We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent, old Florida grace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magnificent, old Florida grace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had our wedding dinner here in December and I stayed the night before with my mom and sister, and then my husband and I stayed for our wedding night. The grounds and lobby are truly amazing-- the soaring ceilings, the bird cages, the archways, the tile work ... I could go on and on about the property itself. The rooms are not as impressive; we stayed in a jr. suite and found it adequate, but not more luxurious or impressive than any luxury hotel brand (Hyatt, Westin, etc.) The room was also tiny, so I can only imagine the size of the regular rooms! It was too cold to use the pool (the pool is not heated, so in winter months the water is ice cold due to the colder temps at night-- it may be 80 during the day but the pool is 65 at best, not enjoyable IMHO) so if you are seeking to use that particular amenity, you may want to reconsider in winter months. Room service was slow at night (ordered shrimp cocktail and waited over an hour, called to follow up, she said it would be right up ... almost as though they had forgotten :/) and no more expensive or tasty than any other place. The courtyard at La Fontana is very pretty and the food is expensive and average-good, depending on what you order. The bars are stately and cozy, the drinks are decent and expensive. The staff is hit or miss-- some are friendly, some are quiet and polite, and some are harried. I got a manicure, pedicure and eye brow shaping at the spa. My manicure was not very good, though I will say my pedicure and eye brow shaping were impressive, and the technician who did my pedicure was incredibly personable.
Now, this point really only relates to guests who have booked parties here, but I think it is worth mentioning because it belies the overall indifferent attitude of the management, and makes you realize they are resting on the beauty of its property to secure parties and hotel guests: we didn't have a big wedding utilizing one of the function rooms because the majority of our family could not travel to Florida, so we had a dinner for our immediate family of 25 at La Fontana after being married at nearby Fairchild Tropical Botanic Gardens and are having a bigger affair in NY next month ... the staff at La Fontana made the dinner special and we truly appreciated their efforts; however, it would have been nice had the hotel acknowledged it was our wedding night at all, in some small way-- a card, a bottle of wine, some chocolates, ANYTHING. Not so much as a "How was your wedding night?" at check out. It left a bad taste in our mouths.

So, the draw here is the property itself. If you are looking for gradeur a la Gatsby, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We welcome constructive feedback from all our valued guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. We made Room Service and Front Desk Management aware of your comments; appropriate measures were taken to avoid such occurrences in the future. Also, please know that we are addressing heating the pool to further enhance conditions during winter months. We appreciate the time you took to share these concern and we hope that you will afford us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    260
    115
    56
    28
See reviews for
283
361
43
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Here for a professional meeting. This hotel is dripping with history and charm. Service was impeccable. My room was on the sixth floor; a suite. Balcony was huge, bedding was comfortable, high speed internet was actually high speed. Only real complaint I can make is common to many historic hotels--hallway and adjoining room noises transmit very clearly.

The location is in a great walking area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

They act like this is a 4-star hotel, but loud music is keeping me up and I have been on hold to the front desk for 15 minutes….good grief. Operator doesn't even answer phone for more than 5 minutes.

Bathroom is also really way too small for 4-star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We regret that your stay failed to meet your expectations with regards to noise coming from the ballroom. As you could see, we were experiencing unusual activity in the ballroom that evenings, but did address appropriate concessions with guests such as yourself who were affected. We are also addressing our music policy and better insulation for the ballrooms so as to avoid this problem in the future. We would welcome the opportunity to personally handle your reservations the next time you plan to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Biltmore on March 30, 2013 for one night prior to embarking on a cruise. The moment the hotel came into view, I knew we had made the right choice. Although absolutely beautiful on the outside, the inside is even more stunning. From the bird cages in the lobby, to the incredible wood paneling in the elevators, this place offers a unique decor that is like no other. Our room was gorgeous, and the beds incredibly comfortable. It is clear that this hotel makes customer service a top priority. Every single staff person we encountered was friendly, professional, and intent on performing their duties at a level of excellence. The only negative aspect of the entire experience was that we only were able to stay one night! We will definitely be back for a longer stay, as this property is clearly worthy of being a destination in itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback, as the Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status. We would be delighted to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The service was excellent form the start to the end. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The Sunday Bruch is the best you can find. We heard that it was the best in Miami and it really was outstanding! The hotel is almost 100 years and is very well kept. The concierge went out of his way to serve you well: good information, boarding passes, no need to check out... You enjoy every space of this beautiful hotel, no need to go out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is an older but lovely property. The rooms are large, the setting beautiful and the beds wonderful. Breakfast was excellent. Service was friendly. It is removed from shopping and restaurants. It is certainly a peaceful setting but since it was "Easter Sunday evening and we arrived in the late evening the restaurants were closed. We settled for Pizza that my son discovered on a very long but pleasant walk. Cannot comment on the "value" since it was included in our cruise fare.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon - and please know that we do provide a complimentary town car service around Coral Gables for shopping, restaurants, museums and galleries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What an experience to get to stay at the Biltmore. It is a fabulous hotel and the staff and incredible. The check in was quick and easy and we were served champagne while waiting. The bellman gave us a tour while delivering our luggage to our room. Room was nice size and we lucky to get a room overlooking the pool and golf area. The restaurants were all wonderful. THe pool is fabulous with a ton of space. Also has a golf course but we didn't have time for golf.
Loved it! Great experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Splendia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.