We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapionting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Lichfield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disapionting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Looking for some where while on a quick trip to Miami both my husband and I loved the sound of this hotel; and when we got a good deal on a B & B basis we booked it. The reason for the great deal was because it was July and no one goes to Miami in July - it’s too hot. On arrival we were shown to our room, very pleasant BUT the windows looked out on to a wall not 3m from the window. When we asked to be moved we then given a room overlooking the courtyard and with a partial view of the golf course. This second room was much smaller than the first; so down to the reception again. This time we were given a nice big room with a good view. Why oh why didn’t we get that room first. The hotel was not busy and our stay and opinion is now tainted by this experience.
The B & B was in fact a $40 credit each day and as the buffet was $19.00 each before tax we thought it a bit mean. That said the staff were great but will we go back. NO

  • Liked — Staircase and lift for this wing right into the reception area
  • Disliked — Having to walk through reception to get to pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2008
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We extend every effort possible to resolve guests' issues related to their hotel experience when these concerns are brought directly to our attention.

Biltmore Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    201
    81
    48
    22
See reviews for
223
278
35
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed here for a wedding and had a great weekend. The service was excellent and we had a junior suite with plenty of room. The gym is a full service that is also used by locals with memberships. It is very big and has plenty of room to accommodate. There were numerous machines and also a free weight room. The pool looks great in pictures but even more spectacular in person. I also played the golf course and it was better than I expected.
The Miracle Mile is only 5 minutes away so make sure and check out the restaurants and shops over there...There are a few really good bookstores to find something to read by the pool. Enjoy

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

I stayed at the Biltmore from July 6-8. I am going to break down the review by categories.

Service- The service here is impeccable. Everyone from the bellmen, front desk, concierge, room attendants’ and pool staff. They delivered the best. I was a bit apprehensive at first but, these people are highly trained and can just pick up on stuff. For example, if you are a more laid back, down to earth person, they are very personable and joke around. I also, saw them deliver on the other end of the spectrum and were very professional in etiquette and demeanor.

I was out strolling the grounds one night with my one year old and we got caught in a rain shower. Magically, someone appeared with a towel for the little guy! It really was just a few sprinkles but, they were right there. They also brought up milk for him one evening. All of this without even being asked!

They followed up with a phone call when I requested the crib and extra towels just to make sure that they had arrived.

Room- We had a junior suite with 2 beds and a sitting area. We had more than enough room to walk around, even with the crib and stroller in the room. The bathroom was very nice and clean. I am very anal about putting the baby in a dirty bath tub and walking around with out slippers on in a hotel room but, I never had any problems here.

Sheets and linens were clean and the beds were very comfortable. It looked like they had some sort of a mattress topper on top of the mattress.

They did turn down service both nights. Special treats were delivered to our room daily, one day fruit and wine and another day Bailey’s and chocolates.

Pool- I LOVED the pool here. It was big enough that I could find a spot where I would not bother any one who was not child friendly. The pool attendants’ were very attentive and always stopped to say hi and give a high five to the baby. We usually went to the pool in the early morning or later in the day so we never had an issue getting a great spot. I loved going down early in the morning and watching the birds eat the nuts or whatever they are fall from the trees, as well as the lizards running around. Around mid-day they had a live band playing by the pool side restaurant. I never reserved a cabana but, I did go in one to look around and they just looked so relaxing and serene. I don’t believe that at any one time more than one was being used.

Grounds- The grounds were beautiful. We saw a couple of weddings going on and they let me peek in on the ballroom that they were using for the dinner. It was so beautiful with the table arrangements and candles lit. 5 star all the way!

The hotel architecturally was breathtaking. It sort of reminded me of the Tower of Terror ride at Disney one night when it was lighting really bad out. The grounds were always well kept and there was constant grounds keeping going on. There is so much history to the hotel and the decorators did not miss a thing. Everything flowed together perfectly. From the light fixtures to the paintings.

Clientele- I was really surprised by the wide range of people staying here. From wealthy to just everyday middle class people. Everyone was very respectful of one’s space and help doors open if someone had there hands full.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. In fact I highly recommend you try it out!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Can't really think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

I stayed at the Biltmore as a result of attending a wedding there. This is a beautiful classic hotel and I would stay there again. This is a nice place for relaxing weekend getaway . The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I ever slept in the the shower had the best water pressure. It was a spa like experience for me. The entire place has a nice comforting ambience.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — not very close to the beach
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Amazing building where we were allocated a small junior suite for our four day stay. The fittings and fixtures where in good condition and of a high quality and the hotel was neat and clean .

Be aware that the Biltmore Country Club shares the swimming pool, which although I understand makes economic sense , it makes the pool overcrowded on weekends. There were no sun beds or towels available for us on the Saturday so we went to the Venetian Pools instead. Pool service is rubbish when we did eventually get a space on the Sunday afternoon , we were ignored for two and a half hours as the pool boys who busily fawned over the regular country club guest showering them with menus, towels, extra towels, umbrellas ,glasses of free iced water and iced towels. Also there was a party of teenage country club guests intent on shattering the sound barrier with their constant screeching. So may be not the best place to try to relax if you are used to quality hotels with exclusive pool use and excellents service ( The Regent Beverly Wiltshire, Phonecian and Santa Demenico Plaza to name some of excellent examples).

(TIP. If the pool guys ignore you and you get really thirsty try the coffee shop in the lower lobby, you will save $20 on two coffees.)

But If we thought the pool service was snooty just just wait till you try the restaurant , la Fontana. Although the food and waiting staff were excellent the management , a junior maitre'd in particular ,displayed sufficient sarcasm to potentially ruin the dining experience. However we chose to ignore them and let the wonderful waiters and chefs take care of us. If you want a friendly welcome , go to Denny's .

(TIP. Although it is not strictly enforced the managment think it would be "nice" for other diners if gentlemen did not were shorts in the restaurant however ill fitting JC Penny suits obvously were welcomed )

Its very difficult to rate this hotel as on the one hand some things are really great for example some staff go out of the way to help and are keen to ensure you are needs are being met ,the house keeper for example .Other staff don't even scrape 1 star , clearly just interested in tips and who ever heard of a hotel running out of towels? It creates a sinister atmosphere when you know you are obliged to "flash the cash" to get the service you have already paid for !!!

Try is on a weekday when its less crowded and take your own vital supplies to the pool. Try the restaurant because although you will have to endure the sarcasm and lack of sincereity of the maitre'Duhs the menus is well worth sampling.

  • Liked — The experience of staying in a historic architectural masterpiece
  • Disliked — The Junior Maitre'd in the restaurant
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Stayed here for a couple of nights because my usual Miami hotels were booked.

The hotel itself is a beautiful piece of architecture that is part of the National register of Historical Places. They have tended the property well and the orery shows little sign of its age.

Rooms were spacious, and decently furnished. TVs were old style tube TVs, and phones needed some cleaning. Bathrooms were clean but had a funny smell, probably from the shower curtain which had not been replaced in a while.

Check in and check out were quick, and guest services, be it house keeping or room services, were responsive.

There are no restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, so your food options are limited to what is served in the hotel.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Ala.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

We recently visited South Florida on vacation and stayed at the Breakers in Palm Beach. It was a terrible experience so we checked out and went to the Biltmore in Coral Gables. Service was wonderful and the hotel is beautiful. Food and service were great. Nearby restaurants are great and we plan to return again and again.
Staying here was very relaxing. The Staff was all freindly, unlike the Breakers where they were mostly rude.
The only downside was the amount of pool chairs seems to be limited due to space. But, they really hustle and try to help.
The room was very nice and configured with a separate room with a sofa and TV and a bedroom. Very nice.
The gym is very nice.
We are planning to return again in the winter.
While we were there, John McCain came to stay one night and do a fundraiser, but there was no inconvenience to the guests.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Splendia, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.