We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Real Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Biltmore in mid-July 2014 and we absolutely loved it. Based on some reviews I'd read here on Tripadvisor before our visit, I was apprehensive about the hotel, thinking it might be another one of those very expensive places that nickel-and-dime you for every service and amenity. In fact, there are additional fees for some services and I was disappointed that there were no coffee makers in the rooms or a free coffee bar in the lobby, but the good far outweighs the bad. The hotel has a charm that can only come with age and it proudly advertises its history with antique photographs from its past on the hallway walls and hand-rubbed woodwork, most noticeable in the elevators, which I imagine look much like they did during the hotel's heyday in the mid-1930's. Inside and out, the hotel is absolutely beautiful and it appears to be treated as a treasure by the people who work there. And speaking of its staff, they were the best we've encountered in a very long time. Polite, helpful, and professional, they seemed to enjoy their work and did their best to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Our room was beautiful, quiet, and extremely clean with a very comfortable bed, and our bathroom was the subject of conversation at dinner for its beautiful tile walls and floor. The swimming pool is fantastic - and just the right temperature, of course. We weren't there over a weekend, so I can imagine the deck might become crowded with weekend sunbathers, but we had no problems during our stay. I hate to gush because after all, we didn't have free coffee in our room, but our experience at the Biltmore was wonderful. It's a grand old hotel and we'd love to visit again. Oh, I almost forgot the gym - it's a REAL gym - awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the Biltmore Hotel very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    212
    91
    51
    23
See reviews for
247
302
38
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I was greatly looking forward to our stay but left tired and disappointed. The hotel is well kept but has no sound proofing in the rooms. After listening to what sounded like a party for an hour upstairs I called the front desk at 1 and they said they would check into it. It stopped but then the stomping started again. Worst night of sleep I have had in years. In the morning when I mentioned it at check out there was no response other than a "Sorry to hear that. Have a nice day". The food was good in the restaurants but the service was so rushed it felt like they wanted to leave early. Again, left very disappointed with the entire stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apology for the unfavorable experience you had while staying at the Biltmore Hotel. I am truly sorry for the noise disturbance you encountered, we have dealt with the particular personnel involved and are confident that the noise and customer service issues have been effectively resolved to prevent future occurrences.

Yours truly,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debary, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is on the National Register, so it's old. But not stodgy. All the modern amenities, plus the type of service one would expect from such a grand place.The staff are superb, attending to every need without being overbearing. The pool is a must! The largest I've ever seen, and well maintained and staffed.The rooms are quite nice, well appointed, and obviously well serviced.

Room Tip: All the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for the review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time while staying at the Biltmore Hotel. The Biltmore prides itself on excellent customer service and I am so glad that you had a memorable experience. I hope you can come back and stay with us again soon!

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast, MS
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The rooms are adequate and housekeeping made appearance twice a day. We had booked a junior suite and had plenty of space. The hotel is very elegant and the pool was outstanding. It was relaxing the first 3 nights. Lots of space in the pool no loud noises in the room. Then the 4th came and it became an overcrowded mayhem. Pool area was packed and children running through the halls. Pool chairs everywhere. But then again it was the 4th of July. We frequented the restaurants on the premises daily. No complaints. They were both outstanding. Only thing was they didn't seem to be knowledgable about the breakfast package we booked @ the 19th hole and sent us to front desk after dining to ensure they did it right. Not a big deal. We also attended the 4th of July BBQ dinner and firework extravaganza. It was very nice. Would definitely return again. Just not around the holiday.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the Biltmore Hotel, however I apologize for the inconveniences you had endured due to the high level of occupancy we had on the Fourth of July.

I hope you can come stay at the Biltmore sometime soon!

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the Biltmore over the July 4th weekend. We had a wonderful time from the moment we checked in until the time we left. All of the staff were excellent. We ate at the 19th Hole and the Fontana restaurant and experienced wonderful and friendly staff members. The food at the Fontana restaurant was out of this world! Wow!

The only negative (I have seen this in other posts) was the lack of TVs to watch the World Cup Soccer. It seems silly to have one TV by the pool, which has very poor reception. I think more TVs need to be added. We had to go to our room to watch the games.

Overall, an excellent experience. We will definitely be back. Thank you to you and all of your staff for your hard work and dedication.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your experience at Fontana! I apologize for the one TV by our pool, however at the 19th Hole, our sports bar by the golf course, we have 9 HD TV's for your ultimate gaming experience.

Hope to see you back soon at the beautiful Biltmore Hotel!

Yours truly,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A veritable oasis in the heart of Miami, this 1926 national landmark’s 275 rooms (of which 130 are suites) offer old worlde glamour and elegance within a beautiful, historic building, surrounded by tropical gardens including an 18-hole golf course and the largest hotel swimming pool in the continental USA.
If the weather is sunny be sure to have lunch in the gorgeous courtyard of the hotel’s Fontana Ristorante. Delicious cuisine
www.thebiltmorehotel.com

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the beautiful and historic Biltmore Hotel. I do hope that when you return to Coral Gables you are able to stay with us again.

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

July 4th music and fireworks is a joint venture between the city of coral gables and the venerable Biltmore hotel, coral gables chamber of commerce and numerous sub sponsors---making it a truly community wide event.
The music and fireworks open to the public, and take place on the hotel's spacious golf course with the towering hotel serving as backdrop. We were in attendance as (paying) guests of one of the major sponsors. It was our second Biltmore 4th.
It's a very well done event. VIP dinner/fireworks tickets run $250pp. dinner is served indoors in the two ball rooms on the balcony concourse, after which VIP’S walk out onto the sizable balcony to enjoy the music and fireworks up close.

The food has improved considerably since the inception of this event two years ago (the Biltmore fireworks show was only recently reinstated after a lengthy hiatus). VIP diners enjoy a sizable buffet including a very fresh and tasty salad station with particularly remarkable potato salad. Typical July 4th main dishes are cooked over grills directly behind the buffet line on the outdoor balcony. Featured: new York strips, BBQ chicken, 1/3 pound all beef hamburgers, fresh sesame seed buns, and excellent hot dogs. Baked beans, corn on the cob are terrific side dishes. Condiments for all the above are readily accessible. Steaks can be cooked to order by simply asking the grill men for your desire.

VIP diners then retreat in doors (which in the tropical humidity is a treat) and dine.....with the all you can eat feature a major plus. MOET CHANDON supplied the champagne for every table and the bars featured all liquor, beer and wines with ice tea and lemonade dispensers for self service. Service is typically Biltmoresque....attentive, friendly, and responsive. A dessert table inside for those so inclined featured a slightly pasty blueberry cobbler, apple pie and tasty all American sugar cookies (the dessert offerings could have been boosted a bit.
The overall decor was pleasantly Americana.....not overdone....but tasteful. Table cloths of white and hints of red white and blue made for a colorful setting.

The fireworks display at the Biltmore is plentiful. It’s every bit of a half hour and no skimping on the product----large multi colored chrysanthemums produce the requisite oohs and hash. A sound track when audible over the speakers is a bit tired and lacking in the intensity big fireworks displays require. Some 30,000 watched and cheered as the rockets peaked overtop the palm trees on the golf course.

There were only two serious deficiencies at this event from a VIP ($250) perspective and both bear mentioning in hopes they will be addressed in future years:
First, VIP’s get a dashboard decal to park directly across the street from the hotel's magnificent entry. Until you arrive there you don't realize that this is a valet operation......upon departing later you discover it costs $6 per car. The intro in daylight is reasonably well organized with the dozen or so valets taking the cars and making the best possible use of the parking area. However, after the show, when 30k VIPs and general public descend away from the hotel......the VIP service was totally overwhelmed. People waited in line to pay a $6 fee that they were unaware of ($250/pp VIP should certainly include that) to wait in line for the runners to scatter all over the parking field to eventually bring your car. This needs to be seriously reviewed. Though the VIP valet slows down the egress of the vehicles into the people filled streets (as the Coral Gables police clump together and make no effort to direct traffic). But, in doing so there becomes a traffic boondoggle within a traffic jam (all of Coral Gables after the fireworks). An hour later some VIP’s were seen departing.
Secondly is easily remedied: following the VIP dinner indoors the guests congregate outdoors to hear the orchestra and see the display. But there's no place to sit. VIP guests had to go indoors and carry their own chairs out to the balcony--- to sit for upwards of 45 minutes to relax and enjoy the show. Meanwhile the previously attentive servers in the dining areas began to clear the tables, when they, and other hotel staff could easily have fetched the chairs and made a makeshift viewing area facing the fireworks----another oversight for $250.


This review doesn't attempt to cover the actual Biltmore hotel accommodations (individuals can get a July 4th room package whereby they can enjoy the VIP experience), the hotel's 4 star restaurants and spa/golf etc. Amenities, however, rest assured from personal experience it is a high level and one of the finest resorts in south flap

Make your reservations early for 2015.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your experience on our Fourth of July event. I truly appreciate your feedback and will use it to continue to improve this special holiday event. Please note that the Fourth of July event was $120 for our Club at the Biltmore Members and $150 for all other guests. I apologize for the inconveniences you had with valet and the seating arrangements for the firework shows, again their is always room for improvement and we will definitely keep your points in mind!

I hope you can come again before the Fourth of July and enjoy the beautiful and historic Biltmore Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.