We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Grand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly Grand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My wife and I were heading to South Beach from Key West, and decided the overnight in southern Florida, at the Biltmore. This is a well known gracious, elegant, and historic hotel. The staff, are impeccably trained, and extremely helpful. Our room, a Standard King, was quiet, the bedding luscious. There are 5 restaurants on the hotel grounds . The fitness facility is excellent, equipment new and extremely well maintained. Trainers are available and standards maintained by the Fitness Manager. The pool - absolutely stunning! It is one of the most memorable ones we have seen. The pool area cushions and the golf clubhouse could benefit from a bit of a facelift, but this is hardly worth mentioning. We cannot wait to come back for a longer visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Stan,

Thank you very much for the review, I truly appreciate your positive feedback! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Biltmore Hotel and hope that when you return to South Florida you can stay once again.

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    286
    124
    60
    33
See reviews for
314
393
47
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gelderland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We walked in the Biltmore Hotel to have lunch which we had at the poolside. Amazing place we had Trio Burger (nice set of 3 small burgers) Lam Gyros (a tad too dry according to those present) and chicken sandwich. Excellent service, price quality ratio was fine. The place is impressive and we envied those who could jump into the water.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review! I am pleased that you enjoyed lunch at our Cascade restaurant by our luxurious pool. I hope that you can return as a hotel guest so that you can have the total pool experience!

Sincerely yours,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The pool is amazing , garden sensational !
Breakfast good , traditional hotel , friendly staff !
We enjoyed a lot our stay !
Highly recommend !
Offers just about everything , complete gym , yoga and specially golf !
The room is very confortable and has a nice view!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to write a review! I hope the next time that you are in Coral Gables you can have another great experience at the beautiful Biltmore Hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Lovely venerable old grand dame that could use a little facelift and some freshening... Annoying to be charged a daily 22$ resort fee while in business when you can't use any of the amenities...a full American room service breakfast is over 45$

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I always appreciate feedback. I apologize about the resort t fee but it covers the cost of gratuity for our bellman, doorman, and housekeeper, the use of our facilities (fitness center and swimming pool), self parking, local and 1-800 calls, and newspaper. I do hope that you will be able to come back and enjoy a memorable experience at the beautiful and historic Biltmore Hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Recently spent three nights here and enjoyed it very much. You can tell the building is not from this era, but it is very well cared for. The place is gorgeous and has an old world, romantic feel to it. My husband and I spent an entire day at the pool and loved every minute of it. We never had dinner on the property, but lunch by the pool was good and breakfast in the courtyard was excellent. I loved the garden feel of the courtyard with the fountain - very peaceful. My only complaint is that there was not a coffee pot in the room. I have stayed in all kinds of places all over the world and this is the first time I've ever not had in-room coffee service. But that's pretty minor in the grand scheme of things. The staff were fantastic and the service we received was impeccable. I had a great experience here and hope to return again someday.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review, I always appreciate feedback. I am very pleased that you had a memorable experience and hope that you can return soon to enjoy another one.

Best wishes,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel was built in 1926 by a labor force of 3,000 men in a little less than 10 months for just $10 million. Its footprint is enormous at 150 acres. It offers 10 tennis courts, an 18-hole golf course, one of the largest hotel swimming pools in the world and much more. It is beyond beautiful to see and walk through the grand lobby and the myriad number of rooms and corridors. I do not know of any hotel other than the Biltmore that has a 13th floor. What was so absorbing about my visit in July 2014, was that my wife and I got to go to the 13th floor two-story penthouse that Al Capone used during Prohibition. It has a fireplace, two big bedrooms, two big baths, kitchen, a huge desk and a baby grand piano in it. The artistry in terms of paintings, sculptures, and tiles is simply beyond description. One can spend a night there for $3500. However, even at that price, the booze in the pantry in the kitchen is not included. Our standard room was spacious and well appointed and considerably less, and I had no problem buying a couple of drinks in the hotel on my dime. If you do have the opportunity to stay in or visit the Biltmore, make a point to see Capone’s retreat. Turns out Big Al never slept there but would bring his criminal cronies there when they were too bad to be brought to his expansive homes on Star Island in Miami Beach. The penthouse has balconies facing both the north and south end, and the views are incredible. The bellman who took my wife and me to this suite pointed out that beyond the elevator that reaches this penthouse, there is also a secret stairwell that returns one to the ground level. He pointed out that anytime a high ranking politico stays there, the Secret Service guys appreciate the back stairwell should anything unexpected occur.

I would strongly suggest any time you come to eat, sleep, or play at the Biltmore or in Coral Gables, you make an effort to see this huge edifice and possibly enjoy a visit to this historic penthouse.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the beautiful and historic Biltmore Hotel. I am pleased to know that you are passionate about this hotel and know a lot of about its rich history! I hope that you can stay with us again in the near future.

Yours truly,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed at the Biltmore in August for a Miami family visit, taking advantage of a stay three-get one free night deal. The historic hotel, with its grand lobby, gorgeous green spaces, and the fabulous pool, continues to be one of the nicest hotels in South Florida. The 7th floor junior suite was spacious and well appointed; loved the tile floors but the bathroom was kind of small. The hotel spa was down the hall from the room but did not have a chance to try. Location is excellent -- plenty of things to do in Coral Gables and Miami. A car is necessary and there is both fee self-park and fee valet parking. The resort fee covers the self-park. I would suggest to hotel management that they add an in-room coffee maker for folks like me who like their coffee first thing in the morning. I would also encourage management to update the pool chair lounges, they are looking a bit dated.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and the feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our room specials! I hope when you return to South Florida you will stay once again at the Biltmore Hotel.

Yours truly,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.