We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everglades Suite - An experience we'll never forget!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Everglades Suite - An experience we'll never forget!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

When we turned onto the street that the Biltmore was on, we knew we were in the right place, the homes and lawns were immaculate!

Upon arrival, I checked in our group of 7 while the valet unloaded our bags. I had completed extensive research on the rooms, so I asked if either the Everglade or Presidential Suite was available (we were originally booked in a two bedroom suite). I knew it was a long shot, but it definitely didn’t hurt to ask! We were told that both suites were unavailable and that they would call my cell when the rooms were ready. It was only 12 and check in wasn’t until 3, so we weren’t too surprised. We had a leisurely lunch by the pool and just as we were finishing, got the call that our room was ready.

When I went back to the front desk, Elise had a huge smile on her face and handed me our key. She said that one of the bellmen would take us up our special elevator to our room and give us the tour. My interest definitely peaked at this point!

Needless to say, when we stepped off the elevator and onto the 13th floor, we were taken aback, it was the Everglades Suite! It is so vast that it took the bellman 9 minutes to give us a tour. We found out that presidents, Al Capone, and even the Kardashians have stayed here. It’s worth looking up online if you are interested in a more in depth review of the room. Just as a side note, I know there are also several stories about the hotel (and this floor in particular) being haunted, but we never saw anything out of the ordinary.

The suite has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and the views are out of this world. Because it takes up the entire floor, you can view the entire area around the hotel in any direction. I can't even begin to describe this suite and give it justice. I have posted a number of pictures, so feel free to look at those to get the best idea of what it entails.

The staff at the hotel were fabulous as well! Everyone was so kind and helpful and made our one night pre-cruise stay the perfect start to our vacation.

This was by far the most memorable hotel experience that I have ever had and I would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The Everglades Suite is a must! Definitely an experience you will remember for years to come.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are very excited that the Everglades Suite and our staff created such a memorable experience for you. The suite is truly one of a kind and, the stunning views just one of its many features. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    195
    83
    48
    22
See reviews for
225
282
35
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northport, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Biltmore and came back due to the excellent experience we had last time. This time we had an unfortunate situation - which I will spare other from reading about - but the Biltmore front desk and staff handled the situation expertly causing us very minimal disruption.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your return visit and the honest feedback. We have re-grouped with our front desk team to ensure that s similar situation does not repeat itself.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Elegant property with spacious rooms, great beds, beautiful lobby. Love the pool too! Service is always great. Front desk is very helpful. Close to the University and the Miracle Mile. Airport is only 15 minutes away.

Room Tip: I like to request a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your return visit and the kind words. We will use your feedback as inspiration and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you are looking for an upscale property in the coral gables area, best to pass this property by. They seem to operate the hotel for the convenience of the hotel, not the guests. Although they did give me an upgraded room, it was beyond noisy. It was at the end of a long hallway, but every night you would think people were bowling on top of us, not to mention the constant sound of an ice machine, even though there was no ice machine nearby. Totally annoying. I was at the hotel for a small group meeting of about 35 people. We had three meals (2 breakfasts and one dinner). all the food was ice cold. not even warm, ice cold. one morning, no bread, muffins, bagels at all with the eggs. one of the sinks in our room was all backed up. I asked the night before check out if I could get a late checkout since I was flying to Europe in the early evening the day of checkout. I was told that you had to wait until 7am in the morning to even REQUEST a late checkout. When I called around 7:30am the next morning, i was told NO late checkouts. The hotel was happy to check my bags for the day. How nice of them! The hotel boasts of being a National Landmark. It would have been better if they had turned it into a Museum. Whoever the owner is clearly does not know how to run a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

my sincere apologies for not meeting any of your expectations. We were unaware of your problems but have reached out to the meeting planner for more insights and review of the scheduled food & beverage events. We accommodate late check-out requests whenever reasonably possible, however, during the peak season months we recommend that such requests are made in advance, allowing us to assist you better. I am looking forward to another opportunity to serve you as the experiences you describe are not reflective of our service and hospitality standards.

Regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was a fantastic hotel which was clean, wonderfully appointed with furniture, beautiful landscaping, symmetry and taste. The food and drinks were fantastic and our 3 year old twins were treated like royalty.

The large pool and elegant deck, were a hit and Juan's mojito's were top shelf.

Great place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: Ask for Beatrice when making a reservation.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are pleased to hear that your entire family enjoyed the best that Biltmore hospitality has to offer and are looking forward to the next opportunity to treat your twins like royalty.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough wonderful things about the historic Biltmore Hotel. My husband, daughter and I stayed a week in March at this absolutely magnificent property. We cannot wait until we are able to return. The entire staff was friendly, professional, and incredibly helpful. The beds were comfy, the amenities plentiful, and the room, a one-bedroom suite, was expansive. The restaurants served a variety of delicious food. At each restaurant you can sit inside or out depending on the weather; we chose to always dine outside. The pool was a perfect temperature and never very crowded. We rented a car and never had trouble finding a parking space in the hotel lot. If you are planning a trip to Coral Gables, I highly recommend you book a room at the Biltmore.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are very pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable and memorable visit to The Biltmore and Coral Gables. Thank you for sharing. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next reservation; we can't wait for your return!

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottsville, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very old world and traditional. If you want to enjoy the beach, this is not the place but if you are a golfer, you are in the right place. The pool is huge but very crowded. Only two little shops in the hotel lobby and they carry very little. Service, of course, was impeccable. Be sure to ask for a balcony room; it will add to your enjoyment. Our room was fine but not a good view.

Room Tip: Request a balcony and view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are pleased to hear that you had such a great time on our Donald Ross golf course. Thank you for your observations and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Splendia, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.