We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Merry Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Merry Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family had to be in Miami for Christmas, and I chose the Biltmore as a family treat. And I'm very glad I did. The place is beautiful. It was like being in a big comfortable home. The staff was attentive, kind, formal, but not snobbish. Our bedroom faced the magnificent pool. It was roomy, with 2 queens and a sitting area, and the beds very comfortable. We had plenty of rooms to spread our Christmas gifts. I ordered my breakfast as room service, and my latte and toast were just perfect. My sons had the breakfast buffet, and the French toast crème Brule, no complaints there. I relaxed by the pool, that unfortunately is too big to be heated, but it is rarely cold in Miami anyway. The staff communicates with radio, what can be a little noisy. In all it was a very pleasant experience, I would like to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We like to describe The Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort - and we're delighted to inform you that as of January, our world-renowned pool is now heated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    201
    82
    48
    22
See reviews for
223
279
35
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We are from Miami and stay at The Biltmore every December for a holiday gala. The Jr suite is spacious with a sitting room and large king bed, 2 flat screens - one on each side of the desk, a fridge, and the bathroom is spacious just not much storage space by the sink. The Spa is fabulous and we go there often for a massage or facial even when we don't stay there. The food, in-room, outside and in the restaurant is amazing. The mini tacos and pizza from room service is a must. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We love the Biltmore!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
It is always a pleasure to hear from our loyal repeat guests and know that their warm Biltmore experience keeps them returning year after year. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just returned today 12/19 from a four day stay at the Biltmore. Staff was the best, especially Alex at the 19th hole. Please, please follow the competition (Ritz and Trump Hotels) and install coffee makers in the room or at least a big urn on each floor. No one wants to travel to the cellar for a morning cup of joe and while you're at it, maybe small refrigerators in each room?

It's a splendid hotel with the best ever staff but I I'm sure many guests would prefer that first cup in their PJs rather than have to dress, shave, etc., etc. before that first sip.

Room Tip: Ask if they will install a coffee maker in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with The Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I went to a Gala Dinner at the Biltmore and decided to stay for the night to avoid drinking and driving. We received an upgrade to a Jr. Suite. The rooms are nice, this one had a good balcony and a living room. The bathrooms are huge.
Good service, very traditional Hotel, if you stay at the Biltmore don't miss the Sunday brunch which is one of the best in Miami, it is worth every penny!
Also the pool is amazing, is cold due is not heated but is very refreshing...
GOOD HOTEL to surprise your wife or girfriend!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
As a world-class luxury destination resort, The Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - and we're even more delighted to inform you that our world-renowned swimming pool is now heated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My daughter and I have been enjoying high tea at the Biltmore in Coral Gables florida for the past ten years. It seems that for the past 3 years both the food and the service has been steadily declining. It's a shame to have to write this since we are coral gables residents and the Biltmore is such an enchanting place to go. The quality of the tea sandwiches was poor and they claim to offer petit four but we were given biscuits instead. When we asked our server she didn't even know what petit four was.It was a very uneventful experience. Unless things change we will not return

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than favorable experience you had during your recent visit to enjoy Afternoon Tea with us at The Biltmore. I assure you that this matter is of grave concern, as we take great pride in our commitment to guest satisfaction. We have had recent changes in the Afternoon Tea staff, but we did make Restaurant Management aware of your comments on the tea service and appropriate measures were taken to avoid such occurrences in the future. We very much value your patronage and hope to have an opportunity to re-establish ourselves with you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This review deals mostly with the Sunday brunch that certainly has put the Biltmore on the Miami map in regard to this popular phenomenon. The food is spectacular and the wide choice of high quality dishes is simply beyond comparison, even for other hotels on this level. The service however left me wondering, because even at a normal restaurant you are likely to receive better service. No less than eight times did we have to ask for cutlery, even when we were seated since we noticed that the table had only been set half way it seems. Such mistakes can happen anywhere of course, shouldn't happen at the Biltmore, but in the end we had to ask for cutlery eight times. Service was friendly and professional apart from that. But when gratitude of 18% is included on the bill, I expect the staff to deserve it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We apologize for the less than desired experience as it certainly isn't consistent with our normal standards. Please know that we have investigated the matter internally, and have taken measures to address the problem with the appropriate department managers. We are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved and we will be using the information as part of our ongoing staff training, in order to prevent future occurrences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at the Biltmore because a friend chose that hotel as the location of their wedding. The hotel was spectacular to look at - it was amazing and I loved that it was so historic. The service was amazing from the moment we walked through the door. The grounds were well manicured and the pool was huge (although it was December and a bit cold). We did rent a car and drove off site to eat, as the food was pretty pricey.
The wedding was amazing - they have a great facilities for events. I don't know that we would stay there again as it is not in our budget - but we had a great time.
You have to appreciate the Biltmore to stay here - if you are going to complain about a peeling tub or just that it has an older feel, it might not be for you. You have to appreciate the history - although, it is a very beautiful place (it isn't ratty and old).

Room Tip: Ask for a good view - we had a view of the golf course, however, we also were right above the receiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable - and we promise that the pool water will be warmer next visit, as our new pool heater will be installed very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Splendia, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.