We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at Biltmore just for one night as we returned from Grand Cayman to Frankfurt as stop-over in Miami. It was fantastic. Very beautiful room, great swimming-pool, very special atmosphere and fantastic service. We are looking for our next stay.

  • Liked — Swimming Pool & Service
  • Disliked — Everything was good.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    288
    124
    60
    33
See reviews for
315
394
47
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

We travel to Miami about twice a year to visit family and have been doing so for several years. Although the Biltmore has been around for a long time, we had never stayed at this historic property until this summer, preferring high-end resorts on the beach. However, in the past few years, we have noticed a marked decline in the quality of service at several supposedly high-end beach properties. At the same time, several of these beachfront hotels have introduced a slew of predatory and unnecessary fees. The worst offender is a five-star resort on Key Biscayne, which, even though it has an ample surface parking lot, recently opted to prohibit self parking and impose a mandatory $30-a-day valet fee. Finally fed up by the exhorbitant fees and declining service at Miami's beachfront hotels, and encouraged by the positive reviews on this and other review sites, we decided to stay at the Biltmore in the heart of Coral Gables. Our only regret is that it took us so long to discover this fantastic resort. Unlike the aforementioned Key Biscayne property, the Biltmore gives you the option to self-park in their ample surface lot. You can opt for as little or as much assistance from the staff as you desire and you are not constantly accosted by overbearing staff looking for cheap tips. The rooms in the mid-1920s era hotel have been completely updated, as have all the facilities. The Biltmore is also family friendly. Housekeeping staff went out of their way to accommodate our daughter's nap schedule and they provided extra towels and toiletries. The gargantuan pool provides ample space for children and adults. The grounds are very nicely landscaped. August is a beastly hot time to visit Miami but if you can bear the heat and humidity, you will have the hotel almost to yourself during weekdays Unless your stay will be very short, you will need a car to get around as the hotel is in the middle of a high-end residential neighborhood and the shopping and restaurants of Coral Gables are just a bit beyond walking range. Miami Beach is a 20 minute drive. After several years, my wife and I have come to realize that its worth being a bit inland in order to avoid the universally poor service, exhorbitant hidden fees, and overcrowding at Miami's beachfront hotels. The Biltmore is an excellent choice for discerning adults and families with children.

  • Liked — Quality service and helpful staff
  • Disliked — No shuttle/trolley service to Miracle Mile
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Looking for some where while on a quick trip to Miami both my husband and I loved the sound of this hotel; and when we got a good deal on a B & B basis we booked it. The reason for the great deal was because it was July and no one goes to Miami in July - it’s too hot. On arrival we were shown to our room, very pleasant BUT the windows looked out on to a wall not 3m from the window. When we asked to be moved we then given a room overlooking the courtyard and with a partial view of the golf course. This second room was much smaller than the first; so down to the reception again. This time we were given a nice big room with a good view. Why oh why didn’t we get that room first. The hotel was not busy and our stay and opinion is now tainted by this experience.
The B & B was in fact a $40 credit each day and as the buffet was $19.00 each before tax we thought it a bit mean. That said the staff were great but will we go back. NO

  • Liked — Staircase and lift for this wing right into the reception area
  • Disliked — Having to walk through reception to get to pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2008
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We extend every effort possible to resolve guests' issues related to their hotel experience when these concerns are brought directly to our attention.

Biltmore Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed here for a wedding and had a great weekend. The service was excellent and we had a junior suite with plenty of room. The gym is a full service that is also used by locals with memberships. It is very big and has plenty of room to accommodate. There were numerous machines and also a free weight room. The pool looks great in pictures but even more spectacular in person. I also played the golf course and it was better than I expected.
The Miracle Mile is only 5 minutes away so make sure and check out the restaurants and shops over there...There are a few really good bookstores to find something to read by the pool. Enjoy

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

I stayed at the Biltmore from July 6-8. I am going to break down the review by categories.

Service- The service here is impeccable. Everyone from the bellmen, front desk, concierge, room attendants’ and pool staff. They delivered the best. I was a bit apprehensive at first but, these people are highly trained and can just pick up on stuff. For example, if you are a more laid back, down to earth person, they are very personable and joke around. I also, saw them deliver on the other end of the spectrum and were very professional in etiquette and demeanor.

I was out strolling the grounds one night with my one year old and we got caught in a rain shower. Magically, someone appeared with a towel for the little guy! It really was just a few sprinkles but, they were right there. They also brought up milk for him one evening. All of this without even being asked!

They followed up with a phone call when I requested the crib and extra towels just to make sure that they had arrived.

Room- We had a junior suite with 2 beds and a sitting area. We had more than enough room to walk around, even with the crib and stroller in the room. The bathroom was very nice and clean. I am very anal about putting the baby in a dirty bath tub and walking around with out slippers on in a hotel room but, I never had any problems here.

Sheets and linens were clean and the beds were very comfortable. It looked like they had some sort of a mattress topper on top of the mattress.

They did turn down service both nights. Special treats were delivered to our room daily, one day fruit and wine and another day Bailey’s and chocolates.

Pool- I LOVED the pool here. It was big enough that I could find a spot where I would not bother any one who was not child friendly. The pool attendants’ were very attentive and always stopped to say hi and give a high five to the baby. We usually went to the pool in the early morning or later in the day so we never had an issue getting a great spot. I loved going down early in the morning and watching the birds eat the nuts or whatever they are fall from the trees, as well as the lizards running around. Around mid-day they had a live band playing by the pool side restaurant. I never reserved a cabana but, I did go in one to look around and they just looked so relaxing and serene. I don’t believe that at any one time more than one was being used.

Grounds- The grounds were beautiful. We saw a couple of weddings going on and they let me peek in on the ballroom that they were using for the dinner. It was so beautiful with the table arrangements and candles lit. 5 star all the way!

The hotel architecturally was breathtaking. It sort of reminded me of the Tower of Terror ride at Disney one night when it was lighting really bad out. The grounds were always well kept and there was constant grounds keeping going on. There is so much history to the hotel and the decorators did not miss a thing. Everything flowed together perfectly. From the light fixtures to the paintings.

Clientele- I was really surprised by the wide range of people staying here. From wealthy to just everyday middle class people. Everyone was very respectful of one’s space and help doors open if someone had there hands full.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. In fact I highly recommend you try it out!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Can't really think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

I stayed at the Biltmore as a result of attending a wedding there. This is a beautiful classic hotel and I would stay there again. This is a nice place for relaxing weekend getaway . The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I ever slept in the the shower had the best water pressure. It was a spa like experience for me. The entire place has a nice comforting ambience.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — not very close to the beach
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Amazing building where we were allocated a small junior suite for our four day stay. The fittings and fixtures where in good condition and of a high quality and the hotel was neat and clean .

Be aware that the Biltmore Country Club shares the swimming pool, which although I understand makes economic sense , it makes the pool overcrowded on weekends. There were no sun beds or towels available for us on the Saturday so we went to the Venetian Pools instead. Pool service is rubbish when we did eventually get a space on the Sunday afternoon , we were ignored for two and a half hours as the pool boys who busily fawned over the regular country club guest showering them with menus, towels, extra towels, umbrellas ,glasses of free iced water and iced towels. Also there was a party of teenage country club guests intent on shattering the sound barrier with their constant screeching. So may be not the best place to try to relax if you are used to quality hotels with exclusive pool use and excellents service ( The Regent Beverly Wiltshire, Phonecian and Santa Demenico Plaza to name some of excellent examples).

(TIP. If the pool guys ignore you and you get really thirsty try the coffee shop in the lower lobby, you will save $20 on two coffees.)

But If we thought the pool service was snooty just just wait till you try the restaurant , la Fontana. Although the food and waiting staff were excellent the management , a junior maitre'd in particular ,displayed sufficient sarcasm to potentially ruin the dining experience. However we chose to ignore them and let the wonderful waiters and chefs take care of us. If you want a friendly welcome , go to Denny's .

(TIP. Although it is not strictly enforced the managment think it would be "nice" for other diners if gentlemen did not were shorts in the restaurant however ill fitting JC Penny suits obvously were welcomed )

Its very difficult to rate this hotel as on the one hand some things are really great for example some staff go out of the way to help and are keen to ensure you are needs are being met ,the house keeper for example .Other staff don't even scrape 1 star , clearly just interested in tips and who ever heard of a hotel running out of towels? It creates a sinister atmosphere when you know you are obliged to "flash the cash" to get the service you have already paid for !!!

Try is on a weekday when its less crowded and take your own vital supplies to the pool. Try the restaurant because although you will have to endure the sarcasm and lack of sincereity of the maitre'Duhs the menus is well worth sampling.

  • Liked — The experience of staying in a historic architectural masterpiece
  • Disliked — The Junior Maitre'd in the restaurant
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Splendia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.