We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Bag - Good and Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag - Good and Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

The Biltmore is a majestic property that truly inspires the senses. For its age we were pleased to see how well maintained it was. We had dinner at Palme D'or, went to the bar and ate breakfast so we got a feel for the place. Sadly, many things are askew.

The Bad:
1. The valet howled at us as we stopped off the main entrance. He was some distance away and at 3pm no other people were there to receive us so I merely parked out of the way and proceeded inside. The valet shouted to wait, arrived panting and gasping, demanded my keys and rudely threatened to impose the valet fee of $25 if we did move the car in 10 minutes. That is an absurd way to receive guests.
2. The Bar - The bartender would rather make calls and chat with his cohorts in the back room. His lack of attention detracts from a truly great hotel bar that looks as a bar should. We struggled to get drinks and of course he added a 18% gratuity that was entirely unearned.
3. Palme D'or - We advised them we are having drinks but they only gave us 10 minutes to take our table. The place was 20% full. Why be difficult?? The food was average and not worth its Zagat rating. The "special" white truffles from Alba were flavorless and not worth the surcharge. Service was sluggish but the staff were polite.
4. Breakfast Buffet- The buffet is uninspired and small. My omelet was overcooked, the pastries were stale and dull, the bread dry and the service very slow. The omelet chef delayed my order to serve someone in line after me. Oh well, I do not speak Spanish and should know my place.
5. Nickel and Dime Policies - Adding an 18% tip to everything is absurd.The staff feel entitled and thus do not offer consistent service. They also have a $20 resort fee for internet service, local calls, self parking, and bellman services. The informational guide says this fee covers the bellman's tips but they stand around expecting money anyways.
6. The turndown service maid simply chucked a bucket of ice on our things on the desk knocking over my change and vitamins leaving a mess. Thoughtless!
7. The Front Desk - Check in took forever. The clerk must have been new. When her colleague came to help he suggest they upgraded us to a junior suite. I BOOKED a junior suite. The breakfast credit of $40 falls about $16 short on the buffet when you add taxes and service fees. That is wrongheaded.
8. "A junior suite" - is a regular 350 sq foot hotel room with a small sofa. The name is misleading. Though the room was nice.

The Good
1. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the view from our room on the 5th floor was very good.
2. The grounds are a delight.
3. Location is close to many Coral Gables and Miami attractions.

I travel 200+ nights a year and must say the Biltmore is not a 5 star hotel. The lazy attitude towards service, bland food offerings, and wrongheaded policies deter from the guest experience. For the price you will be better served at the Four Seasons Miami. For a lesser price the Hyatt Coral Gables or the Westin in Coral Gables are fair choices.

  • Liked — The Grounds
  • Disliked — The misguided policies and service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    518
    199
    86
    48
    22
See reviews for
233
288
35
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We had one night at the Biltmore during our fly drive holiday. It is very opulent and grand as you drive to it, but our initial greeting was disappointing. There are no clear signs as you approach, so naturally we drove to the front area where there are staff waiting.

As we stopped the car, they open your doors for you, very nice we thought, then, realising that we didn't have valet parking, we are herded back in and told something in a very strong Spanish accent that we couldn't understand, but just made out the words 'turn left'.

Rather bewildered, we drove out and turned left and saw signs for the golf course, so went and parked in there. Turns out this is the correct car park anyway, but the signage is very misleading.

We really liked the authentic appearance of the hotel both inside and out, and felt like we were entering a luxury hotel, particularly as we waited in the lobby to be served. Incidentally, two desk staff were serving one family and kept us waiting five minutes while they did so, which was a bit poor.

the room was lovely, with a view of the pool and grounds. The bed was very comfortable and everything was extremely clean, so I cannot fault this at all.

We had some coffee by the pool later and a stroll around the grounds, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

A good stay, and I didn't feel that I got ripped off, but customer service could really do with an overhaul.

  • Liked — The luxury feel
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

This was our fourth visit to the Biltmore hotel. Our sons are at U Miami – you cannot beat it for the convenience to the college. The Biltmore staff is very friendly, professional, pleasant, and accommodating. The people, who work there, should be commended because they are always trying to make your stay more pleasant.

The hotel is old and they have done a remarkable job of keeping it in shape. The wood working and details of décor are beautiful throughout the hotel. Without a doubt this hotel has the most comfortable beds of any hotel we have stayed.
The temperature of the hotel (it is always freezing) is a bit of a problem. I was not given a straight answer about it but it may have something to do with the age of the hotel and perhaps they are trying to keep it from getting moldy with the humidity. I always need a sweater or jacket there.
The pool is enormous and they keep it spotless. The food at the hotel is delicious. It would also be nice if their coffee shop would stay open a little later at night than it does.
If there is one thing I would say they need to improve – it would be their valet parking system. I heard numerous complaints from people each day. If you are in a hurry – forget it.
When in Coral Gables this is a lovely place to stay but don’t forget a sweater to wear inside the hotel!

  • Liked — The bed!
  • Disliked — The temperature of the hotel. No real night life at all.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

We stayed at the Biltmore for four nights and found it to be wonderful. We were upgraded to a lovely room with a nice view of the pool and golf course. Being September,and hurricane season, the hotel was not crowded, so it was wonderfully relaxing. We found everyone on the staff to be exceptionally courteous and helpful without being overbearing. We had breakfast and lunch and I thought it was fairly priced for a hotel ,and the food was quite good. The pool is huge and and pleasant. The lobby is dark, but it is the decorating syle of the 1920's, I thought it was very interesting. Our room was bright and kept exceptionally clean. Overall it was great and we would love to go back.

  • Liked — Pool and room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

This hotel is an absolute nightmare. The rooms are cramped and not maintained. The hotel has a musty moldy odor both in the rooms and in the common areas.The staff is rude and quite inexperienced in customer service. The "famous" brunch was a total ripoff with a decent presentation and very substandard quality of food. they use the lowest quality of sparkling wine and call it "champagne"
the hotel was closed for many years and has gone through many hardships and ownerships. they should have demolished this one ages ago! the lobby has a dismal dark and depressing aura . It also wreaks of mold and mildew.
I suppose they are trying to live off of the hotel's history in its heyday but it doesnt work at all now. Its passe and outmoded and very offensive , especially the rude staff. i suppose if you speak cuban spanish you will be treated in a kinder way. hey, Thats miami

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2008
The Biltmore Sunday Champagne Brunch is recognized as one of the best in the country, having received numerous reviews and accolades from both patrons and the industry for its quality, price value, presentation, service and unique setting. It’s unfortunate, though extremely rare, that someone would feel otherwise. As well, please know that only Champagne is poured, not a sparkling wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at Biltmore just for one night as we returned from Grand Cayman to Frankfurt as stop-over in Miami. It was fantastic. Very beautiful room, great swimming-pool, very special atmosphere and fantastic service. We are looking for our next stay.

  • Liked — Swimming Pool & Service
  • Disliked — Everything was good.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

We travel to Miami about twice a year to visit family and have been doing so for several years. Although the Biltmore has been around for a long time, we had never stayed at this historic property until this summer, preferring high-end resorts on the beach. However, in the past few years, we have noticed a marked decline in the quality of service at several supposedly high-end beach properties. At the same time, several of these beachfront hotels have introduced a slew of predatory and unnecessary fees. The worst offender is a five-star resort on Key Biscayne, which, even though it has an ample surface parking lot, recently opted to prohibit self parking and impose a mandatory $30-a-day valet fee. Finally fed up by the exhorbitant fees and declining service at Miami's beachfront hotels, and encouraged by the positive reviews on this and other review sites, we decided to stay at the Biltmore in the heart of Coral Gables. Our only regret is that it took us so long to discover this fantastic resort. Unlike the aforementioned Key Biscayne property, the Biltmore gives you the option to self-park in their ample surface lot. You can opt for as little or as much assistance from the staff as you desire and you are not constantly accosted by overbearing staff looking for cheap tips. The rooms in the mid-1920s era hotel have been completely updated, as have all the facilities. The Biltmore is also family friendly. Housekeeping staff went out of their way to accommodate our daughter's nap schedule and they provided extra towels and toiletries. The gargantuan pool provides ample space for children and adults. The grounds are very nicely landscaped. August is a beastly hot time to visit Miami but if you can bear the heat and humidity, you will have the hotel almost to yourself during weekdays Unless your stay will be very short, you will need a car to get around as the hotel is in the middle of a high-end residential neighborhood and the shopping and restaurants of Coral Gables are just a bit beyond walking range. Miami Beach is a 20 minute drive. After several years, my wife and I have come to realize that its worth being a bit inland in order to avoid the universally poor service, exhorbitant hidden fees, and overcrowding at Miami's beachfront hotels. The Biltmore is an excellent choice for discerning adults and families with children.

  • Liked — Quality service and helpful staff
  • Disliked — No shuttle/trolley service to Miracle Mile
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.