We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the brunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't miss the brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is timeless. I had been there with the family in June, 1997 and my experience was just as wonderful in August, 2014. The pool is still large and in a beautiful setting. The restaurant was top notch in innovative menu choices, food taste, presentation and service. The Sunday brunch is pricey, but a superlative, memorable experience. Great range of dishes, live music, excellent service with the endless Mimosas and Bloody Marys. Great location in lovely Coral Gables--close enough to the lively craziness of South Beach, but a respite in the quiet residential area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    207
    90
    50
    22
See reviews for
243
293
37
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I hadn't been to the hotel in many years and it's still wonderful. I had two great treatments in their gorgeous spa. The service at the spa should be emulated by more spas everywhere. Lots of staff eager to help and top notch aestheticians. I had dinner at the Italian restaurant and received great service yet again. My only complaint about my room is that the shades let the sun in much too early!! They need blackout shades or bring a mask. Walking around the neighborhood is relaxing and there's a nice fair trade boutique near the church across the street. The pool is just wow. Loved it! Last time I stayed at the Westin in Coral Gables and that's just plain stupid.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you can afford it, this is a great hotel experience. Nestled into the green quietness of Coral Gables, the Biltmore is away from the garish, touristy hype that is most of Miami. I found even a basic room is very nice (lovely bathroom and shower!) and larger suites and golf-course views only sweeten the experience. Florida residents can get a 20% discount on rooms, so be sure and ask.

However, be ready to pay top dollar for everything, and keep some cash in your pocket for tipping—the valets, the porters, the pool attendants, everybody. The restaurants have great food, but watch out for those cocktails, or you'll get a shock when your bill comes.

The pool, oh, the pool. It's huge, and it's beautiful, and if you happen to be swimming next to some splashy kids, it's so big, you can easily make your way to a quieter location and keep bobbing and relaxing. The poolside bar will even serve you your drinks in the pool, if you wish to sip wine and chat without getting out and drying off.

Over all, the Biltmore is a lovely experience. I found the prices all over the property to be a bit much, but you're also paying for the lovely atmosphere, and in that respect, you get everything you pay for.

Oh.... one hint: Ask any of the staff about the ghosts!

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I enjoyed a beautiful quiet birthday weekend. I don't usually stay so far from all of the action but found it was welcome change. The pool was fantastic but unfortunately I only got to use it 1 out of the 3 days I was there because of the weather. The only negetive I found was that we arrived a little earlier than expected and when we checked in we were told to wait in the lobby for our room. We waited for 3 hours and only after asking for the fourth time at 4 o clock were we shown to a room. Check in was supposed to be at 3. Other than that the rooms were clean quiet and comfortable. The grounds are stunning and the spa was wonderful. Other than our check in fiasco we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We decided to get away for an overnight stay at The Biltmore in Coral Gables this past Memorial Day weekend in May. Our excitement built as we arrived at this historic landmark and were greeted by some very friendly desk personal at check-in. Staying at this prestigious hotel was dashed as we discovered a room full of discarded termite wings on the window sill and floor. I have a hard time understanding why housekeeping did not notice them but it truly was easy to spot. Immediately we went back to the front desk to complain and again they kindly gave us a new room and mentioned that the hotel would credit us $50 towards breakfast for our inconvenience. Nice touch but the credit was never added to our final bill. I contacted the hotel via email to bring this to their attention and to this day have not received any credit.
First to have termites and not address the issue is a huge problem and second, if you make a promise to a guest, then keep it. Thanks for bursting my bubble on staying at this beautiful landmark.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I always appreciate feedback. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying at the Biltmore Hotel during Memorial Day weekend. After investigating your incident, I confirmed that you were credited the $50.00. We will be emailing you the copy of your folio today and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further questions.

Once again, I am truly sorry for the unfavorable experience you had, but do hope that when you return to Coral Gables you are able to stay with us again.

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I enjoyed my time at the pool. This is destination resort. When we were there, the resort was preparing for an NFL wedding. It was fun spotting NFL football players for 3 days. The lobby is very unique. It's fun hearing the harpest playing during the tea time. It's a little tricky if you want to walk somewhere, not many sidewalks. It's best to take a taxi to your destination.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the feedback. I hope that you are able to stay with us again and have another memorable experience.

Yours truly,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently were invited to the hotel by family members who were guests there. On two occasions, we ordered cocktails from the bar and were extremely disappointed. I ordered a "Dark n' Stormy". This is a simple cocktail. Fill a glass with ice. Fill with ginger beer. Pour in Gosling dark rum. Obviously, the bartender never heard of this cocktail, did not have the proper ingredients, and made a failed attempt to improvise. I received the drink with a glass full of seltzer water, some grated ginger, and probably a light colored rum. It was awful. On a second occasion, we ordered a "pisco sour". Again, the bartender had no idea. This also is a simple drink consisting of pisco, lemon juice, and sugar. The drink was served with a slice of orange on the glass. What?????

The restaurant service was even worse. One evening at the Cascade restaurant, we ordered simple sandwiches. After many complaints, we were served 1-1/2 hours later!!!! Upon our insistence, the manager did give a credit for the food. However, I doubt the kitchen management problems have been resolved.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Biltmore Hotel. I sincerely apologize for the unfavorable experience you had while dining at the Cascade restaurant. Please rest assured that I have dealt with the department involved to prevent future occurrences. I do hope that you are able to come back and visit the Biltmore Hotel so you are able to experience our true colors.

Sincerely yours,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.