We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
san diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

They act like this is a 4-star hotel, but loud music is keeping me up and I have been on hold to the front desk for 15 minutes….good grief. Operator doesn't even answer phone for more than 5 minutes.

Bathroom is also really way too small for 4-star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We regret that your stay failed to meet your expectations with regards to noise coming from the ballroom. As you could see, we were experiencing unusual activity in the ballroom that evenings, but did address appropriate concessions with guests such as yourself who were affected. We are also addressing our music policy and better insulation for the ballrooms so as to avoid this problem in the future. We would welcome the opportunity to personally handle your reservations the next time you plan to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    291
    124
    61
    33
See reviews for
319
397
47
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Biltmore on March 30, 2013 for one night prior to embarking on a cruise. The moment the hotel came into view, I knew we had made the right choice. Although absolutely beautiful on the outside, the inside is even more stunning. From the bird cages in the lobby, to the incredible wood paneling in the elevators, this place offers a unique decor that is like no other. Our room was gorgeous, and the beds incredibly comfortable. It is clear that this hotel makes customer service a top priority. Every single staff person we encountered was friendly, professional, and intent on performing their duties at a level of excellence. The only negative aspect of the entire experience was that we only were able to stay one night! We will definitely be back for a longer stay, as this property is clearly worthy of being a destination in itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback, as the Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status. We would be delighted to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The service was excellent form the start to the end. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The Sunday Bruch is the best you can find. We heard that it was the best in Miami and it really was outstanding! The hotel is almost 100 years and is very well kept. The concierge went out of his way to serve you well: good information, boarding passes, no need to check out... You enjoy every space of this beautiful hotel, no need to go out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is an older but lovely property. The rooms are large, the setting beautiful and the beds wonderful. Breakfast was excellent. Service was friendly. It is removed from shopping and restaurants. It is certainly a peaceful setting but since it was "Easter Sunday evening and we arrived in the late evening the restaurants were closed. We settled for Pizza that my son discovered on a very long but pleasant walk. Cannot comment on the "value" since it was included in our cruise fare.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon - and please know that we do provide a complimentary town car service around Coral Gables for shopping, restaurants, museums and galleries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What an experience to get to stay at the Biltmore. It is a fabulous hotel and the staff and incredible. The check in was quick and easy and we were served champagne while waiting. The bellman gave us a tour while delivering our luggage to our room. Room was nice size and we lucky to get a room overlooking the pool and golf area. The restaurants were all wonderful. THe pool is fabulous with a ton of space. Also has a golf course but we didn't have time for golf.
Loved it! Great experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Feels like a trip to the past. The grounds and the pool are lovely. The neighborhood around the hotel seems quiet and full of large trees. It doesn't feel like you are in the middle of a big city. This can be a problem because taxi service in Miami isn’t very efficient, but the hotel itself is very nice, pretty, and relaxing.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at The Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted you and your family enjoyed the hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

On the positive side of the ledger, the service at the Biltmore is very good and the hotel is pretty, with a grand old Floridian feel. I would add that I really enjoyed breakfast in the lovely outdoor courtyard but the price was outrageous.

However, on the negative side, the pool is large (as advertised) but that only takes away from the lounging area, which is very small. So getting chairs is competitive and there is no room to move with the sun. The worst part is the enormous pool is so cold that it is unusable so you are surely then relegated to the tight lounge area.

Our first room had a very small shower pan so the water can't help but flow out on the bathroom floor, which makes for an annoying mess. Our second room had a larger shower so be careful to ask. Other negatives in the rooms would include spitty water flow from the faucets and limited electrical outlets which are in inconvenient places.

As to the amenities, the gym is nice but there are a lot of locals who use so equipment can get competitive during the week. And for one of the worst baits and switches in history, the tennis courts next to the hotel don't belong to the hotel. If you want to play tennis, you have to book through some local service or the pro will take you off premises for a lesson.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Here at The Biltmore we welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our product and services. In regards to your comments, we are researching the issues you mentioned; we are confident that the shower issue you mentioned has been effectively resolved. Additionally, we would welcome an opportunity to personally address the other issues with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.