We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super, super staff but old world charm needs new world changes.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Summerville, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super, super staff but old world charm needs new world changes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just returned today 12/19 from a four day stay at the Biltmore. Staff was the best, especially Alex at the 19th hole. Please, please follow the competition (Ritz and Trump Hotels) and install coffee makers in the room or at least a big urn on each floor. No one wants to travel to the cellar for a morning cup of joe and while you're at it, maybe small refrigerators in each room?

It's a splendid hotel with the best ever staff but I I'm sure many guests would prefer that first cup in their PJs rather than have to dress, shave, etc., etc. before that first sip.

Room Tip: Ask if they will install a coffee maker in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with The Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    212
    91
    51
    23
See reviews for
247
303
38
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I went to a Gala Dinner at the Biltmore and decided to stay for the night to avoid drinking and driving. We received an upgrade to a Jr. Suite. The rooms are nice, this one had a good balcony and a living room. The bathrooms are huge.
Good service, very traditional Hotel, if you stay at the Biltmore don't miss the Sunday brunch which is one of the best in Miami, it is worth every penny!
Also the pool is amazing, is cold due is not heated but is very refreshing...
GOOD HOTEL to surprise your wife or girfriend!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
As a world-class luxury destination resort, The Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - and we're even more delighted to inform you that our world-renowned swimming pool is now heated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My daughter and I have been enjoying high tea at the Biltmore in Coral Gables florida for the past ten years. It seems that for the past 3 years both the food and the service has been steadily declining. It's a shame to have to write this since we are coral gables residents and the Biltmore is such an enchanting place to go. The quality of the tea sandwiches was poor and they claim to offer petit four but we were given biscuits instead. When we asked our server she didn't even know what petit four was.It was a very uneventful experience. Unless things change we will not return

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than favorable experience you had during your recent visit to enjoy Afternoon Tea with us at The Biltmore. I assure you that this matter is of grave concern, as we take great pride in our commitment to guest satisfaction. We have had recent changes in the Afternoon Tea staff, but we did make Restaurant Management aware of your comments on the tea service and appropriate measures were taken to avoid such occurrences in the future. We very much value your patronage and hope to have an opportunity to re-establish ourselves with you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This review deals mostly with the Sunday brunch that certainly has put the Biltmore on the Miami map in regard to this popular phenomenon. The food is spectacular and the wide choice of high quality dishes is simply beyond comparison, even for other hotels on this level. The service however left me wondering, because even at a normal restaurant you are likely to receive better service. No less than eight times did we have to ask for cutlery, even when we were seated since we noticed that the table had only been set half way it seems. Such mistakes can happen anywhere of course, shouldn't happen at the Biltmore, but in the end we had to ask for cutlery eight times. Service was friendly and professional apart from that. But when gratitude of 18% is included on the bill, I expect the staff to deserve it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We apologize for the less than desired experience as it certainly isn't consistent with our normal standards. Please know that we have investigated the matter internally, and have taken measures to address the problem with the appropriate department managers. We are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved and we will be using the information as part of our ongoing staff training, in order to prevent future occurrences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at the Biltmore because a friend chose that hotel as the location of their wedding. The hotel was spectacular to look at - it was amazing and I loved that it was so historic. The service was amazing from the moment we walked through the door. The grounds were well manicured and the pool was huge (although it was December and a bit cold). We did rent a car and drove off site to eat, as the food was pretty pricey.
The wedding was amazing - they have a great facilities for events. I don't know that we would stay there again as it is not in our budget - but we had a great time.
You have to appreciate the Biltmore to stay here - if you are going to complain about a peeling tub or just that it has an older feel, it might not be for you. You have to appreciate the history - although, it is a very beautiful place (it isn't ratty and old).

Room Tip: Ask for a good view - we had a view of the golf course, however, we also were right above the receiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable - and we promise that the pool water will be warmer next visit, as our new pool heater will be installed very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

this hotel looks like a grand old hotel in europe -- it has extensive manicured grounds -- it sits away from town in an old residential area of gracious style and charm -- the peach color and red tiles are very palm beach form an elegant era -- the concierge was like a price butler -- charming helpful and always remembers names of quests-- the food straightforward nothing funky and very generous -- staff knocked themselves out to help with any little issue-- even got a locksmith in the middle of the night to open our stuck locks on luggage no problem i did not want to leave --

Room Tip: get a room facing over the pool on upper floor and watch the sun sink
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I am glad to have stayed at this historic hotel. My last trips to Miami this hotel was not open to the public yet.

Because I stayed here it was easy to visit Vizcaya on the way there and then the Fairchild Tropical Gardens on my way out.

The pool was cold when I was there so I did not avail myself of the resort which I was charged $20 a day for anyways. They should add a hot tub to the grounds and perhaps heat the pool a bit to make it far more alluring, especially since it is not close to the ocean like plenty of other hotels not far away.

The art work on the grouds for Art Basel '13 fit very well in their setting.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, The Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - and we're equally delighted to report that our new pool heater will be installed very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.