We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Feels like a trip to the past. The grounds and the pool are lovely. The neighborhood around the hotel seems quiet and full of large trees. It doesn't feel like you are in the middle of a big city. This can be a problem because taxi service in Miami isn’t very efficient, but the hotel itself is very nice, pretty, and relaxing.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at The Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted you and your family enjoyed the hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    507
    196
    83
    48
    22
See reviews for
226
282
35
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

On the positive side of the ledger, the service at the Biltmore is very good and the hotel is pretty, with a grand old Floridian feel. I would add that I really enjoyed breakfast in the lovely outdoor courtyard but the price was outrageous.

However, on the negative side, the pool is large (as advertised) but that only takes away from the lounging area, which is very small. So getting chairs is competitive and there is no room to move with the sun. The worst part is the enormous pool is so cold that it is unusable so you are surely then relegated to the tight lounge area.

Our first room had a very small shower pan so the water can't help but flow out on the bathroom floor, which makes for an annoying mess. Our second room had a larger shower so be careful to ask. Other negatives in the rooms would include spitty water flow from the faucets and limited electrical outlets which are in inconvenient places.

As to the amenities, the gym is nice but there are a lot of locals who use so equipment can get competitive during the week. And for one of the worst baits and switches in history, the tennis courts next to the hotel don't belong to the hotel. If you want to play tennis, you have to book through some local service or the pro will take you off premises for a lesson.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Here at The Biltmore we welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our product and services. In regards to your comments, we are researching the issues you mentioned; we are confident that the shower issue you mentioned has been effectively resolved. Additionally, we would welcome an opportunity to personally address the other issues with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a delightful stay at this classic majestic hotel where staff are well trained and personable. The architecture is beautiful and our room was clean. The mattress was a little soft for my liking, but linens were of excellent quality, clean and plentiful, even though the hotel was full during our stay. Food was good and the outdoor courtyard at Fontana Restaurant is a magical spot indeed. Valet parking was expensive but the service there was also excellent and self-parking is available if desired. Our junior suite was small but comfortable and had everything we needed. I was surprised to find no exhaust fan in the windowless bathroom. The long layout of the bath was welcome as it allowed for comfortable use of the space by two people at one time. Two unusual procedural points: gratuities are included in the room rate - this includes valets, bellmen, and waitstaff in the restaurants. Additional tipping is optional but clearly not expected by the staff. And, if charging anything to your room your room key is required for swiping to make the charge to your room. The location of the hotel was very convenient for visiting UM and the neighborhood in which it is situated is gorgeous - beautiful old tree lined streets with interesting homes - just perfect for a walk after dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic Easter Sunday, managed to get a table at the last min, the hotel is stunning the pool beautiful and huge, service was a excellent, amazing choice of food, and as much as you can eat caviar so I did, champagne as much as you can drink, a very special treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Our entire Biltmore team appreciates these kind words about our Sunday Champagne Brunch. We look forward to your return and to delighting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel and grounds were lovely and the staff very attentive. My only criticism was a critical lack of chairs around the pool. For the price I don't expect to have to lay on the cement due to a lack of seating.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. My husband, daughter and I just returned from a 2 night stay there and it was lovely. The room (junior suite) was very comfortable and updated. We had a balcony with table and chairs. The service at the Biltmore is wonderful. We enjoyed a day sitting by the pool and the staff was right there all day asking if we needed anything. Dined one night at the Fontana and had a terrific dinner. The food was excellent and again the service was great.

Would definitely stay there again!
wpecc

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on the 3rd floor (a junior suite) with a balcony and a view of the golfcourse in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore, when we promise to have more pool chairs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

On Sundays the hotel holds two tours. One at 1:30 p.m. the other at 2:30 p.m. In our personal experience the tour was top in my list of thing to do in Miami. Please be prompt, nobody is waiting for you or will back track the super interesting history of the hotel. At some point, I felt transported to the times of all the adverse, unplanned events that almost destroy this great place. I always hear people stating that Miami does not have any history. My respond is, "not because you don't know it or it is not as long as other cultures is not history. Look for it, please. Some brave, entrepreneur people came to South Florida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is warmly embraced by our guests and visitors. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the Sunday tour of the property, which we provide for the enjoyment of both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;