We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most character of any Miami resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The most character of any Miami resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Pros: This is a beautiful, interesting, fully renovated, former military hospital tucked away in Coral Gables. Stay here if you like history, architecture and quirky touches as much as luxury. You will find it all.

Cons: the 18% service charge that is calculated on the taxed amount and added as printed line item on every receipt. Gratuity is OPTIONAL by definition and that 18% amount should be a guide on the left column of the receipt, not a printed line item on the right column.

Every server and bartender we encountered was male and every front desk person was female. The vibe this creates is sexist and very retro-in-a-bad-way.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable. And please note that we do have male front desk agents, as well as female servers and bartenders, as federal law requires of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    240
    102
    52
    26
See reviews for
266
336
42
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This hotel is a glorious homage to Frank Lloyd Wright's genius. The period details seem to me (non-architect, non-historical buff) authentic, & you can see why his legacy endures. Service, food--all great!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at The Biltmore soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We just returned from a birthday weekend at the Biltmore. The hotel itself is gorgeous, the pool is one of the nicest I've seen, the service was fantastic. We stayed in one of the tower suites. Here's the lowdown: the bed was uber comfortable and the view was stunning...panoramic view of the city and ocean in the background. The room itself was kinda bland. There was a balcony with no chairs on it...what's up with that?! The BIGGEST problem for me was the bathroom. It was very big with absolutely NO place to put your stuff. I had to leave all my toiletries in bags on the floor. I just don't get it. Women need counter space and there was plenty of room for this. At the price we paid I would expect details such as this not to be overlooked. When you have to get ready out of bags every day, it really kills the relaxed feeling you want in a luxury hotel. I also HIGHLY recommend that if you do stay in the tower, get your own ice on the 6th floor. We waited almost an hour for room service to bring us a bucket at 5 pm on Friday. (Tower is on the 14th floor and, obviously, no ice here). No ice for an hour during happy hour did not start the trip off right and they did not tell us we could get our own until we complained about the delay....they should have given us the option up front. Lastly, they were filming some kind of TV show that went on until 2 in the morning both nights we were there. Fortunately, I wear ear plugs to sleep, but DH does not and this kept him up both nights. Ask before booking if they are filming, apparently this happens a lot at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are appreciative of your sincere feedback and will certainly address the bathroom counter issue you mentioned. We regret that our service completely failed to meet your expectations, especially regarding the night time production shoot, as The Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status. Please know that, while we do have production shoots on property from time to time, it is rare that filming takes place over night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Biltmore Hotel in August 2013. We went many times in Miami and Florida but it was the first time at the Biltmore Hotel. The Biltmore Hotel is a really luxury Hotel in the area of Coral Gables ! Once you enter the lobby you should be prepared to the Biltmore magical atmosphere ! The garden is fantastic with beautiful fountains, palm trees and flowers and the pool area is amazing. The room is elegant, quiet, confortable and very clean. Breakfast at the Fontana’s was perfect! The best omlette I have ever eaten ! The staff was very helpful and friendly and they consider every guest like a VIP.
Our stay at Biltmore was short but looking forward to our next trip to this beautiful hotel. If you want South Beach nightlife, this is not the right place for you, but if you want a great hospitality experience in Miami, the Biltmore is perfect. Highly recommended ! (sorry if my English is not perfect but I am not English mother tongue).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with The Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us - which we understood perfectly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Let's cut to the chase... The very pretty and lush grounds, gorgeous architecture, and well maintained common areas throughout this grand vintage resort can't make-up for the HUGE problem that exists with the MILDEW that reeks in the various rooms and suites. We tried 4 rooms and they all smelled terrible. Management claims that it's due to the fact that it's an "old building" as if that's supposed to feel charming and acceptable. Very strange indeed. The building is circa 1920 but anyone who is well travelled and has stayed in centuries old hotels knows that's simply untrue and not the cause for the hideous build up of noxious odor due to poor construction and maintenance. A serious abatement program should be initiated asap..!

Room Tip: look elsewhere or sleep by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
South Florida’s warm, sub-tropical climate is considered the primary attraction for many of the area’s visitors. As is typical in sub-tropical regions, South Florida is subject periodically to high humid conditions to which some visitors are more sensitive than others. Please know that we have investigated the matter internally, and have taken measures to address the problems. We very much value your patronage and hope to have an opportunity to re-establish ourselves with you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Arrival - departure, you could not ask for anything more. It was a true joy to experience this property. Service with knowledge and a smile. Such beautiful surroundings every place you looked. Room comfort A++++++, every staff member made you feel like a valued guest. I was only there for a long weekend but would love to go back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
At The Biltmore, our desire is to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable – we’re very pleased we exceeded expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The service starts at curbside, and continues throughout. Bellman who showed us to our room was very personable and knowledgable. Felt like royalty. The building and grounds are stunning. Turndown service with slippers and a full ice bucket for our wine greeted us after dinner. Beautiful and perfect for our anniversary.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We like to describe The Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort for your wedding anniversary. Our very best wishes to you both on this special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.