We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Coral Gables
Nyc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I arrived in Miami this morning from New York thrilled to be out of the rainy, cold weather. After leaving on a seven o'clock flight, all I could think about was taking a nap next to the beautiful Biltmore pool that I had read about in numerous magazines. Imagine my dismay when I walked outside to find that ever single chair, lounge, inch of space around the pool was occupied. I spent three hours on a towel on the concrete in a tiny space between the bathroom and kitchen in a desperate attempt to get a little sun while waiting for the hotel to finish cleaning my room. The other patrons of the hotel were furious-I heard at least three people call concierge to complain about the lack of seating, lack of service, lack of anything remotely pleasant about the famous pool experience. Towels were left on chairs, food was left to sit in the sun and the pool was packed with drunk patrons. When I called to ask if my room was ready at 3pm as instructed, I was put on hold for 26 minutes. Every time I have tried to call concierge/front desk/housekeeping, I have been put on hold for at least five minutes. When they finally answer they are usually curt and unhelpful. The room is nice but you can hear every door in the hall opening and closing loudly. I travel roughly every other week for my job and spend a large part of my life in hotels and this place is TERRIBLE. I just got back to my room after a loong work event and just tried to call room service. phone rang for five minutes with no answer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than favorable experience you had during your recent stay with us. I assure you that this matter is of grave concern, as we take great pride in our commitment to guest satisfaction. We did experience unusual activity during the time you were here, which negatively impacted the environment. The pool area in particular was over populated which resulted in a less than desired setting. We have additional pool lounge chairs on order that will soon provide the pool area with additional seating, and we’ll have strict control of the pool access as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    188
    73
    44
    21
See reviews for
207
261
34
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Long before South Beach was saved from the wrecking ball and went from cheap to chic, the Biltmore was and still is a genteel, calm respite away from the heavily trafficked streets of Miami Beach. The Biltmore is not on the beach, and that's part of its old world charm. Set on beautiful grounds in Coral Gables, the resort is a combination of old world lux hotel and country club. The lobby revisits an era that could easily be the setting for a Fitzgerald or Hemingway novel. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is legendary. There's tennis and golf, and the fitness center is the best I've ever seen in a hotel. The rooms are ok, nothing spectacular, but we didn't stay in a suite which may be nicer; however, the whole experience of the Biltmore makes up for any shortcomings of a standard room because the experience is anything but standard.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the golf course - better view - and try to upgrade to a better room that the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I got a conference held at this resort, so I stayed here for two nights. Service level is excellent, pool is gorgeous, and buildings are historical and well maintained. I enjoyed the town car service provided by the resort, so I got a chance to visit Village of Merrick Park (high end shopping plaza). The town car service is complimentary and within downtown range. I also enjoyed the morning jog around the area.

Room Tip: My room is facing downtown area, it's very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When i go to Miami- i love to stay at the Biltmore Hotel - the service is always very very good
what i say has changed is the clientele
never before have i been at the Biltmore where guest where allowed to "reserve" multiple pool chairs with a towel- a hat -swim goggles- and leave them empty for hours- this is just not right-and to have other guest removed from those chairs because they were "RESERVED"
also smoking at or near the pool
to allow a few people to infringe on everyone's holiday is just not fair
maybe a designated smoking area- or even better a SMOKE FREE POOL AREA
I will return again - and hope to be able to find a pool chair for me

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are very appreciative of your feedback. As a world-class luxury destination resort, The Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. Please know that we have ordered new chaise lounges for the pool deck area and are reviewing ways to seat our guests there in a manner that is more accommodating for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent our anniversary at the Biltmore and the hotel delivered, exceeding our expectations! Fabulous room on the 7th floor near the Spa with views of the pool and golf. We lounged around the enormous pool and had mojitos & empanadas at Cascade Restaurant by the pool. Later that evening we had dinner at Fontana Restaurant with a table outside by the fountain, very romantic and the service was outstanding and the food was exquisite. We plan on going back with the kids and reserve one of their large cabanas by the pool for a day of fun and sun! Thank you MK

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort, and look forward to your return with the rest of your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything about the Biltmore is topnotch. Rooms are comfortable and staff is friendly. Pool is beautiful and staff there are ready to serve at a moment's notice. Beds are so comfortable and the breakfast is delicious.

Room Tip: I always request a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Our entire Biltmore team appreciates these kind words. It's always a pleasure to hear from our repeat guests. We look forward to your return and to delighting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Biltmore in Coral Gable Miami is the perfect hotel. from the beautiful entrance lobby with 2 large bird cages and fantastic vautled ceilings.
great wellcome and very easy/quick check in
upgrade to a junior suite with a nice view over the swimming pool and the golf course.

A proper old fashioned confortable Hotel!

Room Tip: room at the back of the hotel for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback, as the Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Otel, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.