We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit shabby, but still Classy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A bit shabby, but still Classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I truly appreciate the work it takes to keep a building of this age in good repair, and I love the attention to guests the staff showed from check-in to bell desk. Our room was comfortable and updated. We stayed at the hotel for conference and the meeting/ballrooms were in bad shape. Some of the draperies were full of tears as was the carpeting. The ballroom opened out to a garden area and during one of the meals the wait staff had left the doors open. I watched a mouse come in and out a few times, the last time it came in but didn't leave. I am admittedly a bit of a princess when it comes to sharing my space with rodents, so it did ruin the rest of my meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Biltmore. As one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to exceed the needs and expectations of our guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We regret that your experience did not completely meet your expectations. We made Banquet Management aware of your comments on the banquet meal and appropriate measures were taken to avoid such occurrences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    216
    92
    51
    24
See reviews for
250
307
40
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jean Alspaugh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a lovely hotel! Renovated beautifully. Our room was clean and spacious. The staff, from the front desk, valet, waiters/waitresses, bartenders, to the bell desk... were all incredible. Not to mention the food! Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding and it is undoubtedly beautiful. The grounds, the pool, the views are amazing. The bed and pillows were probably the most amazing. We had a great couple of nights sleep.

However, for a hotel of this prestige, we were disappointed, especially at their check in. We called to get early check in and they said they couldn't guarantee it but they would make a note in our account. We got there two hours before check in, and they didn't have a room. However, the person who checked in a minute after us, got his room right away. His room was the same as the one we had reserved, and we know this because he was also with the wedding party. Regardless, at 3pm, the time of check in, we still didn't have a room and were told they didn't know when they would have one. This is absolutely unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber. At 3.30, I was told they still didn't have a room for us, so I started to make a scene. Would you know that seconds later, a room was magically available? We have stayed at a lot of hotels with much less prestige that have treated us a lot better. We got no upgrade or anything on the house for our frustration. Again from the biltmore we certainly expected more and most likely wont be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Here at the Biltmore, we welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. To that end, we encourage you to contact the Managing Director’s office directly, so we may address this issue thoroughly with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Biltmore for a three days. It is one of the most breathtaking hotels I've ever seen. The staff was really amazing- they were always happy to help and went above and beyond. The room was immaculate and I've never stayed in a hotel with so many towels!! The housekeeping staff really paid attention to detail. There is also a complimentary car that will take you around the area and pick you up, which was great! The food is a bit overpriced, but that is our only negative comment. We will be saving our pennies so we can visit again. Great experince!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted you and your family enjoyed the hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for a 3 day/4night conference and pleasure trip. The hotel is a 1926 landmark with stunning grounds and well-appointed rooms, but we found the service lacking for a property of this caliber. Our room was a junior suite with a nice seating area, small balcony and well appointed bathroom with all the extras. However, the mini bar was extremely expensive, charging $8 for a bottle of water, which did not include “tax and gratuities”! Most luxury hotels I have frequented would have included two bottles of water as a courtesy, moreover, the hotel charges a $20 per day resort fee, which includes services such as a daily newspaper and gratuities! Charging an additional gratuity for the mini bar is just piling on in my opinion, not to mention the ridiculously high prices to begin with. Needless to say, we did not use anything from the mini bar (which is something I’ll come to later).

Having two drinks at the poolside bar was a treat until I got the bill for $16 per drink plus and automatic 18% service charge, AND another $9.18 added as “misc. tip.” When I questioned about the misc. tip the bartender said the computer added it automatically, but he did promptly remove it!

We ate at the hotel’s Italian restaurant, Fontana. The ambiance was excellent, sitting outside in the hotel courtyard area; however, my meal was extremely salty and overcooked and the service was very slow. I had to send it back and it was removed from the bill. Two other parties sitting near us also sent back one of their entrees and complained about the service. On the other hand, we did use the hotel’s spa services, which were one of the best I have experienced.
Some other issues included housekeeping not cleaning the room the first day (I had to call to have that done), and when we checked out their computer system was down and they had to send me the invoice via email, which included, to my dismay, a $28.43 mini bar charge! I contacted the hotel and explained to them that I did not use anything from the mini bar. They did remove it from my credit card charge.

Overall, it was a disappointing experience, as my expectations were much higher.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback and regret that our service failed to meet your expectations in a variety of ways. The Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status. We have dealt with the particular personnel involved and are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved. While we cannot discern your identity solely by your email name, we would welcome an opportunity to address this situation with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I came away from my three-night stay here with my daughter impressed by the level of service, the hotel's setting and design and its facilities (particularly the pool and fitness center). Hotel staff always made certain they had catered to our requests and that we were fully satisfied before turning to their next task.

I'm a fan of the gratuities built in to the daily resort fee, and it appears the staff are happy with it, as well. We used the free hotel car service every day, including a Saturday, which was the only day with a significant wait because of demand. The food on-site is a little pricey but prepared and presented well, especially at the Cascade and Fontana restaurants.

We would certainly return on a future trip to Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were looking forward to a conference at this hotel--we enjoy history, architecture and lovely accommodations. We experienced a bit of history and architecture and found our accommodations terribly disappointing. After an easy check in with a complimentary glass of champagne we were shown to room 1042. It was small (adequate as European hotels are), but with tired decor and a musty smell. We immediately opened the door to the balcony for some fresh air--a nice thought except with exposed re-bar on its gouged cement floor and rusty railings we were afraid to use it!

After our evening conference activities we retired for the nite. As we lay down on the bed I was at least 18 inches higher than my husband and the bed slanted from side to side with a huge sag in the middle. He needed the middle space or he would be on the floor and I was trying hard not to roll sideways into him. This was the worst bed we have ever slept in culminating in a terrible nite's sleep for both of us. The next morning we investigated by pulling up the dust ruffle to find that half the mattress was not resting in the bed frame. Once weight was put on the bed one side dropped to the floor while the other remained in the air! We were sleeping--or rather NOT sleeping--on a ramp!! Oh, what a night!

When the front desk was told of the problem the next morning the two young ladies there looked at one another with raised eyebrows and said, "Sorry, we will notify housekeeping." That was indeed the appalling extent of their concern. Hospitality and service are definitely not the forte in this hotel. Guests being nice about a problem meant a serious imposition was brushed aside and for that reason I take my first negative review to tripadvisor.

This venue is an annual financial conference--and after this experience we do not look forward to returning. Conference food was adequate, rooms for hosting client meetings were somewhat dated. The pool and golf course views were quite nice, and most staff were pleasant. However this aging hotel is not up to the hotel standards one would expect or that a $400+ per nite room would warrant. Because it is on the Historic Register is no excuse for it to be tired (and without a decent bed for heaven's sake!) as evidenced by other noteworthy luxury historic hotels that we have experienced.

One more jab at guest services--I tried to buy a book to read at the pool. If you like five different choices of romance novels you will be in luck!

Room Tip: Do not request 1042.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore. We regret that the experience did not meet your expectations. With regard to the staff comments you expressed, we have dealt with the particular personnel involved and are confident these issues have been effectively resolved. We also inspected your accommodations and those surrounding rooms and will monitor HVAC in this specific area of the hotel more closely. This incident is certainly not reflective of our normal standards or service culture. As well, we'd welcome the opportunity to personally address these issues with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.