We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jean Alspaugh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“True Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a lovely hotel! Renovated beautifully. Our room was clean and spacious. The staff, from the front desk, valet, waiters/waitresses, bartenders, to the bell desk... were all incredible. Not to mention the food! Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    276
    120
    58
    32
See reviews for
304
381
46
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding and it is undoubtedly beautiful. The grounds, the pool, the views are amazing. The bed and pillows were probably the most amazing. We had a great couple of nights sleep.

However, for a hotel of this prestige, we were disappointed, especially at their check in. We called to get early check in and they said they couldn't guarantee it but they would make a note in our account. We got there two hours before check in, and they didn't have a room. However, the person who checked in a minute after us, got his room right away. His room was the same as the one we had reserved, and we know this because he was also with the wedding party. Regardless, at 3pm, the time of check in, we still didn't have a room and were told they didn't know when they would have one. This is absolutely unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber. At 3.30, I was told they still didn't have a room for us, so I started to make a scene. Would you know that seconds later, a room was magically available? We have stayed at a lot of hotels with much less prestige that have treated us a lot better. We got no upgrade or anything on the house for our frustration. Again from the biltmore we certainly expected more and most likely wont be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Here at the Biltmore, we welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. To that end, we encourage you to contact the Managing Director’s office directly, so we may address this issue thoroughly with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Biltmore for a three days. It is one of the most breathtaking hotels I've ever seen. The staff was really amazing- they were always happy to help and went above and beyond. The room was immaculate and I've never stayed in a hotel with so many towels!! The housekeeping staff really paid attention to detail. There is also a complimentary car that will take you around the area and pick you up, which was great! The food is a bit overpriced, but that is our only negative comment. We will be saving our pennies so we can visit again. Great experince!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted you and your family enjoyed the hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for a 3 day/4night conference and pleasure trip. The hotel is a 1926 landmark with stunning grounds and well-appointed rooms, but we found the service lacking for a property of this caliber. Our room was a junior suite with a nice seating area, small balcony and well appointed bathroom with all the extras. However, the mini bar was extremely expensive, charging $8 for a bottle of water, which did not include “tax and gratuities”! Most luxury hotels I have frequented would have included two bottles of water as a courtesy, moreover, the hotel charges a $20 per day resort fee, which includes services such as a daily newspaper and gratuities! Charging an additional gratuity for the mini bar is just piling on in my opinion, not to mention the ridiculously high prices to begin with. Needless to say, we did not use anything from the mini bar (which is something I’ll come to later).

Having two drinks at the poolside bar was a treat until I got the bill for $16 per drink plus and automatic 18% service charge, AND another $9.18 added as “misc. tip.” When I questioned about the misc. tip the bartender said the computer added it automatically, but he did promptly remove it!

We ate at the hotel’s Italian restaurant, Fontana. The ambiance was excellent, sitting outside in the hotel courtyard area; however, my meal was extremely salty and overcooked and the service was very slow. I had to send it back and it was removed from the bill. Two other parties sitting near us also sent back one of their entrees and complained about the service. On the other hand, we did use the hotel’s spa services, which were one of the best I have experienced.
Some other issues included housekeeping not cleaning the room the first day (I had to call to have that done), and when we checked out their computer system was down and they had to send me the invoice via email, which included, to my dismay, a $28.43 mini bar charge! I contacted the hotel and explained to them that I did not use anything from the mini bar. They did remove it from my credit card charge.

Overall, it was a disappointing experience, as my expectations were much higher.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback and regret that our service failed to meet your expectations in a variety of ways. The Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status. We have dealt with the particular personnel involved and are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved. While we cannot discern your identity solely by your email name, we would welcome an opportunity to address this situation with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I came away from my three-night stay here with my daughter impressed by the level of service, the hotel's setting and design and its facilities (particularly the pool and fitness center). Hotel staff always made certain they had catered to our requests and that we were fully satisfied before turning to their next task.

I'm a fan of the gratuities built in to the daily resort fee, and it appears the staff are happy with it, as well. We used the free hotel car service every day, including a Saturday, which was the only day with a significant wait because of demand. The food on-site is a little pricey but prepared and presented well, especially at the Cascade and Fontana restaurants.

We would certainly return on a future trip to Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were looking forward to a conference at this hotel--we enjoy history, architecture and lovely accommodations. We experienced a bit of history and architecture and found our accommodations terribly disappointing. After an easy check in with a complimentary glass of champagne we were shown to room 1042. It was small (adequate as European hotels are), but with tired decor and a musty smell. We immediately opened the door to the balcony for some fresh air--a nice thought except with exposed re-bar on its gouged cement floor and rusty railings we were afraid to use it!

After our evening conference activities we retired for the nite. As we lay down on the bed I was at least 18 inches higher than my husband and the bed slanted from side to side with a huge sag in the middle. He needed the middle space or he would be on the floor and I was trying hard not to roll sideways into him. This was the worst bed we have ever slept in culminating in a terrible nite's sleep for both of us. The next morning we investigated by pulling up the dust ruffle to find that half the mattress was not resting in the bed frame. Once weight was put on the bed one side dropped to the floor while the other remained in the air! We were sleeping--or rather NOT sleeping--on a ramp!! Oh, what a night!

When the front desk was told of the problem the next morning the two young ladies there looked at one another with raised eyebrows and said, "Sorry, we will notify housekeeping." That was indeed the appalling extent of their concern. Hospitality and service are definitely not the forte in this hotel. Guests being nice about a problem meant a serious imposition was brushed aside and for that reason I take my first negative review to tripadvisor.

This venue is an annual financial conference--and after this experience we do not look forward to returning. Conference food was adequate, rooms for hosting client meetings were somewhat dated. The pool and golf course views were quite nice, and most staff were pleasant. However this aging hotel is not up to the hotel standards one would expect or that a $400+ per nite room would warrant. Because it is on the Historic Register is no excuse for it to be tired (and without a decent bed for heaven's sake!) as evidenced by other noteworthy luxury historic hotels that we have experienced.

One more jab at guest services--I tried to buy a book to read at the pool. If you like five different choices of romance novels you will be in luck!

Room Tip: Do not request 1042.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore. We regret that the experience did not meet your expectations. With regard to the staff comments you expressed, we have dealt with the particular personnel involved and are confident these issues have been effectively resolved. We also inspected your accommodations and those surrounding rooms and will monitor HVAC in this specific area of the hotel more closely. This incident is certainly not reflective of our normal standards or service culture. As well, we'd welcome the opportunity to personally address these issues with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you appreciate the detail that goes into restored historic hotels you have to visit the Biltmore. We stayed in an upper floor junior suite overlooking the golf course and appreciated the understated appointments. Management has done a good job keeping the charm (gotta love the wood paneling in the elevators!) while making this a property that works in 2013. The staff is fantastic. We enjoyed a drink in the golf course bar and the bartender was very personable. The pool area is a nice retreat. The spa is small but nicely done. We went to a dinner in the one of the ballrooms and the décor reminded me of a European salon. We also indulged in the Sunday brunch which was fabulous - the quality champagne alone was worth the price. We would highly recommend this as a quiet place to stay in the Miami area.

Room Tip: Go for one of the junior suites - you will love the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#3 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.