We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
framingham, ma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nice but in my humble opinion not worth the price. We had a junior suite and the furniture, specifically the sofa was simply tired looking. Not dirty but not fresh looking. You'd think for the high price you'd get more than basic amenities. That said, the staff was great and very helpful. And the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for selecting The Biltmore for your recent visit to Coral Gables. I regret to see that our product/price ratio did not meet your expectations. We will review your experience more closely with our housekeeping and facilities teams in order to make improvements.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    288
    124
    60
    33
See reviews for
315
394
47
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our second stay at the Biltmore while visiting our daughter. This has everything. An amazing lobby greets you. Ample parking. Several wonderful places to eat. Nice bars. First class service. Everyone that works here is just so nice.
The best word to describe the hotel is ....atmosphere. Lots of it.
We had a junior suite. Very comfortable. I agree with the reviewer who noted the lack of outlets for cell phones, tablets, etc., but this is a very old property.
The king size bed was very comfortable, as were the sofa and chair. They provide slippers, robes, plenty of closet space. Our room had a superb view of the pool. The pool here defies description and must be seen to be believed.
Paper delivered daily. Turn down service in the afternoon with chocolates.
It is true that it is a short drive to restaurants and shops, except those in the hotel. The hotel, however, has a complimentary drop off and pick up for guests going out in Coral Gables. And the resort fees include tips for the bellman and valets.
My wife and I go to Miami at least twice a year. This is the nicest place to stay, and is among our favorites anywhere. We will be returning in March.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us again while visiting your daughter. We are excited that the collective team effort by our staff members resulted in a terrific vacation experience for you and hope that you will be visiting many more times. Please let us know if we can assist you with your March reservations.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was recently at the Biltmore for a 3 day conference and must say that I was completely let down by the experience. The hotel is is desperate need of a full renovation as it feels very old and dusty. My room was old looking, the furniture was nicked, the hot water and water pressure in the shower came and went depending on how many people in the hotel were showering at that moment and the walls are paper thin so you could hear EVERYTHING going on in the room next door. The bathroom was so old and rickety that one day as I was showering the shower head flew off and hit me in the head, spraying water everywhere. In addition, the hotel, is in Coral Gables (nowhere near a beach), so it is sort of remote and isolated since its on a golf course/estate and you cannot walk anywhere. All in all, it was a terrible experience and I would never return here. There are SO many magnificent hotels in Miami, I don't understand why anyone would stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

we appreciate you visiting The Biltmore in Coral Gables and are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We are proud of our history and the dedicated service of our staff and will use your observations in our ongoing plans for overall improvements.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Beautiful towered building with an incredible pool, amazing lobby (soaring vaulted painted ceiling), many nice restaurants, and grounds with attractive fountains, golf, tennis, and ample parking. The staff was universally friendly and will give you an orientation when you arrive. The hallways are decorated with large 1930s vintage photos of famous golfers and others during the Biltmore’s heyday. There is free wifi throughout the hotel, including the guest rooms. We enjoyed every meal at the hotel - from pool-side sandwiches to the breakfast buffet around the central fountain courtyard.

We had a junior suite - an excellent room that was clean, quiet, and attractively tiled throughout. Two big windows overlooked the golf course and Coral Gables. The bed was comfortable and had a painted headboard. In the room there was a couch, rug, coffee table, and a floor-to-ceiling dresser/desk/entertainment combo piece with a TV on each side (more on these below). The room had plenty of lamps with 3-way bulbs that were bright enough for reading on the highest setting. The room featured just about everything: 2 luggage racks, robes, slippers, extra pillows, real wooden hangers, iron & board, hairdryer, room safe, and settable thermostat. In addition to the painted headboard and tiling, room decorations were framed photos of fountains, and a large vintage map. The bathroom had plenty of towels and toiletries. The newspaper (Sunday Miami Herald, USA Today otherwise) was hung on the door daily. There was a turn-down service (with chocolates left of the pillow) in the afternoon.

The negatives were few: the two flat screen TVs (about 24” each) were the same model, and thus each remote interfered with the other (IR signals bounce around the room). The on/off signal is a toggle. I was watching a late football game on mute from the couch, and when I turned that TV off, the bed-facing TV turned on and started blaring - waking up my wife from a sound sleep. Not a good set-up. I figured out a work-around which was to find the manual on/off switch (hidden at the lower right side) and use that instead of the remote. On the topic of electrical stuff: there was only one outlet (by the desk) where one could plug in a charger/laptop/etc. Otherwise, you have to use the bathroom sink outlet, or start moving furniture and unplugging lamps, etc. Another somewhat negative was that the shower water pressure was just ok. The hotel is in a well established, pretty, residential neighborhood, but you'll need to drive to get anywhere for shops and restaurants (except for those part of the hotel itself).

One weird note: There was the usual over-priced in-room candy and snack tray prominently displayed at eye-level by the bedroom TV. The whole thing was an easily movable leather tray. We didn’t want to have that stuff staring at us the whole time, so we called and ask that it be removed, but we were told that they would charge us for doing that. Bizarre! So I just covered it with a towel. Problem solved, but not in-keeping with the rest of our experience.

Overall a great hotel that we would visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations at so many levels and apologize for the inconvenience the dual TV system and the water pressure have caused you. Both issues have been reviewed by our facilities team and been corrected. We will also work with our room service staff to ensure we handle special requests with more customer orientation. My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

During a recent stay for a Healthcare conference, I had probably the worst hotel experience in my 20+ years of business travel. While checking in, the beauty of the lobby was the best highlight of this trip. The employee that checked us in was "In Training" and the manager left her alone to check us in. We were not informed of the 100.00 per day incidicental fee that would be charged as a hold to our cards. Also, my co-worker's reservation was lost, even though we had the confirmation number. She was only allowed to stay one night and the conference rate was not honored. Room Service was the highlight of our stay. The prices were comparable and the food quality was above average. However, that's where the positive experiences end. No WIFI in the conference rooms. No cell reception in the lower conference rooms. Staff was not helpful. There was on place to purchase coffee. No access to coffee makers, vending machines, and microwaves. Bugs in rooms. And one morning, the power went out in my room due to operating a hair dryer and television at the same time.... I have requested a receipt for my stay four times and am still pending for reimbursement. Overall, a very poor experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, my sincere apologies on behalf of our entire staff. As a world-class luxury destination resort, The Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry – and your experience is certainly not consistent with our normal – or desired - standards.

Regarding your check-in experience, we have made some changes to our Front Desk management, and we’re sure that you will be able to see a difference upon your return; as it was unfortunate that you were left alone with a Trainee who did not explain the incidentals deposit to you.

With the Wi-Fi service, the installation of such in the meeting rooms is congruent with what is requested by the meeting planner. Cell phone signals proprietary to the provider, and can be stronger or weaker in different parts of the country. Having said that, however, we are currently working with all the carriers to boost their signals throughout the resort.

Coffee, pastries and fruit can be purchased from 7 AM onward in the Cellar Club Bar on the Lower Lobby Level – and you should have been directed there by one of our staff members. Regarding the bugs, the power complaint, and the situation with your colleague’s reservation, we have investigated the matter internally, and have taken measures to address the problems with the appropriate managers of the Engineering, Housekeeping and Reservations departments. We are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved and we will be using the information as part of our ongoing staff training, in order to prevent future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The beautiful Biltmore Pool is now heated (as of January 2014.) The hotel has complimentary water aerobics classes for all hotel guests. Best deal ever! Working out in paradise and then having a refreshing after workout drink at the pool side bar or in your very own cabana.

Room Tip: room 607 beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at The Biltmore soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Of course, not everything is as it should be. Ýou have to remember that the hotel is not modern - but no modern hotel has this charme. The lady at the concierge desk is extraordinary helpful and polite! I never before met such a good concierge.
The normal restaurant could be a better, it´s maitre d` seems to be upper class.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
As a world-class luxury destination resort, The Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate your kind words about our Concierge staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.