We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Beach Gardens
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I travel extensively and this was a HUGE disappointment. This was a hop and a skip from Palm Beach County ( 2 hour trip) for a girlfriends birthday and.... wow what a disappointment. We should of stayed in our our county and not bothered or flown out of town because this is a rip off. We were charged $789 for a suite with an adjoining room. We called 4 times in two hours time plus tipped the bellman $20.00 to come back and open the adjoining door because it needed a key and was not just a lock we could switch over, to no avail.....we had to walk downstairs and beg. The room service was terrible.... slider were like rubber non edible , do not order ever. we order four entrees and three were ok but, sliders were a choking tragedy. Rooms very old and not kept up, opened the curtains to a huge air handler. We had to call in the morning early after showering and realized our hanging clothes were never put in the closet!! Oh they forgot they will be up in 10 minutes, no sorry, zero, just hanging around like tip me! I have been in many countries and states and this was a disaster of a room! Look for other places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Biltmore. As one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to exceed the needs and expectations of our valued guests; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. We truly regret that your experience did not meet your expectations in several areas. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problems with our Front Desk and Room Service departments to prevent any future occurrences. (The slider that you mentioned has been removed from the room service menu.) We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    225
    95
    50
    24
See reviews for
253
315
40
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We came to the Biltmore as part of a conference and enjoyed our stay immensely. My daughter’s comment that “this is an elegant hotel” was confirmed when we were offered fruit juice during our registration. This is an old hotel that exudes the ambiance of classical Florida. The grounds are beautiful, the food is excellent and the pool is picturesque, even when it is too cold to swim. Valet parking is offered but plenty of park yourself space is available. The rooms are what you would expect to find in an older hotel but certainly adequate. We did have a problem with our reservation, that was totally my fault, but it was quickly resolved to my satisfaction and relief. The Biltmore is nestled in a residential area so a car or cab is a must to get anywhere off the property but Miami is an easy city to get around. I would certainly return to The Biltmore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - and please take advantage of our complimentary town car service to restaurants, shops and art galleries in Coral Gables the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had our wedding dinner here in December and I stayed the night before with my mom and sister, and then my husband and I stayed for our wedding night. The grounds and lobby are truly amazing-- the soaring ceilings, the bird cages, the archways, the tile work ... I could go on and on about the property itself. The rooms are not as impressive; we stayed in a jr. suite and found it adequate, but not more luxurious or impressive than any luxury hotel brand (Hyatt, Westin, etc.) The room was also tiny, so I can only imagine the size of the regular rooms! It was too cold to use the pool (the pool is not heated, so in winter months the water is ice cold due to the colder temps at night-- it may be 80 during the day but the pool is 65 at best, not enjoyable IMHO) so if you are seeking to use that particular amenity, you may want to reconsider in winter months. Room service was slow at night (ordered shrimp cocktail and waited over an hour, called to follow up, she said it would be right up ... almost as though they had forgotten :/) and no more expensive or tasty than any other place. The courtyard at La Fontana is very pretty and the food is expensive and average-good, depending on what you order. The bars are stately and cozy, the drinks are decent and expensive. The staff is hit or miss-- some are friendly, some are quiet and polite, and some are harried. I got a manicure, pedicure and eye brow shaping at the spa. My manicure was not very good, though I will say my pedicure and eye brow shaping were impressive, and the technician who did my pedicure was incredibly personable.
Now, this point really only relates to guests who have booked parties here, but I think it is worth mentioning because it belies the overall indifferent attitude of the management, and makes you realize they are resting on the beauty of its property to secure parties and hotel guests: we didn't have a big wedding utilizing one of the function rooms because the majority of our family could not travel to Florida, so we had a dinner for our immediate family of 25 at La Fontana after being married at nearby Fairchild Tropical Botanic Gardens and are having a bigger affair in NY next month ... the staff at La Fontana made the dinner special and we truly appreciated their efforts; however, it would have been nice had the hotel acknowledged it was our wedding night at all, in some small way-- a card, a bottle of wine, some chocolates, ANYTHING. Not so much as a "How was your wedding night?" at check out. It left a bad taste in our mouths.

So, the draw here is the property itself. If you are looking for gradeur a la Gatsby, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We welcome constructive feedback from all our valued guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. We made Room Service and Front Desk Management aware of your comments; appropriate measures were taken to avoid such occurrences in the future. Also, please know that we are addressing heating the pool to further enhance conditions during winter months. We appreciate the time you took to share these concern and we hope that you will afford us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Here for a professional meeting. This hotel is dripping with history and charm. Service was impeccable. My room was on the sixth floor; a suite. Balcony was huge, bedding was comfortable, high speed internet was actually high speed. Only real complaint I can make is common to many historic hotels--hallway and adjoining room noises transmit very clearly.

The location is in a great walking area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

They act like this is a 4-star hotel, but loud music is keeping me up and I have been on hold to the front desk for 15 minutes….good grief. Operator doesn't even answer phone for more than 5 minutes.

Bathroom is also really way too small for 4-star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We regret that your stay failed to meet your expectations with regards to noise coming from the ballroom. As you could see, we were experiencing unusual activity in the ballroom that evenings, but did address appropriate concessions with guests such as yourself who were affected. We are also addressing our music policy and better insulation for the ballrooms so as to avoid this problem in the future. We would welcome the opportunity to personally handle your reservations the next time you plan to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Biltmore on March 30, 2013 for one night prior to embarking on a cruise. The moment the hotel came into view, I knew we had made the right choice. Although absolutely beautiful on the outside, the inside is even more stunning. From the bird cages in the lobby, to the incredible wood paneling in the elevators, this place offers a unique decor that is like no other. Our room was gorgeous, and the beds incredibly comfortable. It is clear that this hotel makes customer service a top priority. Every single staff person we encountered was friendly, professional, and intent on performing their duties at a level of excellence. The only negative aspect of the entire experience was that we only were able to stay one night! We will definitely be back for a longer stay, as this property is clearly worthy of being a destination in itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback, as the Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status. We would be delighted to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The service was excellent form the start to the end. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The Sunday Bruch is the best you can find. We heard that it was the best in Miami and it really was outstanding! The hotel is almost 100 years and is very well kept. The concierge went out of his way to serve you well: good information, boarding passes, no need to check out... You enjoy every space of this beautiful hotel, no need to go out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.