We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and noisy. Unpleasant final night.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced and noisy. Unpleasant final night.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were disappointed to learn that on our final night, a wedding taking place in the ballroom meant that the walls and windows in our third floor room were shaking for 4 hours straight. There should have been a warning about this prior to check in. The party area is in the middle of the lobby and there is zero soundproofing in the building. Apparently this has been a recurring issue on this property.

Room Tip: Ask if there are events in the ballroom before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    225
    95
    51
    25
See reviews for
255
317
40
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a beautiful historic hotel (1925) that has gorgeous architectural details. There is a grand lobby, beautiful staircases that lead to a public golf course (Donald Ross design). There are old photographs that line hallways and it is really beautiful. On the downside, the service is not great, there is no quick place for breakfast or coffee. Floors in rooms are tiled so you can hear guests walking while you TRY to sleep. Friday and Saturday nights are popular for fabulous weddings, however, the music shakes the room. Hotel cannot do anything until midnight. If you have early morning event as we do then you only get a few hours sleep. Had to leave hotel so could get sleep as we were there on business. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our first time staying at The Biltmore and we loved it!!! It is so beautiful, inside and out..love the history of the facilities. It is an awesome place to just relax and enjoy the hotel. My husband appreciated it very much that he could sit outside in the atrium and smoke cigars. We had a lovely and delicious poolside breakfast and mimosas. Coral gables is awesome to take walks and there are a lot of things in close proximity! We truly enjoyed this gem and will absolutely return!!!!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
na
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We wanted a few days of warm weather over the Christmas break and my husband found this property thought the Amex fine hotels and resorts. We reserved a terrace suite. We arrived at 8 in the morning and they graciously allowed us to check in at that early hour. They sent up a roll away bed ( as we had two girls with us) The suite was very nice with tile floors and big windows. The living area is relatively small. Once the rollaway was there it was cramped. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and separate shower. There's a set of little shutters over the tub if you want to look out at the room while you bathe. The bedroom is nice with a king bed and good linens. The highlight of the room was the terrace. It's very large. It's tiled with a concrete balcony. It has two lounge chairs, a small table and two regular chairs. There are nice views of downtown.
We had breakfast at the hotel several mornings and enjoyed it. The staff is friendly and the omelettes are excellent, as is the fresh orange juice.
For the kids ( two girls 13 and 14 years old) the pool was the star attraction. It's a massive pool with a waterfall feature. There is poolside service for drinks and food and there are polite employees who provide you with towels and water. We spent a fair amount of time lounging around and enjoying pretty drinks.
The hotel is located very close to Key Biscayne and not too far from Miami proper. We ventured out to the art district one day and to Miami Beach another but for the most part stayed at the hotel. Everyone we encountered was friendly and while certainly not inexpensive, it was a fair rate for such a nice property.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotels like this are not built anymore, it's so big you barely see the horizon. The pool must be the largest I have ever seen in a city location hotel, of course Johnny Weissmuller swam in it in the old days. The hotel is elegant, sophisticated and spacious, as are the rooms. We enjoyed a superb dinner in the courtyard and drinks by the pool, reasonably priced.
Although plenty of wedding and other parties are going on one never feels the hotel is taken over and, very good indeed, after 10pm any noise from the ball room stops so you get your rest. An oasis and really the only sophisticated place in Miami without the tat.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Another great massage at the spa. Have been going off and on to the spa at Biltmore for nearly 15 years. Way back when it was on the first floor. First thing first, the masseuse' that work there seem to be the best of the best. They listen to your needs and slooowly tend to them. The amenities are top notch, staff attentive and friendly. The prices are as expected at a place so historical as the Biltmore. Oh ya, the hotel bars are pretty cool to hang before or after the massage. The hotel itself is not to shabby. Beautiful!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for taking the time to review the Biltmore Hotel. I am so happy to hear that you have been coming back to the Spa for the past 15 years! Hope to have you back very soon.

Yours truly,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is good and Alana in the gift shop is very helpful. The lunch buffet is great! Rooms are nice and quiet. Water pressure is pretty good. Rates are reasonable for downtown. All around nice hotel. I like the hotel because you can walk outdoors in the park areas and it's easy access to the front door. Quick valet most of the time.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Tim,

Thank you for the review. I appreciate all of your comments and am very happy that you enjoyed your time while staying with us. Hope to have you back very soon!

Best regards,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.