We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but fails to be great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good, but fails to be great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

When I booked my stay at the Biltmore, my expectations were high as the hotel and reputation allows for. The first impression was a bad one. Although I paid a supplement to have a room with view on the golf green, I got one with view on the back garbage of the kitchen, plus 2 big aircos so noisy that I couldn't sleep. In such an hotel, you couldn't even imagine that such rooms do exist. But... the reception desk did the best to move me in another room so that I got another one the second day. Here the feeling was very different with a nice room and view on both the golf and the swimming pool.

My second and biggest disappointment came from the swimming pool. The biggest in Florida for sure, but the smallest area for transats and the worst service ever. A 3.00 PM, no transats and no towels anymore. Fresh towels did arrive at 5.00 PM. In the meantime, a real chaos of transats and durty towels everywhere. The following day, being at the swimming pool at 8.30PM, no towels yet. I -and many other people- had to wait 30 minutes before the first towels were available.
I have seen several other reviews pointing out the same issues, with a comment from the GM telling that it was a busy week-end. So what ? Never heard about planning and anticipation, Sir? This is the basis of good management. I have been in many bigger hotels in my life, and never saw such a disorganized and badly managed swimming pool.
Now, this is a real pity as the Biltmore is a nice hotel with unbelievable architecture and history, and superb service (top rating for the outstanding reception, concierge and valet service). But small details make big differences, high time to seriously re-think the organization and staff of the swimming pool to move from good to great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We regret that your stay failed to meet your expectations with regards to service at the pool: we are reviewing the staffing levels and operating hours of the pool and supporting departments in order to meet guest expectations. We are also increasing staff training hours in order to improve customer service and special request handling. We appreciate the time you took to share these concerns. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    201
    81
    48
    22
See reviews for
222
278
35
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sarasota FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is truly a grand hotel from the past where a renovation preserved the historical atmosphere of the early 1900's. I believe it was a veterans' hospital before the city purchased and is managed by a private investor.
It is primarily a conference and wedding venue with at least 3 weddings on my recent weekend and lots of merry noise near our room. The other hotel guests were 90% from abroad.

Our room was the big disappointment and we had an "upgrade" to a suite. It was tiny! Also the sofa had a large stain going down one cushion of wine? or blood? They were totally booked our weekend so no room change possible. We had to ask for our towels to be changed and the room was not cleaned by staff. I think this was because room cleaning is only offered in the a.m. and we were late risers.

But on to the excellent part.....the food. It was grand hotel food so rare today in a hotel. There were fresh baked breads and delicious pastries, I recommend the breakfast buffet. I was impressed by the small things in the dining room....real European-style butter from VT Butter and Cheese, genuine VT maple syrup, fantastic smoked bacon and an outstanding gruyere cheese omelette and of course excellent service ( all guests pay a 18% gratuity on food and separate resort fee daily. i We could not get a reservation to the new highly acclaimed French restaurant complete with famous French chef. It is considered one of Miami's finest dining experiences. So if you stay here reserve before your visit.

I would say the wait and guest staff to be above average. When in Miami again I would stay at another hotel and eat here when possible because of room size and hotel too busy with big events.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are appreciative of your sincere feedback and will certainly address the related issues with our Housekeeping Department. In regard to accommodations, the majority of our rooms are spacious and well appointed; however, as is common with historically designated properties, there are a handful of rooms that are undersized, and if we are fully complete, we cannot move guests to larger accommodations, but we did address appropriate concessions with guests who were affected. We would welcome an opportunity to personally address these issues with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We just had a wonderful weekend at The Biltmore. It was like staying in a museum: just gorgeous lobbies, antique Spanish tiles, fountains, gardens, patios and columns... and of course, that pool! The service is subtle and excellent. Our small dog was welcome, too. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, The Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

After 24 years of visiting and travelling across Florida we came across the Biltmore. An old grand hotel with design and features that cannot be replicated today. Magnificent Venetian swimming pool - as large and imposing as I have ever seen. The service we received matched the surroundings - first class. Great restaurants that serve excellent food - not cheap,but fair given the quality. Fantastic fitness facilities and original 1926 golf course.
The staff consistently left you feeling that you where a special person. All of my family - wife, two teenage girls and Grandma loved this hotel. I honestly cannot fault our experience and I am already recommending it to people. We will return as these imposing hotels are few and far flung. We paid the same to stay here as we did to stay at a very good Hampton Inn in the Keys. Go back in time and spoil yourself. Sunday Brunch is apparently nationally renowned - we missed it but would have gone for the five courses! You must book this in advance

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback, as we pride itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of the hotel's luxury status. The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property, known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable - please do come back to experience our Sunday Champagne Brunch during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I am at the Biltmore as I write. I arrived with my family coming from a long trip. Got to the hotel at around 2 PM. Check-in is at 3 PM. We have been waiting for our room. Waiting. Waiting. 3 pm was over 1 hour ago. Kids have been wanting to go to the pool and we keep on waiting. It's another 15 minutes. Another 15. Now it's another 10. No, now is 2 minutes. And here we are, waiting at the lobby. 5 stars??? It's a joke, right?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback and regret that our check-in service did not completely meet your expectations. The Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status. We have dealt with the particular personnel involved and are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved to prevent future occurrences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a lovely experience to stay at the Biltmore! The service is top drawer and seamless in the staff's desire to please. Rooms are updated and comfortable. Be sure to eat in the beautiful
Fontana Resturant for breakfast. Varied menu in an atmosphere so restful with it's courtyard and flowing fountain. The pool is overlooked by the beautiful architecture of days gone by. Please be advise the wireless is very slow, but it in bodies past times. Great golf course!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback, as The Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A stunningly beautiful hotel with one of the most accomodating staffs you'll ever find. Any meal in the courtyard is a treat but nothing tops that Sunday brunch -- extraordinary! My only recommendation (and I know I'm not the first to say this), an extended sunning area is needed with access to the pool -- there's just not enough chairs or area for a hotel this size. And everyone wants a chance to experience this incredible pool!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LHW, Travelocity, Splendia, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.