We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel But Wouldn't Stay Again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
NJ, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel But Wouldn't Stay Again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

The hotel is as beautiful as the pictures show - breathtaking, especially the pool area. The first room I was in was a king size - the room was quite small and there was no desk. I was told it was a pull out desk - that wasnt going to work for me so I asked for another room. The second room had 2 double beds and was a lot larger - even had a sitting area in a separate room which was really nice. Overall though I personally prefer modern rooms and the Biltmore's don't have large flat screen tv's, but rather the old box ones. The bathroom was also old-fashioned and the water didnt drain well in the tub. Their is a $20 resort fee which covers internet. There is valet plus self park available.

The pool is amazing. I found the staff to be very friendly. The hotel is located kind of in the middle of nowhere (not much within walking distance) but the hotel does offer free car service to the shopping/restaurant area of coral gables which is nice.

I personally wouldn't stay here again - have stayed at the Mayfair in Coral Gables which offers you a personal hot tub on your own private deck - amazing. But if you like older, antique style hotels go for this --- just ask for a room with 2 double beds as the room is almost like a suite and quite nice. Turndown service was also really nice - they leave you a robe, slippers, set the mood in the room with music and lights. Like I said, not my style though in terms of room decor.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    207
    90
    50
    22
See reviews for
243
292
37
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

One of the features we liked best about the Biltmore was its oasis-like calm in the middle of hard-charging Miami. Each morning my partner and I would set off to explore a different aspect of the city--South Beach, Little Havana, Coconut Grove, North Miami, Downtown. When we returned, often after hours spent on foot, or in traffic, or in the ocean, just the sight of the Biltmore's tower poking up through the palm trees made us feel happy. We were home. There is a languid, old-world grace about the place. In our Tower suite (a surprise upgrade) with its marble floors, spacious rooms and glorious views both night and day, we felt recharged. In the enormous pool, we felt refreshed. In our daily contact with the staff, we felt cared for and welcomed. No matter what the next day brought (whether it be the thrill of finding an authentic Cuban sandwich or the aggravation of being cut off by yet another Hummer) the Biltmore opened its arms and wrapped us in its terry-clothed cocoon whenever we returned.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne and I found everything else had that very same "class of champagne". Wonderful rooms, good breakfast buffet and an outstanding swiiming pool! An added bonus was to watch the armada of elderly women, who came for a swim and some fitness on some days- in their rather peculiar swim hats (some of them even wore a rain/swim jacket in the water) they were certainly very entertaining :-) They also had a very good spa.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We checked into the Biltmore and they upgraded us to a suite which is always nice. The room was a nice size and immaculate. I would say the best part of this hotel was the pool. It was a little cool in January but I couldn't resist taking a dip. We had a wonderful dinner at the Italian restaurant at the hotel.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

My husband and I booked a weekend at this hotel for ourselves and my parents as a treat for their birthdays. We had a wonderful time and my parents really felt as though they had had a treat. Our rooms were lovely with great views and wonderufl bathrooms. Everything seemed new as if they rooms and recently been refurbished. The hotel facilities are great and the food we had was very good although a little pricey. There are restaurants within driving distance however if you have a rental car which we found to be very good. The hotel is a bit out of the way, but we liked that and as we ahd a car, were able to do all the things we wanted such as visit Miami beach and teh Everglades which are an easy drive by car. The very best thing about the hotel is of course its fantastic ball and resort atmosphere. We never found the pool to be overcrowded adn enjoyed some wonderful early morning and late evening swims, fantastic after a days hot sightseeing!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie49125
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

My husband and 5 month old baby had our religious wedding at the Biltmore on february 22 and had some family and friends staying there for a couple of nights. We spent the night of the wedding in one of the "honey moon suites" which was complimentary.

We knew this hotel before we chose it for our wedding, we had spent some time at the pool and had the brunch many times, but never actually stayed at the place before.

My parents had a lovely bedroom overlooking the pool, it was a "junior suite" (a bit misleading because the room are small) which had was separated in two area : living room and bedroom. Bathroom was georgeous. The entire room was with nice tiles all over.

Our honey mooner suite was bigger and very well appointed with such a beautiful terrace ! Walk in closet, large living room and gorgeous bathroom as well.

Facing the Golf course you have way much more sun so it can became very very hot, but you most likely gonna get a little balcony which is nice, facing the pool you have a nice sun but for what I have seen no balcony.

We have nothing bad to say about the rooms as they were spectacular and clean. I guess people who were disapointed either had a room in the non renovated part of the hotel or they had no clue that such an historic building will not be built with standard of nowadays (i.e : bedroom that looks like a 1 bedroom, but with no style !) Anyway I am from Europe, so I knew. Spa is great :-)

Cons:
-Valet parking (but you do have the option to self park)
-Check your bills for "complimentary" (because we had "complimentary breakfast" written on the bill, but ended up having it back on the end of the bill items list)
-If you have your wedding there (does not matter which room, they are all beautiful; we were in the CC Ballroom) just know that Bruce the guy who is running the "Biltmore by design" is a joke of no help (you can email me for details of the story); only Vanessa V from the catering department and her staff did a great job of organizing and helping. Our wedding was a success mainly because of her.

Overall, nice staff, beautiful hotel, well maintained ground, largest pool in the area !
More expensive than other hotel but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Probably the Finest looking hotel in Miami/Coral Gables.

Service is spot on, Pool is huge with plenty of beds, restaurants serve great food. Rooms are big with great views no matter what side of the hotel you are on. The Hotel has class there's no doubt about that, try breakfast in the garden it's special.

Didnt play golf but did go out to the everglades and it's well worth the visit, ask concierge for car hire, it takes about an hour to get there.

The Biltmore is in a very nice neighbourhood the house nr by are some of the nicest in Miami, the trees that line the streets are all well manicured as are the lawns.

All in all I would go back.......see what your missing

  • Liked — The views and the pool area, along with the breakfast area in the garden
  • Disliked — checking out, I didnt want to leave
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.