We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Gulf Coast, MS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The rooms are adequate and housekeeping made appearance twice a day. We had booked a junior suite and had plenty of space. The hotel is very elegant and the pool was outstanding. It was relaxing the first 3 nights. Lots of space in the pool no loud noises in the room. Then the 4th came and it became an overcrowded mayhem. Pool area was packed and children running through the halls. Pool chairs everywhere. But then again it was the 4th of July. We frequented the restaurants on the premises daily. No complaints. They were both outstanding. Only thing was they didn't seem to be knowledgable about the breakfast package we booked @ the 19th hole and sent us to front desk after dining to ensure they did it right. Not a big deal. We also attended the 4th of July BBQ dinner and firework extravaganza. It was very nice. Would definitely return again. Just not around the holiday.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the Biltmore Hotel, however I apologize for the inconveniences you had endured due to the high level of occupancy we had on the Fourth of July.

I hope you can come stay at the Biltmore sometime soon!

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    244
    102
    52
    26
See reviews for
268
338
42
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the Biltmore over the July 4th weekend. We had a wonderful time from the moment we checked in until the time we left. All of the staff were excellent. We ate at the 19th Hole and the Fontana restaurant and experienced wonderful and friendly staff members. The food at the Fontana restaurant was out of this world! Wow!

The only negative (I have seen this in other posts) was the lack of TVs to watch the World Cup Soccer. It seems silly to have one TV by the pool, which has very poor reception. I think more TVs need to be added. We had to go to our room to watch the games.

Overall, an excellent experience. We will definitely be back. Thank you to you and all of your staff for your hard work and dedication.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your experience at Fontana! I apologize for the one TV by our pool, however at the 19th Hole, our sports bar by the golf course, we have 9 HD TV's for your ultimate gaming experience.

Hope to see you back soon at the beautiful Biltmore Hotel!

Yours truly,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A veritable oasis in the heart of Miami, this 1926 national landmark’s 275 rooms (of which 130 are suites) offer old worlde glamour and elegance within a beautiful, historic building, surrounded by tropical gardens including an 18-hole golf course and the largest hotel swimming pool in the continental USA.
If the weather is sunny be sure to have lunch in the gorgeous courtyard of the hotel’s Fontana Ristorante. Delicious cuisine
www.thebiltmorehotel.com

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the beautiful and historic Biltmore Hotel. I do hope that when you return to Coral Gables you are able to stay with us again.

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

July 4th music and fireworks is a joint venture between the city of coral gables and the venerable Biltmore hotel, coral gables chamber of commerce and numerous sub sponsors---making it a truly community wide event.
The music and fireworks open to the public, and take place on the hotel's spacious golf course with the towering hotel serving as backdrop. We were in attendance as (paying) guests of one of the major sponsors. It was our second Biltmore 4th.
It's a very well done event. VIP dinner/fireworks tickets run $250pp. dinner is served indoors in the two ball rooms on the balcony concourse, after which VIP’S walk out onto the sizable balcony to enjoy the music and fireworks up close.

The food has improved considerably since the inception of this event two years ago (the Biltmore fireworks show was only recently reinstated after a lengthy hiatus). VIP diners enjoy a sizable buffet including a very fresh and tasty salad station with particularly remarkable potato salad. Typical July 4th main dishes are cooked over grills directly behind the buffet line on the outdoor balcony. Featured: new York strips, BBQ chicken, 1/3 pound all beef hamburgers, fresh sesame seed buns, and excellent hot dogs. Baked beans, corn on the cob are terrific side dishes. Condiments for all the above are readily accessible. Steaks can be cooked to order by simply asking the grill men for your desire.

VIP diners then retreat in doors (which in the tropical humidity is a treat) and dine.....with the all you can eat feature a major plus. MOET CHANDON supplied the champagne for every table and the bars featured all liquor, beer and wines with ice tea and lemonade dispensers for self service. Service is typically Biltmoresque....attentive, friendly, and responsive. A dessert table inside for those so inclined featured a slightly pasty blueberry cobbler, apple pie and tasty all American sugar cookies (the dessert offerings could have been boosted a bit.
The overall decor was pleasantly Americana.....not overdone....but tasteful. Table cloths of white and hints of red white and blue made for a colorful setting.

The fireworks display at the Biltmore is plentiful. It’s every bit of a half hour and no skimping on the product----large multi colored chrysanthemums produce the requisite oohs and hash. A sound track when audible over the speakers is a bit tired and lacking in the intensity big fireworks displays require. Some 30,000 watched and cheered as the rockets peaked overtop the palm trees on the golf course.

There were only two serious deficiencies at this event from a VIP ($250) perspective and both bear mentioning in hopes they will be addressed in future years:
First, VIP’s get a dashboard decal to park directly across the street from the hotel's magnificent entry. Until you arrive there you don't realize that this is a valet operation......upon departing later you discover it costs $6 per car. The intro in daylight is reasonably well organized with the dozen or so valets taking the cars and making the best possible use of the parking area. However, after the show, when 30k VIPs and general public descend away from the hotel......the VIP service was totally overwhelmed. People waited in line to pay a $6 fee that they were unaware of ($250/pp VIP should certainly include that) to wait in line for the runners to scatter all over the parking field to eventually bring your car. This needs to be seriously reviewed. Though the VIP valet slows down the egress of the vehicles into the people filled streets (as the Coral Gables police clump together and make no effort to direct traffic). But, in doing so there becomes a traffic boondoggle within a traffic jam (all of Coral Gables after the fireworks). An hour later some VIP’s were seen departing.
Secondly is easily remedied: following the VIP dinner indoors the guests congregate outdoors to hear the orchestra and see the display. But there's no place to sit. VIP guests had to go indoors and carry their own chairs out to the balcony--- to sit for upwards of 45 minutes to relax and enjoy the show. Meanwhile the previously attentive servers in the dining areas began to clear the tables, when they, and other hotel staff could easily have fetched the chairs and made a makeshift viewing area facing the fireworks----another oversight for $250.


This review doesn't attempt to cover the actual Biltmore hotel accommodations (individuals can get a July 4th room package whereby they can enjoy the VIP experience), the hotel's 4 star restaurants and spa/golf etc. Amenities, however, rest assured from personal experience it is a high level and one of the finest resorts in south flap

Make your reservations early for 2015.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your experience on our Fourth of July event. I truly appreciate your feedback and will use it to continue to improve this special holiday event. Please note that the Fourth of July event was $120 for our Club at the Biltmore Members and $150 for all other guests. I apologize for the inconveniences you had with valet and the seating arrangements for the firework shows, again their is always room for improvement and we will definitely keep your points in mind!

I hope you can come again before the Fourth of July and enjoy the beautiful and historic Biltmore Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was staying for 2 nights last year with me wife over there.

Nice clean with very cool swimming pool and golf club. Not that for from Brickell so you have also nice options to go out at night.

Clean with nice staff members.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review. I am very glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and had a great experience. Hope you can stay at the Biltmore Hotel again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I went last night for dinner,my server was very friendly and embarrassed for the delay at the kitchen for our food,hotel needs to be little more clean,then we stopped at the gift shop and we were not welcome looks like.....the person working there on the phone and our presence looks like bodder her so we left,wont come back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Samantha,

I am so sorry about the experience you had last night while at the Biltmore Hotel. I apologize for the lack of service and I assure you I will be dealing with the issues you mentioned immediately. I hope that you will be able to forgive us and return to the Biltmore Hotel so you can see our true colors.

Yours truly,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed for our third time at the Biltmore this past June. What a delight. It is becoming harder for us to decide to stay anywhere else! The service is excellent, the pool--a perfect escape--and the history and architecture combines to create both a romantic and moving experience. Highly recommend for a romantic getaway!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you very much for the review. I am so grateful that you and your husband enjoyed your time and had a romantic getaway! I hope that when you come back to the Biltmore Hotel you can stay with us once again.

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.