We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the Biltmore in a mix Business/pleasure trip. The facilities are terrific. We felt as if we were somewhere outside of the states.
The service was terrific. The only reason I didn't rate the service a five was that one night we went to the outside bar about a half hour before closing. We couldn't get anyone to serve us. Once we went back inside the hotel we went to the lounge and the experience was great.

Our room was a terrace room on the sixth foor. It was amazing and made us want to stay longer

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback - and please know that we have passed your comments about the outside bar on to management to remedy the situation there. We look forward to seeing you again at the Biltmore soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    240
    102
    52
    26
See reviews for
266
336
42
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is an expectional hotel with great service. The rooms were super comfortable and the staff could not be better. The hotel offers many services including a culinary events on certain weekends it would seem like a blast to attend. THere fitness center is state of the art. Also, the food at their resturant is very good although it can be pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hotel Biltmore is an historic hotel and resort located in Coral Gables Florida. Built in 1926 and operating as a hotel and golf club until being converted during the war to a VA hospital, the Hotel Biltmore came back to life as a hotel in the 1980's. The pool is amazing, the largest I've ever seen. When you walk into the lobby you step back in time. It is definitey for the extravagant or splurge vacation. If that is what you are looking for then this is the place to go. It is an experience you will always treasure. I have stayed there a few times and each time I fully enjoy it. I come prepared to know I would be paying for the elegance and ambiance...so if that is not what you are looking for this would not be the place to go. There is a full spa, tennis, golf and several kinds of dining experiences. It is located in the heart of Coral Gables and a short drive to many of the top shoping spots in the area. It close to the airport as well. This trip I was there for a high school reunion and as usual the experience was fabulous.

Room Tip: The beds are probably the most comfortable I've ever encountered anywhere. The rooms are adequat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Our entire Biltmore team appreciates these kind words. It's always a pleasure to hear from our repeat guests. We look forward to your return and to delighting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Best bar in Miami!! Best bartender Gorancho!!! . Peach Mojito cocktails to die for! I don't think there is one place in Miami nor Ft.Lauderdale that can beat this place . I cant wait to go back.

Thanks Gorancho for the unforgettable night !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We're delighted that you enjoyed the service and drinks at the Biltmore Bar. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A friend who hails from Miami recommended I check out this hotel; on two recent visits, I was equally enchanted. 1926 construction (including design by the architects of Grand Central Station in NYC) and a great deal of history (please read up on this even if you are not a buff); gorgeous situation in a quiet area that seems far off the beaten path; the largest pool in the United States (must see to believe); great restaurants (the Italian restaurant, Fontana, has been superb both times I ate there); dramatic architecture, ornate lobby, 1930s-style elevator, large room that felt like an oasis; meticulous attention to detail at check-in. If you want South Beach, this is not it; if you want a European-style hospitality experience in Miami, a hotel you can check into and maybe not leave for days, look no further.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
It is always a pleasure to hear from our loyal repeat guests and know that their warm Biltmore experience keeps them returning year after year. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Thursday for a wedding, check in was simple and quick. Once we arrived in our room, our bags arrived shortly there after. The hotel is beautiful and quaint. We were treated with care our entire stay. The pool is beautiful and the waitstaff was exceptional. We had a three night stay and would have loved to stay longer. Check out was just as easy as check in, our taxi was there on time. Loved Loved our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I returned to the Biltmore Hotel two weeks ago, for a long weekend stay. I've written a prior review that generally lauds this resort hotel (probably can be found by clicking on my profile link). For now, a couple of additional comments:

- Fontana restaurant in the hotel's courtyard has an excellent breakfast buffet.

- on the main street of Coral Gables (about 2 miles away), we found Seasons 52 very good for one lunch; also, a short day/evening trip to the Florida Key "Islamorada" brought us to a another great restaurant - Marker 88 - that, if in that vicinity or up for the hour drive, has great food, music and exceptional sunset views - highly recommended!

- One major problem - this time at the hotel, there was a university graduation, and the poolside lounge chairs were mostly "reserved" by hotel guests, who first thing in the morning would place items on the lounge chairs so that they can lie on them later in the day. There were just not enough chairs AND the hotel policy is not to offer a chair that appears to be "reserved."

As a way around the problem, some guests simply decided to lie down in any unoccupied chair. Also – if asked – while not offering a reserved chair, the hotel would move an unoccupied chair to another location so that a guest can then lie down on it. Bottomline - the poolside staff tried to accommodate, though as you can see from several other reviews, they were not perfectly successful.

While I do not believe the situation is endemic or unique to Biltmore Hotel - the hotel has a huge pool and otherwise lots of lounge chairs – I think the hotel may want to consider its options – I'm guessing the hotel does not want to say no to a guest and does not want to involve itself in a dispute over lounge chairs (especially if it places "restrictions" on their use) At the end of the day, the problem is that when the hotel is fully booked, it may wind up with a lack of space to lay poolside. Perhaps, one idea is for the hotel to make sure that when it is fully booked that it provides complimentary entertainment, cocktails or food in other locations of the hotel to reduce the number of people seeking to lounge poolside during busy periods. My guest and I managed to find spots each day to lay poolside - however, I can understand how frustrating a stay it could have been had we not.

All in all, another great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for again posting your positive comments about your stay at The Biltmore, as well as your suggestions for our pool deck seating situation. As mentioned in previous posting responses, we have pool lounge chairs on order that will provide additional seating, and we will be addressing our pool access policy. We look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to The Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.