of the public hotel spaces were terrific. If you're into architecture take the time to look up at the beautifullly decorated beams on the ceilings of hall ways that surround the courtyards.

Our room overlooked the pool, had two queen beds, a sitting area, two television sets, and an oversize (as in very large) bathroom. A down note on the bathroom, a smelly odor can sometimes eminate from one of the floor drains. We addressed this problem by placing a towel over the drain. That little smelly problem is a bit of downer, but overall the room was exceptionally comfortable. We probably should have asked for some form of reparation for the discomfort of the unwelcomed odor, but we enjoyed ourselves too much to be botthered. However, we believe the Biltmore would do well to correct this problem and we would rate it higher than a 3 in the Cleanliness rating.

A really nice touch was the turn-down service; On our return to the hotel in the evenings, there were cookies and milk waiting for the kids. The hotel's pool is every bit as large as it appears in the pictures - and that made for uncluttered swimming. Unfortunately the area devoted to pool side seating is rather sparse. So you'll need to stake your pool lounger early before the other guests. The exercise room is on the narrow side. They have plenty of equipment but the room is so narrow that it's hardly a comfortable experience. Instead, I chose to go for a run around the beautiful neighborhood.

Dining - If you choose to dine in the hotel be prepared to pay a tidy sum - for example $70 for breakfast for two adults and two children where the kids meals costs $4 a piece, and all we had was coffee and omelettes. Keep in mind that you're paying for the atmosphere in addition to the food, just the same we didn't care for the breakfast very much especially when our waitress gave us the bill before we had been served our meals. The hotel also has a terrific Sunday brunch for $95 a person. An excellent breakfast can be had at the Bagel Emporium on US 1 just south of the hotel. For a change of pace, you can drive just west of the hotel for a Cuban pastry breakfast at a place called Gilberts (located in a strip mall on Bird Road and 57th Ave). For a great dining experience head out to the Rustic Inn in Key Biscayne.

Yes we will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    518
    199
    86
    48
    22
See reviews for
233
288
35
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

The hotel is as beautiful as the pictures show - breathtaking, especially the pool area. The first room I was in was a king size - the room was quite small and there was no desk. I was told it was a pull out desk - that wasnt going to work for me so I asked for another room. The second room had 2 double beds and was a lot larger - even had a sitting area in a separate room which was really nice. Overall though I personally prefer modern rooms and the Biltmore's don't have large flat screen tv's, but rather the old box ones. The bathroom was also old-fashioned and the water didnt drain well in the tub. Their is a $20 resort fee which covers internet. There is valet plus self park available.

The pool is amazing. I found the staff to be very friendly. The hotel is located kind of in the middle of nowhere (not much within walking distance) but the hotel does offer free car service to the shopping/restaurant area of coral gables which is nice.

I personally wouldn't stay here again - have stayed at the Mayfair in Coral Gables which offers you a personal hot tub on your own private deck - amazing. But if you like older, antique style hotels go for this --- just ask for a room with 2 double beds as the room is almost like a suite and quite nice. Turndown service was also really nice - they leave you a robe, slippers, set the mood in the room with music and lights. Like I said, not my style though in terms of room decor.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

One of the features we liked best about the Biltmore was its oasis-like calm in the middle of hard-charging Miami. Each morning my partner and I would set off to explore a different aspect of the city--South Beach, Little Havana, Coconut Grove, North Miami, Downtown. When we returned, often after hours spent on foot, or in traffic, or in the ocean, just the sight of the Biltmore's tower poking up through the palm trees made us feel happy. We were home. There is a languid, old-world grace about the place. In our Tower suite (a surprise upgrade) with its marble floors, spacious rooms and glorious views both night and day, we felt recharged. In the enormous pool, we felt refreshed. In our daily contact with the staff, we felt cared for and welcomed. No matter what the next day brought (whether it be the thrill of finding an authentic Cuban sandwich or the aggravation of being cut off by yet another Hummer) the Biltmore opened its arms and wrapped us in its terry-clothed cocoon whenever we returned.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne and I found everything else had that very same "class of champagne". Wonderful rooms, good breakfast buffet and an outstanding swiiming pool! An added bonus was to watch the armada of elderly women, who came for a swim and some fitness on some days- in their rather peculiar swim hats (some of them even wore a rain/swim jacket in the water) they were certainly very entertaining :-) They also had a very good spa.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We checked into the Biltmore and they upgraded us to a suite which is always nice. The room was a nice size and immaculate. I would say the best part of this hotel was the pool. It was a little cool in January but I couldn't resist taking a dip. We had a wonderful dinner at the Italian restaurant at the hotel.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

My husband and I booked a weekend at this hotel for ourselves and my parents as a treat for their birthdays. We had a wonderful time and my parents really felt as though they had had a treat. Our rooms were lovely with great views and wonderufl bathrooms. Everything seemed new as if they rooms and recently been refurbished. The hotel facilities are great and the food we had was very good although a little pricey. There are restaurants within driving distance however if you have a rental car which we found to be very good. The hotel is a bit out of the way, but we liked that and as we ahd a car, were able to do all the things we wanted such as visit Miami beach and teh Everglades which are an easy drive by car. The very best thing about the hotel is of course its fantastic ball and resort atmosphere. We never found the pool to be overcrowded adn enjoyed some wonderful early morning and late evening swims, fantastic after a days hot sightseeing!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie49125
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

My husband and 5 month old baby had our religious wedding at the Biltmore on february 22 and had some family and friends staying there for a couple of nights. We spent the night of the wedding in one of the "honey moon suites" which was complimentary.

We knew this hotel before we chose it for our wedding, we had spent some time at the pool and had the brunch many times, but never actually stayed at the place before.

My parents had a lovely bedroom overlooking the pool, it was a "junior suite" (a bit misleading because the room are small) which had was separated in two area : living room and bedroom. Bathroom was georgeous. The entire room was with nice tiles all over.

Our honey mooner suite was bigger and very well appointed with such a beautiful terrace ! Walk in closet, large living room and gorgeous bathroom as well.

Facing the Golf course you have way much more sun so it can became very very hot, but you most likely gonna get a little balcony which is nice, facing the pool you have a nice sun but for what I have seen no balcony.

We have nothing bad to say about the rooms as they were spectacular and clean. I guess people who were disapointed either had a room in the non renovated part of the hotel or they had no clue that such an historic building will not be built with standard of nowadays (i.e : bedroom that looks like a 1 bedroom, but with no style !) Anyway I am from Europe, so I knew. Spa is great :-)

Cons:
-Valet parking (but you do have the option to self park)
-Check your bills for "complimentary" (because we had "complimentary breakfast" written on the bill, but ended up having it back on the end of the bill items list)
-If you have your wedding there (does not matter which room, they are all beautiful; we were in the CC Ballroom) just know that Bruce the guy who is running the "Biltmore by design" is a joke of no help (you can email me for details of the story); only Vanessa V from the catering department and her staff did a great job of organizing and helping. Our wedding was a success mainly because of her.

Overall, nice staff, beautiful hotel, well maintained ground, largest pool in the area !
More expensive than other hotel but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.