We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Biltomore Hotel: love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
233 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“The Biltomore Hotel: love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Biltmore Hotel in August 2013. We went many times in Miami and Florida but it was the first time at the Biltmore Hotel. The Biltmore Hotel is a really luxury Hotel in the area of Coral Gables ! Once you enter the lobby you should be prepared to the Biltmore magical atmosphere ! The garden is fantastic with beautiful fountains, palm trees and flowers and the pool area is amazing. The room is elegant, quiet, confortable and very clean. Breakfast at the Fontana’s was perfect! The best omlette I have ever eaten ! The staff was very helpful and friendly and they consider every guest like a VIP.
Our stay at Biltmore was short but looking forward to our next trip to this beautiful hotel. If you want South Beach nightlife, this is not the right place for you, but if you want a great hospitality experience in Miami, the Biltmore is perfect. Highly recommended ! (sorry if my English is not perfect but I am not English mother tongue).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with The Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us - which we understood perfectly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    291
    124
    61
    33
See reviews for
319
397
47
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Let's cut to the chase... The very pretty and lush grounds, gorgeous architecture, and well maintained common areas throughout this grand vintage resort can't make-up for the HUGE problem that exists with the MILDEW that reeks in the various rooms and suites. We tried 4 rooms and they all smelled terrible. Management claims that it's due to the fact that it's an "old building" as if that's supposed to feel charming and acceptable. Very strange indeed. The building is circa 1920 but anyone who is well travelled and has stayed in centuries old hotels knows that's simply untrue and not the cause for the hideous build up of noxious odor due to poor construction and maintenance. A serious abatement program should be initiated asap..!

Room Tip: look elsewhere or sleep by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
South Florida’s warm, sub-tropical climate is considered the primary attraction for many of the area’s visitors. As is typical in sub-tropical regions, South Florida is subject periodically to high humid conditions to which some visitors are more sensitive than others. Please know that we have investigated the matter internally, and have taken measures to address the problems. We very much value your patronage and hope to have an opportunity to re-establish ourselves with you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Arrival - departure, you could not ask for anything more. It was a true joy to experience this property. Service with knowledge and a smile. Such beautiful surroundings every place you looked. Room comfort A++++++, every staff member made you feel like a valued guest. I was only there for a long weekend but would love to go back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
At The Biltmore, our desire is to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable – we’re very pleased we exceeded expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The service starts at curbside, and continues throughout. Bellman who showed us to our room was very personable and knowledgable. Felt like royalty. The building and grounds are stunning. Turndown service with slippers and a full ice bucket for our wine greeted us after dinner. Beautiful and perfect for our anniversary.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We like to describe The Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort for your wedding anniversary. Our very best wishes to you both on this special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I am able to come to Coral Gables about once a year. I love The Biltmore! You will not find a nicer hotel property in this area of Miami. The staff is always so nice. The room, pool, spa are top notch. One of the great features is that they offer self parking. I love the ability of parking my rental car myself & not paying exorbitant fees for parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. This positive feedback is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nj
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Loved the lobby and old world charm of the place and overall, happy smiling people all over the hotel, so extra points for that. Here's what didn't work for me:

o I have meds that need a frozen pack to keep them at correct temp. With no freezer in room, I asked front desk if they could store it overnight. Sure they said, "that will be a storage cost of $30 each night"! I was actually in shock and after a bit of back and forth with a manager, they stored my meds for no cost, but come on guys, I've stayed at a Holiday Inn that would never have given me any lip about costs for this.

o The desk setup in the rooms is almost nonfunctional. Small pullout desk like you may have experienced when you were about 6 yrs of age, but not so much when you have real work to do.

o There was a rather funky smell in the room like you were in a basement...a REAL turnoff.

o We had a pullout bed for my son who was sleeping in the same room as us. Unfortunately, the AC is one of those that's either full on or full off and if we wanted to stay cool, it meant freezing him out because the AC ducts were blowing directly on him and no way to redirect the flow of air.

o We ate at the 19th hole overlooking the golf course and had one of the worst meals I've had in my life...fish tacos and salsa appetizer. The fish tacos actually bear ZERO resemblance to a fish taco...made in some sort of tasteless wrap and barely edible. We also order chips and salsa which set us back $8 and was quite literally a tablespoon of salsa, one tablespoon of guacamole and one of sour cream. Basically 8 chips of dipping or let's just say $1 per bite for salsa??!!

Don't get me wrong, with a few tweaks, I would have moved to 4 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. Rest assured that we have investigated the matter internally, and have taken measures to address the problems with the appropriate department managers. We are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved and we will be using the information as part of our ongoing staff training, in order to prevent future occurrences. We very much value your patronage and hope to have an opportunity to re-establish ourselves with you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very cool pool, rooms tastefully done. Very nice change from the glitz and glitter of the Miami Beach hotels. Loved learning the history of the place from the very nice staff. Spa was very nice. The Italian restaurant,food was excellent as was the service and ambience sitting outside was very nice as well . Pool service could have been better, but other than that we had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: High floor facing the pool/ golf course for a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at The Biltmore soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.