We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Feels like a trip to the past. The grounds and the pool are lovely. The neighborhood around the hotel seems quiet and full of large trees. It doesn't feel like you are in the middle of a big city. This can be a problem because taxi service in Miami isn’t very efficient, but the hotel itself is very nice, pretty, and relaxing.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at The Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted you and your family enjoyed the hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    267
    117
    57
    31
See reviews for
295
370
44
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

On the positive side of the ledger, the service at the Biltmore is very good and the hotel is pretty, with a grand old Floridian feel. I would add that I really enjoyed breakfast in the lovely outdoor courtyard but the price was outrageous.

However, on the negative side, the pool is large (as advertised) but that only takes away from the lounging area, which is very small. So getting chairs is competitive and there is no room to move with the sun. The worst part is the enormous pool is so cold that it is unusable so you are surely then relegated to the tight lounge area.

Our first room had a very small shower pan so the water can't help but flow out on the bathroom floor, which makes for an annoying mess. Our second room had a larger shower so be careful to ask. Other negatives in the rooms would include spitty water flow from the faucets and limited electrical outlets which are in inconvenient places.

As to the amenities, the gym is nice but there are a lot of locals who use so equipment can get competitive during the week. And for one of the worst baits and switches in history, the tennis courts next to the hotel don't belong to the hotel. If you want to play tennis, you have to book through some local service or the pro will take you off premises for a lesson.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Here at The Biltmore we welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our product and services. In regards to your comments, we are researching the issues you mentioned; we are confident that the shower issue you mentioned has been effectively resolved. Additionally, we would welcome an opportunity to personally address the other issues with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a delightful stay at this classic majestic hotel where staff are well trained and personable. The architecture is beautiful and our room was clean. The mattress was a little soft for my liking, but linens were of excellent quality, clean and plentiful, even though the hotel was full during our stay. Food was good and the outdoor courtyard at Fontana Restaurant is a magical spot indeed. Valet parking was expensive but the service there was also excellent and self-parking is available if desired. Our junior suite was small but comfortable and had everything we needed. I was surprised to find no exhaust fan in the windowless bathroom. The long layout of the bath was welcome as it allowed for comfortable use of the space by two people at one time. Two unusual procedural points: gratuities are included in the room rate - this includes valets, bellmen, and waitstaff in the restaurants. Additional tipping is optional but clearly not expected by the staff. And, if charging anything to your room your room key is required for swiping to make the charge to your room. The location of the hotel was very convenient for visiting UM and the neighborhood in which it is situated is gorgeous - beautiful old tree lined streets with interesting homes - just perfect for a walk after dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
18 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic Easter Sunday, managed to get a table at the last min, the hotel is stunning the pool beautiful and huge, service was a excellent, amazing choice of food, and as much as you can eat caviar so I did, champagne as much as you can drink, a very special treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Our entire Biltmore team appreciates these kind words about our Sunday Champagne Brunch. We look forward to your return and to delighting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel and grounds were lovely and the staff very attentive. My only criticism was a critical lack of chairs around the pool. For the price I don't expect to have to lay on the cement due to a lack of seating.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. My husband, daughter and I just returned from a 2 night stay there and it was lovely. The room (junior suite) was very comfortable and updated. We had a balcony with table and chairs. The service at the Biltmore is wonderful. We enjoyed a day sitting by the pool and the staff was right there all day asking if we needed anything. Dined one night at the Fontana and had a terrific dinner. The food was excellent and again the service was great.

Would definitely stay there again!
wpecc

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on the 3rd floor (a junior suite) with a balcony and a view of the golfcourse in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore, when we promise to have more pool chairs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

On Sundays the hotel holds two tours. One at 1:30 p.m. the other at 2:30 p.m. In our personal experience the tour was top in my list of thing to do in Miami. Please be prompt, nobody is waiting for you or will back track the super interesting history of the hotel. At some point, I felt transported to the times of all the adverse, unplanned events that almost destroy this great place. I always hear people stating that Miami does not have any history. My respond is, "not because you don't know it or it is not as long as other cultures is not history. Look for it, please. Some brave, entrepreneur people came to South Florida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is warmly embraced by our guests and visitors. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the Sunday tour of the property, which we provide for the enjoyment of both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.