We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great things here and things to consider before you stay.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
sarasota FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great things here and things to consider before you stay.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is truly a grand hotel from the past where a renovation preserved the historical atmosphere of the early 1900's. I believe it was a veterans' hospital before the city purchased and is managed by a private investor.
It is primarily a conference and wedding venue with at least 3 weddings on my recent weekend and lots of merry noise near our room. The other hotel guests were 90% from abroad.

Our room was the big disappointment and we had an "upgrade" to a suite. It was tiny! Also the sofa had a large stain going down one cushion of wine? or blood? They were totally booked our weekend so no room change possible. We had to ask for our towels to be changed and the room was not cleaned by staff. I think this was because room cleaning is only offered in the a.m. and we were late risers.

But on to the excellent part.....the food. It was grand hotel food so rare today in a hotel. There were fresh baked breads and delicious pastries, I recommend the breakfast buffet. I was impressed by the small things in the dining room....real European-style butter from VT Butter and Cheese, genuine VT maple syrup, fantastic smoked bacon and an outstanding gruyere cheese omelette and of course excellent service ( all guests pay a 18% gratuity on food and separate resort fee daily. i We could not get a reservation to the new highly acclaimed French restaurant complete with famous French chef. It is considered one of Miami's finest dining experiences. So if you stay here reserve before your visit.

I would say the wait and guest staff to be above average. When in Miami again I would stay at another hotel and eat here when possible because of room size and hotel too busy with big events.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are appreciative of your sincere feedback and will certainly address the related issues with our Housekeeping Department. In regard to accommodations, the majority of our rooms are spacious and well appointed; however, as is common with historically designated properties, there are a handful of rooms that are undersized, and if we are fully complete, we cannot move guests to larger accommodations, but we did address appropriate concessions with guests who were affected. We would welcome an opportunity to personally address these issues with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    272
    119
    58
    32
See reviews for
303
379
45
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
key west
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We just had a wonderful weekend at The Biltmore. It was like staying in a museum: just gorgeous lobbies, antique Spanish tiles, fountains, gardens, patios and columns... and of course, that pool! The service is subtle and excellent. Our small dog was welcome, too. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, The Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

After 24 years of visiting and travelling across Florida we came across the Biltmore. An old grand hotel with design and features that cannot be replicated today. Magnificent Venetian swimming pool - as large and imposing as I have ever seen. The service we received matched the surroundings - first class. Great restaurants that serve excellent food - not cheap,but fair given the quality. Fantastic fitness facilities and original 1926 golf course.
The staff consistently left you feeling that you where a special person. All of my family - wife, two teenage girls and Grandma loved this hotel. I honestly cannot fault our experience and I am already recommending it to people. We will return as these imposing hotels are few and far flung. We paid the same to stay here as we did to stay at a very good Hampton Inn in the Keys. Go back in time and spoil yourself. Sunday Brunch is apparently nationally renowned - we missed it but would have gone for the five courses! You must book this in advance

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback, as we pride itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of the hotel's luxury status. The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property, known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable - please do come back to experience our Sunday Champagne Brunch during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I am at the Biltmore as I write. I arrived with my family coming from a long trip. Got to the hotel at around 2 PM. Check-in is at 3 PM. We have been waiting for our room. Waiting. Waiting. 3 pm was over 1 hour ago. Kids have been wanting to go to the pool and we keep on waiting. It's another 15 minutes. Another 15. Now it's another 10. No, now is 2 minutes. And here we are, waiting at the lobby. 5 stars??? It's a joke, right?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback and regret that our check-in service did not completely meet your expectations. The Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status. We have dealt with the particular personnel involved and are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved to prevent future occurrences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a lovely experience to stay at the Biltmore! The service is top drawer and seamless in the staff's desire to please. Rooms are updated and comfortable. Be sure to eat in the beautiful
Fontana Resturant for breakfast. Varied menu in an atmosphere so restful with it's courtyard and flowing fountain. The pool is overlooked by the beautiful architecture of days gone by. Please be advise the wireless is very slow, but it in bodies past times. Great golf course!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback, as The Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A stunningly beautiful hotel with one of the most accomodating staffs you'll ever find. Any meal in the courtyard is a treat but nothing tops that Sunday brunch -- extraordinary! My only recommendation (and I know I'm not the first to say this), an extended sunning area is needed with access to the pool -- there's just not enough chairs or area for a hotel this size. And everyone wants a chance to experience this incredible pool!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Biltmore for several years now visiting our son at The University of Miami, and have always been big fans of this beautiful and gracious historic hotel full of the best modern amenities. The pool, fitness center, restaurants are all top of the line, but service is a big part of an enjoyable stay too, so I had to write another review to highlight an experience I just had with Nick in reservations today. I have never had a better experience with hotel reservations anywhere in all the years I have travelled (quite a few). He found the best possible rate for me - better than any advertised - and also accommodated a couple of special requests. I encourage anyone seeking special treatment to utilize this outstanding young man's assistance. Truly the kind of thing that makes a hotel great!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at The Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially concerning our commitment to service.. We’re delighted you and your family enjoyed the hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#3 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.