We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Biltmore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Commack, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Biltmore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything about the Biltmore is topnotch. Rooms are comfortable and staff is friendly. Pool is beautiful and staff there are ready to serve at a moment's notice. Beds are so comfortable and the breakfast is delicious.

Room Tip: I always request a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Our entire Biltmore team appreciates these kind words. It's always a pleasure to hear from our repeat guests. We look forward to your return and to delighting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    201
    80
    48
    22
See reviews for
222
278
35
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Biltmore in Coral Gable Miami is the perfect hotel. from the beautiful entrance lobby with 2 large bird cages and fantastic vautled ceilings.
great wellcome and very easy/quick check in
upgrade to a junior suite with a nice view over the swimming pool and the golf course.

A proper old fashioned confortable Hotel!

Room Tip: room at the back of the hotel for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback, as the Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My pet peave with Resort and many of the better hotels is their numerous add ons. The higher rates of a resort is understandable but in their mistaken belief that becasue they are a "destination" facility their guests will not return. If the management would read their phony surveys (which they don't) they would also understand the power of 'word of mouth'. You can avoid the $25 per day Valet parking by parking at their golf facility next door but of course you have to ask. When we made the reservation they mentioned the $20 resort fee but neglected to mention that it was a daily fee. They asked if we were coming for a special occassion and we said that besides the meetings that we were attending we would be celebrating our 60th Anniversary. (When we celebrated our 50th at the Shore Club in Miami they sent up a nice card,
flowers and a bottle of Champaigne, along with a glass of wine at dinner). At the Biltmore; not even a card.

Note that the grounds, the room the giant pool and the service was fabulous. The Biltmore is located in the heart of beautiful Coral Gables.The food however was another story. The first night's rubber chicken dinner was poor. (the second night we went to the famous Joe's Stone Crab which was excellent). A limp shrimp cocktail at the pool looked and tasted enemic and was $30+ The breakfasts were frankly a disgrace. After powdery scrambled eggs we I settled for sunny side up after that. Poor choices of breads. Lousey coffe at $5 a pop. My wife's pancakes were completely dry and when we complained what they brought after adding milk to the flour was only marginally better. Next morning was waffles which were only fair, even when the butter and syrup finally came. A breakfast for 2 is close to Sixty Dollars!

The Biltmore is undoubtedly OK for weddings because of the decor but I doubt if any of the wedding guest would either return to this hotel or recommend it to their friends. We certainly won't!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. We were surprised to see the comments regarding cuisine quality, as two of our restaurants, Palme d'Or and Fontana, have received top Zagat ratings in South Florida for six years running. If there is any other aspect of the hotel that you would like to discuss, please contact us directly so that we may address with you more thoroughly. Also, please know that resort fees are standard charges at all hotels throughout South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went for lunch, wanted to see if staying was an option for our trip to Fort Lauderdale - the property is kind of off the beaten path, but is very nice. Staff was helpful and the poolside restaurant was very good. I would recommend staying if you want to make this place a one stop shop - there was some decent shopping downtown, but I wouldn't couple this with a Miami or Ft. Lauderdale trip - just seems too far to travel. Distance wise maybe not, but time in the car due to lights and traffic were kind of long.

Room Tip: The view of the pool was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. This positive feedback is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I travel extensively and this was a HUGE disappointment. This was a hop and a skip from Palm Beach County ( 2 hour trip) for a girlfriends birthday and.... wow what a disappointment. We should of stayed in our our county and not bothered or flown out of town because this is a rip off. We were charged $789 for a suite with an adjoining room. We called 4 times in two hours time plus tipped the bellman $20.00 to come back and open the adjoining door because it needed a key and was not just a lock we could switch over, to no avail.....we had to walk downstairs and beg. The room service was terrible.... slider were like rubber non edible , do not order ever. we order four entrees and three were ok but, sliders were a choking tragedy. Rooms very old and not kept up, opened the curtains to a huge air handler. We had to call in the morning early after showering and realized our hanging clothes were never put in the closet!! Oh they forgot they will be up in 10 minutes, no sorry, zero, just hanging around like tip me! I have been in many countries and states and this was a disaster of a room! Look for other places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Biltmore. As one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to exceed the needs and expectations of our valued guests; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. We truly regret that your experience did not meet your expectations in several areas. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problems with our Front Desk and Room Service departments to prevent any future occurrences. (The slider that you mentioned has been removed from the room service menu.) We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We came to the Biltmore as part of a conference and enjoyed our stay immensely. My daughter’s comment that “this is an elegant hotel” was confirmed when we were offered fruit juice during our registration. This is an old hotel that exudes the ambiance of classical Florida. The grounds are beautiful, the food is excellent and the pool is picturesque, even when it is too cold to swim. Valet parking is offered but plenty of park yourself space is available. The rooms are what you would expect to find in an older hotel but certainly adequate. We did have a problem with our reservation, that was totally my fault, but it was quickly resolved to my satisfaction and relief. The Biltmore is nestled in a residential area so a car or cab is a must to get anywhere off the property but Miami is an easy city to get around. I would certainly return to The Biltmore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - and please take advantage of our complimentary town car service to restaurants, shops and art galleries in Coral Gables the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had our wedding dinner here in December and I stayed the night before with my mom and sister, and then my husband and I stayed for our wedding night. The grounds and lobby are truly amazing-- the soaring ceilings, the bird cages, the archways, the tile work ... I could go on and on about the property itself. The rooms are not as impressive; we stayed in a jr. suite and found it adequate, but not more luxurious or impressive than any luxury hotel brand (Hyatt, Westin, etc.) The room was also tiny, so I can only imagine the size of the regular rooms! It was too cold to use the pool (the pool is not heated, so in winter months the water is ice cold due to the colder temps at night-- it may be 80 during the day but the pool is 65 at best, not enjoyable IMHO) so if you are seeking to use that particular amenity, you may want to reconsider in winter months. Room service was slow at night (ordered shrimp cocktail and waited over an hour, called to follow up, she said it would be right up ... almost as though they had forgotten :/) and no more expensive or tasty than any other place. The courtyard at La Fontana is very pretty and the food is expensive and average-good, depending on what you order. The bars are stately and cozy, the drinks are decent and expensive. The staff is hit or miss-- some are friendly, some are quiet and polite, and some are harried. I got a manicure, pedicure and eye brow shaping at the spa. My manicure was not very good, though I will say my pedicure and eye brow shaping were impressive, and the technician who did my pedicure was incredibly personable.
Now, this point really only relates to guests who have booked parties here, but I think it is worth mentioning because it belies the overall indifferent attitude of the management, and makes you realize they are resting on the beauty of its property to secure parties and hotel guests: we didn't have a big wedding utilizing one of the function rooms because the majority of our family could not travel to Florida, so we had a dinner for our immediate family of 25 at La Fontana after being married at nearby Fairchild Tropical Botanic Gardens and are having a bigger affair in NY next month ... the staff at La Fontana made the dinner special and we truly appreciated their efforts; however, it would have been nice had the hotel acknowledged it was our wedding night at all, in some small way-- a card, a bottle of wine, some chocolates, ANYTHING. Not so much as a "How was your wedding night?" at check out. It left a bad taste in our mouths.

So, the draw here is the property itself. If you are looking for gradeur a la Gatsby, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We welcome constructive feedback from all our valued guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. We made Room Service and Front Desk Management aware of your comments; appropriate measures were taken to avoid such occurrences in the future. Also, please know that we are addressing heating the pool to further enhance conditions during winter months. We appreciate the time you took to share these concern and we hope that you will afford us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LHW, Travelocity, Splendia, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.