We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at the Biltmore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at the Biltmore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We checked into the Biltmore and they upgraded us to a suite which is always nice. The room was a nice size and immaculate. I would say the best part of this hotel was the pool. It was a little cool in January but I couldn't resist taking a dip. We had a wonderful dinner at the Italian restaurant at the hotel.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    201
    80
    48
    22
See reviews for
222
278
35
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

My husband and I booked a weekend at this hotel for ourselves and my parents as a treat for their birthdays. We had a wonderful time and my parents really felt as though they had had a treat. Our rooms were lovely with great views and wonderufl bathrooms. Everything seemed new as if they rooms and recently been refurbished. The hotel facilities are great and the food we had was very good although a little pricey. There are restaurants within driving distance however if you have a rental car which we found to be very good. The hotel is a bit out of the way, but we liked that and as we ahd a car, were able to do all the things we wanted such as visit Miami beach and teh Everglades which are an easy drive by car. The very best thing about the hotel is of course its fantastic ball and resort atmosphere. We never found the pool to be overcrowded adn enjoyed some wonderful early morning and late evening swims, fantastic after a days hot sightseeing!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie49125
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

My husband and 5 month old baby had our religious wedding at the Biltmore on february 22 and had some family and friends staying there for a couple of nights. We spent the night of the wedding in one of the "honey moon suites" which was complimentary.

We knew this hotel before we chose it for our wedding, we had spent some time at the pool and had the brunch many times, but never actually stayed at the place before.

My parents had a lovely bedroom overlooking the pool, it was a "junior suite" (a bit misleading because the room are small) which had was separated in two area : living room and bedroom. Bathroom was georgeous. The entire room was with nice tiles all over.

Our honey mooner suite was bigger and very well appointed with such a beautiful terrace ! Walk in closet, large living room and gorgeous bathroom as well.

Facing the Golf course you have way much more sun so it can became very very hot, but you most likely gonna get a little balcony which is nice, facing the pool you have a nice sun but for what I have seen no balcony.

We have nothing bad to say about the rooms as they were spectacular and clean. I guess people who were disapointed either had a room in the non renovated part of the hotel or they had no clue that such an historic building will not be built with standard of nowadays (i.e : bedroom that looks like a 1 bedroom, but with no style !) Anyway I am from Europe, so I knew. Spa is great :-)

Cons:
-Valet parking (but you do have the option to self park)
-Check your bills for "complimentary" (because we had "complimentary breakfast" written on the bill, but ended up having it back on the end of the bill items list)
-If you have your wedding there (does not matter which room, they are all beautiful; we were in the CC Ballroom) just know that Bruce the guy who is running the "Biltmore by design" is a joke of no help (you can email me for details of the story); only Vanessa V from the catering department and her staff did a great job of organizing and helping. Our wedding was a success mainly because of her.

Overall, nice staff, beautiful hotel, well maintained ground, largest pool in the area !
More expensive than other hotel but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Probably the Finest looking hotel in Miami/Coral Gables.

Service is spot on, Pool is huge with plenty of beds, restaurants serve great food. Rooms are big with great views no matter what side of the hotel you are on. The Hotel has class there's no doubt about that, try breakfast in the garden it's special.

Didnt play golf but did go out to the everglades and it's well worth the visit, ask concierge for car hire, it takes about an hour to get there.

The Biltmore is in a very nice neighbourhood the house nr by are some of the nicest in Miami, the trees that line the streets are all well manicured as are the lawns.

All in all I would go back.......see what your missing

  • Liked — The views and the pool area, along with the breakfast area in the garden
  • Disliked — checking out, I didnt want to leave
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

My partner and I booked a late getaway and weren't disappointed.

The room was fabulous - a great view, the bed was very luxurious and the bathroom was nicely themed, (I've added some pictures but I'm not great at taking them so doesn't do it justice really!). There was a turndown service every evening and they even filled the ice bucket for us when they reaslied we used it on the first night.

The pool was huge! You wouldn't even notice if it was busy. There's enough room for everyone. There were even towels placed on our loungers for when we got out.

The staff were very helpful and always polite. The free parking was a bonus in Miami!

The hotel is a piece of history and certainly gave you a sense of exactly what kind of people had been through the doors over the many years.

Although out of the way of the usual hustle and bustle of the city, (which is exactly what we wanted!), this was a great base for our holiday and our first trip to Miami. The letter thanking us for our stay when we got home, I thought, was a really lovely touch.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone, (unless of course you like being in the middle of the noisy city). I'd say it's great for couples and familys alike.

I'm just sorry it's taken me so long to write this review, but when I saw what rubbish other people were writing I thought it was time to say something!

Thank you to all at the Biltmore who made our stay very memorable. We certainly hope to return one day!!

  • Liked — It was clean, we had a luxurious room, the large pool, free parking and freindly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

The Biltmore is a gorgeous hotel with a beautiful swmming pool and grounds. However, the niceties of my experience ended there. MY room smelled of terrible mold. When I called to report it, the lady seemed to know excatly what I was talking about, describing in detail what I could smell which tells me they've had this problem before. Even after spraying the room, the smell was very unhealthy and they switched me to another room which was smelled of mold but was more tolerable. They had to crank the window open to help air the room to make it bearable. The hotel management offered nothing for the inconvenienco - no fruit plate, wine, etc. The rooms are big but outdated. TV set is not flat panel and the reception is poor for some channels. Toiletries are nice and the bed was comfortable. Free wifi in the room but you have to pay if you don't have your laptop (does that make sense??). Small expensive coffee shop with no place to sit and enjoy the coffee. Had dinner at the Fontana restaurant twice but the food was disappointing. The second time I was there the sea bass fillet was uncooked which I had to send back - unforgiven for this type of hotel!
In summary, you will spend a lot of money and not get half of it back! There are better hotels in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2009
South Florida’s warm, sub-tropical climate is considered the primary attraction for many of the area’s visitors. As typical in lush sub-tropical regions, South Florida is subject periodically to high humid conditions to which some visitors are more sensitive than others. Biltmore management has been able to address these concerns as they relate to the property in a timely and effective manner. The Biltmore welcomes all feedback from our guests so as to ensure the quality of our product and services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

We booked through LHW and was upgraded to a suite from junior suite.

Suite: good
The suite was on high floor, very spacious and the view was great. The bed was very comfortable, but the bathroom was not as updated as other 5 star hotels, i.e. no jacuzzi bath tub, just regular tub with shower (not separate) and 1 sink.

Resort: great
I really liked the old historic feel of the building. Although the elevator was a bit scary, (felt unsafe) the lobby and the pool were very beautiful. The tennis court, golf course were nice.

Service: poor
I have to agree with some other reviews on this. The service was not good. There were only 1 pair of slippers/cup in the suite for the reservation for two, and they also denied our complimentary breakfast. It was included in our rate, but LHW had to call the Biltmore to resolve this. Biltmore later apologized for their mistake. The pool service was also slow and rather random.

Food: poor
I can only comment on their breakfast, but I have to agree with other reviews on this as well... The breakfast was not good, not tasty. It was not that there were problems, but was not up to the 5 star resort standard at all in our opinion.

All in all, we were satisfied with our stay because of the upgrade to the spacious suite from the junior suite. However, I would strongly hope that they can improve on their service and the food. It is really, too bad because they already have a great facility, and I would love to come back if they take their problems seriously.

  • Liked — facility (except the elevator....)
  • Disliked — mistake with reservation, poor breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2008
Biltmore Management welcomes constructive feedback from all our valued guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. Our staff is trained to respond to guests’ concerns in a timely and positive manner and resolve issues with the utmost of professionalism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LHW, Travelocity, Splendia, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.