We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We had one night at the Biltmore during our fly drive holiday. It is very opulent and grand as you drive to it, but our initial greeting was disappointing. There are no clear signs as you approach, so naturally we drove to the front area where there are staff waiting.

As we stopped the car, they open your doors for you, very nice we thought, then, realising that we didn't have valet parking, we are herded back in and told something in a very strong Spanish accent that we couldn't understand, but just made out the words 'turn left'.

Rather bewildered, we drove out and turned left and saw signs for the golf course, so went and parked in there. Turns out this is the correct car park anyway, but the signage is very misleading.

We really liked the authentic appearance of the hotel both inside and out, and felt like we were entering a luxury hotel, particularly as we waited in the lobby to be served. Incidentally, two desk staff were serving one family and kept us waiting five minutes while they did so, which was a bit poor.

the room was lovely, with a view of the pool and grounds. The bed was very comfortable and everything was extremely clean, so I cannot fault this at all.

We had some coffee by the pool later and a stroll around the grounds, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

A good stay, and I didn't feel that I got ripped off, but customer service could really do with an overhaul.

  • Liked — The luxury feel
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    216
    92
    51
    24
See reviews for
250
306
39
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

This was our fourth visit to the Biltmore hotel. Our sons are at U Miami – you cannot beat it for the convenience to the college. The Biltmore staff is very friendly, professional, pleasant, and accommodating. The people, who work there, should be commended because they are always trying to make your stay more pleasant.

The hotel is old and they have done a remarkable job of keeping it in shape. The wood working and details of décor are beautiful throughout the hotel. Without a doubt this hotel has the most comfortable beds of any hotel we have stayed.
The temperature of the hotel (it is always freezing) is a bit of a problem. I was not given a straight answer about it but it may have something to do with the age of the hotel and perhaps they are trying to keep it from getting moldy with the humidity. I always need a sweater or jacket there.
The pool is enormous and they keep it spotless. The food at the hotel is delicious. It would also be nice if their coffee shop would stay open a little later at night than it does.
If there is one thing I would say they need to improve – it would be their valet parking system. I heard numerous complaints from people each day. If you are in a hurry – forget it.
When in Coral Gables this is a lovely place to stay but don’t forget a sweater to wear inside the hotel!

  • Liked — The bed!
  • Disliked — The temperature of the hotel. No real night life at all.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

We stayed at the Biltmore for four nights and found it to be wonderful. We were upgraded to a lovely room with a nice view of the pool and golf course. Being September,and hurricane season, the hotel was not crowded, so it was wonderfully relaxing. We found everyone on the staff to be exceptionally courteous and helpful without being overbearing. We had breakfast and lunch and I thought it was fairly priced for a hotel ,and the food was quite good. The pool is huge and and pleasant. The lobby is dark, but it is the decorating syle of the 1920's, I thought it was very interesting. Our room was bright and kept exceptionally clean. Overall it was great and we would love to go back.

  • Liked — Pool and room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

This hotel is an absolute nightmare. The rooms are cramped and not maintained. The hotel has a musty moldy odor both in the rooms and in the common areas.The staff is rude and quite inexperienced in customer service. The "famous" brunch was a total ripoff with a decent presentation and very substandard quality of food. they use the lowest quality of sparkling wine and call it "champagne"
the hotel was closed for many years and has gone through many hardships and ownerships. they should have demolished this one ages ago! the lobby has a dismal dark and depressing aura . It also wreaks of mold and mildew.
I suppose they are trying to live off of the hotel's history in its heyday but it doesnt work at all now. Its passe and outmoded and very offensive , especially the rude staff. i suppose if you speak cuban spanish you will be treated in a kinder way. hey, Thats miami

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2008
The Biltmore Sunday Champagne Brunch is recognized as one of the best in the country, having received numerous reviews and accolades from both patrons and the industry for its quality, price value, presentation, service and unique setting. It’s unfortunate, though extremely rare, that someone would feel otherwise. As well, please know that only Champagne is poured, not a sparkling wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at Biltmore just for one night as we returned from Grand Cayman to Frankfurt as stop-over in Miami. It was fantastic. Very beautiful room, great swimming-pool, very special atmosphere and fantastic service. We are looking for our next stay.

  • Liked — Swimming Pool & Service
  • Disliked — Everything was good.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

We travel to Miami about twice a year to visit family and have been doing so for several years. Although the Biltmore has been around for a long time, we had never stayed at this historic property until this summer, preferring high-end resorts on the beach. However, in the past few years, we have noticed a marked decline in the quality of service at several supposedly high-end beach properties. At the same time, several of these beachfront hotels have introduced a slew of predatory and unnecessary fees. The worst offender is a five-star resort on Key Biscayne, which, even though it has an ample surface parking lot, recently opted to prohibit self parking and impose a mandatory $30-a-day valet fee. Finally fed up by the exhorbitant fees and declining service at Miami's beachfront hotels, and encouraged by the positive reviews on this and other review sites, we decided to stay at the Biltmore in the heart of Coral Gables. Our only regret is that it took us so long to discover this fantastic resort. Unlike the aforementioned Key Biscayne property, the Biltmore gives you the option to self-park in their ample surface lot. You can opt for as little or as much assistance from the staff as you desire and you are not constantly accosted by overbearing staff looking for cheap tips. The rooms in the mid-1920s era hotel have been completely updated, as have all the facilities. The Biltmore is also family friendly. Housekeeping staff went out of their way to accommodate our daughter's nap schedule and they provided extra towels and toiletries. The gargantuan pool provides ample space for children and adults. The grounds are very nicely landscaped. August is a beastly hot time to visit Miami but if you can bear the heat and humidity, you will have the hotel almost to yourself during weekdays Unless your stay will be very short, you will need a car to get around as the hotel is in the middle of a high-end residential neighborhood and the shopping and restaurants of Coral Gables are just a bit beyond walking range. Miami Beach is a 20 minute drive. After several years, my wife and I have come to realize that its worth being a bit inland in order to avoid the universally poor service, exhorbitant hidden fees, and overcrowding at Miami's beachfront hotels. The Biltmore is an excellent choice for discerning adults and families with children.

  • Liked — Quality service and helpful staff
  • Disliked — No shuttle/trolley service to Miracle Mile
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Looking for some where while on a quick trip to Miami both my husband and I loved the sound of this hotel; and when we got a good deal on a B & B basis we booked it. The reason for the great deal was because it was July and no one goes to Miami in July - it’s too hot. On arrival we were shown to our room, very pleasant BUT the windows looked out on to a wall not 3m from the window. When we asked to be moved we then given a room overlooking the courtyard and with a partial view of the golf course. This second room was much smaller than the first; so down to the reception again. This time we were given a nice big room with a good view. Why oh why didn’t we get that room first. The hotel was not busy and our stay and opinion is now tainted by this experience.
The B & B was in fact a $40 credit each day and as the buffet was $19.00 each before tax we thought it a bit mean. That said the staff were great but will we go back. NO

  • Liked — Staircase and lift for this wing right into the reception area
  • Disliked — Having to walk through reception to get to pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2008
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We extend every effort possible to resolve guests' issues related to their hotel experience when these concerns are brought directly to our attention.

Biltmore Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.