We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The way we should all Live...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The way we should all Live...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

A historic beautiful hotel with great amenities. We were only in for one night to do some business and chose the Biltmore as we have been there for dinner before and enjoyed it. The staff is superb and we were upgraded to a suite overlooking the golf course. (Amex). The room was very nice and big, fruit and wine in the room (Amex). There was some noise from a kitchen exhaust fan a few floors below, possibly some storm windows in the bedroom window would cure that. we must return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your business and the review. My apologies for the noise intrusion. We will use your feedback in finding a solution. Looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    201
    80
    48
    22
See reviews for
222
277
35
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is a truly beautiful hotel that gives you a taste of 1920's/30's South Florida glamour. The Spanish colonial details throughout - from the lobby, to the pool area, to the restaurants and golf course - are really stunning. I can't stress the beauty of the pool area enough. It is definitely the largest pool I have ever been in (I believe it is one of the largest in the United States), and the architecture and landscaping are beautiful. The staff at the pool area is also very attentive with bringing you food, drinks, and towels.

The rooms themselves are perhaps a little in need of an upgrade, but are still very well-appointed and comfortable. I had no complaints about cleanliness or anything being restocked.

The nature of the hotel as one of the largest and most beautiful event spaces in Miami means it can get a little crowded on weekends - and on Friday and Saturday night you can hear the music from the event halls - but this bothered me more in common areas than in the room.

Overall, this is a good alternative to the sleek, modern Miami Beach and Brickell hotels that offers a little bit of old-world charm. Great for a staycation or for out-of-towners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

we appreciate your passion for the architecture and history of our iconic hotel. We make every effort to control noise bleed from any functions interfering with other spaces and will use your feedback to keep us focused on these efforts. Thank you for taking the time to share your observations.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Lovely architecture and historically interesting. Rooms small by US standards although compared to Europe - ok.

The highlight of my stay was the Concierge Service. He couldn't do enough.
All staff there excellent. The reception staff very nice also.

Their prices were leading hotel though.. And without Breakfast. and when asked for a local adaptor suggested I buy one in their gift shop. Every 3, 4 or 5 star hotel around the world has a supply of adaptors for visitors. But not the Biltmore.

I believe if one wanted to play golf its good. But please, catch up with services offered in similar star hotels. There is another world outside US. By the way, some locals, whom I spoke to, thought the Biltmore was the business. They should travel a bit more. 8 dollars for a bottle of water in room,. Usually water supplied in Leading Hotels. at least one litre per person per day.

when I mark service below mean the staff. The service by staff was excellent

Room Tip: its in a quiet residential area. But avoid near the outside Fountain as it can be noisy according to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. Your points about electric adapters and bottled water are well taken and we will review them with our leadership team as part of our ongoing efforts to maintain and strengthen our high standards of service and offerings. We hope to be able to host you once again during your next visit to Coral Gables.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We just spent four nights in a junior suite. The rooms was very spacious and we received nightly turndown service which included chocolates and an aperitif, such as Bailys or Sambuca. How nice! The facility is so beautiful and filled with old world charm. Look up and be sure to enjoy the fabulous ceilings throughout. Free car service to and around the Miracle Mile comes in very handy. The fitness center is very large with plenty of equipment. The pool is said to be the largest in the continental U.S. And is beautifully appointed with lovely palm trees. Can't say enough. If you have the chance, stay here and enjoy being pampered.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing you experiences about our many different offerings and services. Our team is excited about having met your expectations and we are all looking forward to be able to pamper you again some time in the near future.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

this hotel probably has the nicest pool in Miami, and the best Sunday Brunch.
Great Coral Gables location, and a very different offering from the typical "Miami modern" alternatives.
Meeting rooms are comfortable but their wifi is not very reliable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

we very much appreciate your kind words about our pool (now heated!) and the famous Sunday Brunch. My apologies for any inconvenience due to Wi-Fi problems. While we generally have a very robust system, we are planning capital investments later this year in support of upgrading the Wi-Fi system property wide.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was captivated by the architecture of the buildings. The design is an elegant hispanic influenced construction and found myself looking up in the rooms I entered to see amazing detail even in the ceilings and elevators. The suite was very roomy and light with an old world feeling. I enjoyed seeing the pictures along the walls of various scenes from earlier years and the construction of the hotel. The pool was a beautiful big pool that is relaxing. They offer a great fitness facility and several great classes with good intense instructors. Members and instructors were extremely friendly and welcoming. I loved the golf course since it was pretty open and easy to get out of the sand. Keep your eyes open for iguanas! I did attend the culinary class there and would highly recommend it. Chef David is extremely helpful and offers a lot of tips. He actually made me like cooking that day and was fun. Make sure you try one of their chocolate chip cookies! They also offer shuttle service to certain areas like the Miracle Mile shopping area which is only a couple of miles away. The food is great and the hotel offers a variety to choose from. I would definitely recommend this getaway especially to warm up during the cold winter days.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the cooking class and all that Chef David has to offer. We look forward to your next visit. Bon Apetit!

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We wanted a hotel for vacation and golf and chose the Biltmore because of the golf package which let us play golf for 2 days and stay in the hotel which otherwise would have been too pricey for us. We arrived on Saturday afternoon around 12:30 and got into our room right away. We were greeted in our room with a plate of fruit and bottled water which was a very classy touch. We had chosen the least expensive room but our room and bathroom were very nice. Our view wasn't great but we didn't really care. We did hear some noise at night which we thought was cleanup from a wedding but overall the room was fine. The hotel itself is beautiful.

The practice range and golf course are very good but not great as we had to hit off of mats at the driving range and we found the fairways too matted and hard. Still we thought the golf package was a really good deal.

We chose not to eat dinner at the hotel but regretted that as the outdoor restaurant looked very nice. We did get breakfast included and the breakfast buffet was excellent. After golf the second day we sat by the pool which is huge and very beautiful. We had lunch by the pool which was another great meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your recent golfing experience with us. We are proud of our Donald Ross designed course and look forward to your return visit.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Managing DIrector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LHW, Travelocity, Splendia, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.