We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRETTY.....STINKY!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
nyc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“PRETTY.....STINKY!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Let's cut to the chase... The very pretty and lush grounds, gorgeous architecture, and well maintained common areas throughout this grand vintage resort can't make-up for the HUGE problem that exists with the MILDEW that reeks in the various rooms and suites. We tried 4 rooms and they all smelled terrible. Management claims that it's due to the fact that it's an "old building" as if that's supposed to feel charming and acceptable. Very strange indeed. The building is circa 1920 but anyone who is well travelled and has stayed in centuries old hotels knows that's simply untrue and not the cause for the hideous build up of noxious odor due to poor construction and maintenance. A serious abatement program should be initiated asap..!

Room Tip: look elsewhere or sleep by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
South Florida’s warm, sub-tropical climate is considered the primary attraction for many of the area’s visitors. As is typical in sub-tropical regions, South Florida is subject periodically to high humid conditions to which some visitors are more sensitive than others. Please know that we have investigated the matter internally, and have taken measures to address the problems. We very much value your patronage and hope to have an opportunity to re-establish ourselves with you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    518
    199
    86
    48
    22
See reviews for
233
288
35
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Arrival - departure, you could not ask for anything more. It was a true joy to experience this property. Service with knowledge and a smile. Such beautiful surroundings every place you looked. Room comfort A++++++, every staff member made you feel like a valued guest. I was only there for a long weekend but would love to go back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
At The Biltmore, our desire is to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable – we’re very pleased we exceeded expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The service starts at curbside, and continues throughout. Bellman who showed us to our room was very personable and knowledgable. Felt like royalty. The building and grounds are stunning. Turndown service with slippers and a full ice bucket for our wine greeted us after dinner. Beautiful and perfect for our anniversary.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We like to describe The Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort for your wedding anniversary. Our very best wishes to you both on this special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City usa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I am able to come to Coral Gables about once a year. I love The Biltmore! You will not find a nicer hotel property in this area of Miami. The staff is always so nice. The room, pool, spa are top notch. One of the great features is that they offer self parking. I love the ability of parking my rental car myself & not paying exorbitant fees for parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. This positive feedback is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Loved the lobby and old world charm of the place and overall, happy smiling people all over the hotel, so extra points for that. Here's what didn't work for me:

o I have meds that need a frozen pack to keep them at correct temp. With no freezer in room, I asked front desk if they could store it overnight. Sure they said, "that will be a storage cost of $30 each night"! I was actually in shock and after a bit of back and forth with a manager, they stored my meds for no cost, but come on guys, I've stayed at a Holiday Inn that would never have given me any lip about costs for this.

o The desk setup in the rooms is almost nonfunctional. Small pullout desk like you may have experienced when you were about 6 yrs of age, but not so much when you have real work to do.

o There was a rather funky smell in the room like you were in a basement...a REAL turnoff.

o We had a pullout bed for my son who was sleeping in the same room as us. Unfortunately, the AC is one of those that's either full on or full off and if we wanted to stay cool, it meant freezing him out because the AC ducts were blowing directly on him and no way to redirect the flow of air.

o We ate at the 19th hole overlooking the golf course and had one of the worst meals I've had in my life...fish tacos and salsa appetizer. The fish tacos actually bear ZERO resemblance to a fish taco...made in some sort of tasteless wrap and barely edible. We also order chips and salsa which set us back $8 and was quite literally a tablespoon of salsa, one tablespoon of guacamole and one of sour cream. Basically 8 chips of dipping or let's just say $1 per bite for salsa??!!

Don't get me wrong, with a few tweaks, I would have moved to 4 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. Rest assured that we have investigated the matter internally, and have taken measures to address the problems with the appropriate department managers. We are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved and we will be using the information as part of our ongoing staff training, in order to prevent future occurrences. We very much value your patronage and hope to have an opportunity to re-establish ourselves with you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very cool pool, rooms tastefully done. Very nice change from the glitz and glitter of the Miami Beach hotels. Loved learning the history of the place from the very nice staff. Spa was very nice. The Italian restaurant,food was excellent as was the service and ambience sitting outside was very nice as well . Pool service could have been better, but other than that we had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: High floor facing the pool/ golf course for a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at The Biltmore soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The old school for hospitality :biltmore, but with a young touch , not dusty, but very clear and fresh,poolrestaurant excellent lunch, cold drinks, nice waitress, the bed fall in and sleep! Cleanest bathrooms, linen
and carpet, there is a pricetag, but worth any penny, you really get what you pay for, thank you excellent!

Room Tip: A little higher and you have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.