We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Manhattan, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I returned to the Biltmore Hotel two weeks ago, for a long weekend stay. I've written a prior review that generally lauds this resort hotel (probably can be found by clicking on my profile link). For now, a couple of additional comments:

- Fontana restaurant in the hotel's courtyard has an excellent breakfast buffet.

- on the main street of Coral Gables (about 2 miles away), we found Seasons 52 very good for one lunch; also, a short day/evening trip to the Florida Key "Islamorada" brought us to a another great restaurant - Marker 88 - that, if in that vicinity or up for the hour drive, has great food, music and exceptional sunset views - highly recommended!

- One major problem - this time at the hotel, there was a university graduation, and the poolside lounge chairs were mostly "reserved" by hotel guests, who first thing in the morning would place items on the lounge chairs so that they can lie on them later in the day. There were just not enough chairs AND the hotel policy is not to offer a chair that appears to be "reserved."

As a way around the problem, some guests simply decided to lie down in any unoccupied chair. Also – if asked – while not offering a reserved chair, the hotel would move an unoccupied chair to another location so that a guest can then lie down on it. Bottomline - the poolside staff tried to accommodate, though as you can see from several other reviews, they were not perfectly successful.

While I do not believe the situation is endemic or unique to Biltmore Hotel - the hotel has a huge pool and otherwise lots of lounge chairs – I think the hotel may want to consider its options – I'm guessing the hotel does not want to say no to a guest and does not want to involve itself in a dispute over lounge chairs (especially if it places "restrictions" on their use) At the end of the day, the problem is that when the hotel is fully booked, it may wind up with a lack of space to lay poolside. Perhaps, one idea is for the hotel to make sure that when it is fully booked that it provides complimentary entertainment, cocktails or food in other locations of the hotel to reduce the number of people seeking to lounge poolside during busy periods. My guest and I managed to find spots each day to lay poolside - however, I can understand how frustrating a stay it could have been had we not.

All in all, another great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for again posting your positive comments about your stay at The Biltmore, as well as your suggestions for our pool deck seating situation. As mentioned in previous posting responses, we have pool lounge chairs on order that will provide additional seating, and we will be addressing our pool access policy. We look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to The Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    240
    102
    52
    26
See reviews for
266
336
42
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at Biltmore for one night only as I was waiting for a house rental that was not available for that night.

Cons:
- the hotel rooms are really outdated and require renovation
- pricey for the quality offered
- extremely thick towels, almost a few centimeters of thickness, it may be a pro for British tourists, though...

Pros:
- pool
- quite neighborhood
- nice, historic building

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback and regret that the property failed to completely meet your expectations. The property is presently addressing a handful of lower category rooms that are scheduled for enhancement in the upcoming weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

wonderful building , excellent location ; front desk, concierge and other administrative staff however need to improve; restaurant palme d'or is certainly not worth the price both in terms of service and food. Waiters at breakfast deserve praise.

Room Tip: I prefer city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We appreciate the positive comments that you made about the property, and at the same time, we made Front Office management aware of your comments on the front office staff, so that appropriate measures could be taken to resolve the issues there. We were surprised to see the comments regarding cuisine quality in the Palme d'Or, as the restaurant has received top Zagat ratings in South Florida for six years running.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After staying at The Phoenician the previous weekend, we were excited to see what all the hype was about the Biltmore seeing they are comparable resorts. The Biltmore is obviously gliding along on its historic laurels.

Check -in: After waiting in a line 10 deep (front desk had 2 people), we checked in at 12 noon not expecting to receive a room since check in is 3pm and alas didn't receive one. Okay no problem. Off to the pool (see next paragraph). Went back after 3pm and waited in another line -- this time 15 deep (yes, I counted). Front desk had 1 person working. Ummm, what??? 25 minutes to get a key -- no kidding. FYI, Phoenician had 5 people working the desk during busy hours.

Pool: Yes, pool is huge. Lounging area is small and has inadequate number of chairs, although many more could be accommodated. Hey Biltmore, take a lesson from The Phoenician and have extra loungers/chairs stacked in out of the way areas and pull out as needed. Also, enforce a 1 or 2 hour rule for idle loungers. We sat next to one gentleman who was reserving 7 loungers of which 5 remained unused for the entire 4 hours we were at the pool. The Phoenician discreetly deters this behavior by taking whatever detritus you have saving your chairs after a couple of hours unused and stacks it near where you sitting, thus freeing up loungers for other guests. This system always leaves loungers available, even for those greedy entitled few. I witnessed firsthand the Biltmore's "run on chairs" beginning at 7:30am from our pool view room. By 8:30am ALL loungers are spoken for -- seriously ALL. The pool is well staffed and will offer to put a towel down on the concrete for your "comfort". So if sitting on a towel on concrete while sipping your $17 Pina Colada appeals to you, then the Biltmore is for you.

Bell service: Or lack of? Waited hours for one bag to show up at our room. Even though we had a claim check they couldn't "find it" for hours. Upon check-out we called down and asked for our bags to be brought down. The answer was "right away". Waited for 30 minutes for the no-show bellman. Decided to schlep our bags ourselves. As we stepped out of the elevators into the hotel lobby with bags in tow, we were swarmed by 3 bellmen offering to help us with our bags. Um...hello? What have they been doing for the last half hour?

Saving Grace: The one saving grace in our stay was room service. We ordered a late night dessert and it was delivered as promised, elegantly presented, and the best Creme Brulee we have ever tasted. For this reason only I give the Biltmore the third star.

Hard to come to Miami and NOT stay at The BIltmore at least once, but do yourself a favor and book one night there and the rest of your stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore. We regret that the experience did not completely meet your expectations. With regards to the comments you expressed about the pool seating, please know that we have additional pool lounge chairs on order that will provide additional seating, and that we will be addressing our pool access policy. We would like to encourage you to stay with us again the next time you are in Miami, and allow us the opportunity to demonstrate our true colors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I arrived in Miami this morning from New York thrilled to be out of the rainy, cold weather. After leaving on a seven o'clock flight, all I could think about was taking a nap next to the beautiful Biltmore pool that I had read about in numerous magazines. Imagine my dismay when I walked outside to find that ever single chair, lounge, inch of space around the pool was occupied. I spent three hours on a towel on the concrete in a tiny space between the bathroom and kitchen in a desperate attempt to get a little sun while waiting for the hotel to finish cleaning my room. The other patrons of the hotel were furious-I heard at least three people call concierge to complain about the lack of seating, lack of service, lack of anything remotely pleasant about the famous pool experience. Towels were left on chairs, food was left to sit in the sun and the pool was packed with drunk patrons. When I called to ask if my room was ready at 3pm as instructed, I was put on hold for 26 minutes. Every time I have tried to call concierge/front desk/housekeeping, I have been put on hold for at least five minutes. When they finally answer they are usually curt and unhelpful. The room is nice but you can hear every door in the hall opening and closing loudly. I travel roughly every other week for my job and spend a large part of my life in hotels and this place is TERRIBLE. I just got back to my room after a loong work event and just tried to call room service. phone rang for five minutes with no answer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than favorable experience you had during your recent stay with us. I assure you that this matter is of grave concern, as we take great pride in our commitment to guest satisfaction. We did experience unusual activity during the time you were here, which negatively impacted the environment. The pool area in particular was over populated which resulted in a less than desired setting. We have additional pool lounge chairs on order that will soon provide the pool area with additional seating, and we’ll have strict control of the pool access as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Long before South Beach was saved from the wrecking ball and went from cheap to chic, the Biltmore was and still is a genteel, calm respite away from the heavily trafficked streets of Miami Beach. The Biltmore is not on the beach, and that's part of its old world charm. Set on beautiful grounds in Coral Gables, the resort is a combination of old world lux hotel and country club. The lobby revisits an era that could easily be the setting for a Fitzgerald or Hemingway novel. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is legendary. There's tennis and golf, and the fitness center is the best I've ever seen in a hotel. The rooms are ok, nothing spectacular, but we didn't stay in a suite which may be nicer; however, the whole experience of the Biltmore makes up for any shortcomings of a standard room because the experience is anything but standard.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the golf course - better view - and try to upgrade to a better room that the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I got a conference held at this resort, so I stayed here for two nights. Service level is excellent, pool is gorgeous, and buildings are historical and well maintained. I enjoyed the town car service provided by the resort, so I got a chance to visit Village of Merrick Park (high end shopping plaza). The town car service is complimentary and within downtown range. I also enjoyed the morning jog around the area.

Room Tip: My room is facing downtown area, it's very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.