We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Unfortunately our stay at the Biltmore in Coral Gables was very disappointing. While there were various little things that went wrong the biggest drawback was how we felt 'nickled and dimed'. At the price of these rooms they should be providing more than a pretty bed -- none of the little things that go with a luxury hotel were there. Simple example: there are no coffee makers in the room and free coffee was only available until 7am (not to mention at 7:05 everything is put away as if it never happened). It was our son's birthday and not one effort was made to recognize it; but, if you listen to the hotel's on-hold recording 'they love kids'. Well, we did not receive one kid accommodation and the hotel boasts of fresh-baked cookies at night, kids robes, etc. And the icing on the cake was that we did not know until our last day that there was a kids menu for breakfast and all the while they were charging us for adult breakfasts. We were looking for a luxurious family stay and unfortunately this was not it.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room above the banquet room. During our stay there was a wedding that kept us up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Biltmore. As one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to exceed your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We regret that your experience did not completely meet your expectations. Regarding the children's amenities, please rest assured that we are investigating this issue internally in order to take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    207
    90
    50
    22
See reviews for
243
292
37
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Really a very friendly environment in a historic hotel. Very good to consider if you want a hotel with golf away from the beaches. Good food in nice venues one thing I would point out: many historic hotels in the South have recently upgraded their guest rooms. The Biltmore has not kept pace on this issue. The night views from the upper floors of the nearby towns are very nice . The facility is most convenient to the Miami airport

Room Tip: The suites on the top level are quite roomy but the furnishings need some new fabric. Also no tub in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Here at the Biltmore, we welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. Regarding your comment about upgrading our rooms, please know that we are constantly reviewing our room product with regards to furniture and amenities. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Given that this hotel seems to be run as efficiently as a Soviet organization, it is amusing that it is on a street named for a Romanov.

I made a reservation on 12/6/12 in anticipation of attending a conference the weekend of 3/15/13. Deciding that attending the conference was impractical, I cancelled the reservation on 1/8/13. I recall requesting, but not receiving, an email confirmation of the cancellation.

On logging onto my computer at 6:30 a.m. EDT on 3/12/13, I found an email that was stamped 3/12/13 1:25 a.m. that was titled "We Look Forward to Your Arrival."

This email, which was sent in the middle of the night on 1/12/13, also stated that I would need to cancel by 1/11/13 if I wanted to avoid being charged for one night.

I immediately called the reservations line, which the Biltmore asserted was staffed 24/7, but no one answered. I then called the main number and Shirelle (?) told me that they send out those letters regardless of whether a reservation has been cancelled.

I also learned later that the overnight switchboard operator was the only one working reservations overnight. Apparently, they do not ever pick up calls regarding existing reservations during that period.

There is ABSOLUTELY no reason to send the letters if a reservation is cancelled; they also CLEARLY verify that the reservation is still active and that the hotel will bill for the first night DESPITE THE CANCELLATION.

The call got disconnected when I asked for the manager on duty. I finally got through to Victor, who I later learned was merely the security officer on duty and was not even a security manager.

Victor told me both that he could not access the reservations system and that no one was in the reservations office until 9:00 a.m. but that he would ensure that I was not charged for the room.

Victor also agreed to send me an email verifying our conversation. I called back on not receiving one and learned that he had left for the day.

Several subsequent efforts to reach a "real" manager failed.

It turned out that Victor's fellow security officer Albert was appointed manager of the day at 7:00 a.m. All that Albert could do was take a message for a manager who would arrive at an unspecified time and get back to me at some point.

Subsequent efforts to reach a manager failed. The front desk staff told me that the manager was not in (and did not seem to know when he was due.

I have worked, and stayed, at several comparable level hotels. (Even a Marriott handled a recent cancellation far better and got me a manager easily regarding an unrelated matter.) There is no excuse for this experience.

I hate to think about what it would have taken to get a minor matter resolved if I had stayed at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for contacting The Biltmore personally. We appreciated the opportunity to speak with you by phone to clarify that this was a simple miscommunication resulting from a computer glitch on our end, and that there was no charge to you in any way whatsover, as your reservation had been cancelled for over a month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We checked in Friday the first of March and checked out on the following Monday. Had book a suite for the family and had in the booking expressed our needs for a quite room since our kids easily wake up and we would have had a long journey before getting to Coral Gables.
The good stuff:
- We met friendly and service minded staff everywhere (se notes on front desk below).
- We have very high demands on food and I think they delivered. Considering the price, not more than delivered but that's quite OK. Breakfast is nice, good pastries, alot of fresh fruit and berries and other high end details. Coffee and chocolate is not up to standard and the understanding of our comments/requests were none.
- Dinner in Fontana was friendly and quite nice. A few mistakes were made but still, would recommend it.
- Dinner in Palme d'Or was good. Service was excellent and the food was of a good French standard. Which is great for being in Florida and good for being in France.
- Tennis and golf was great!
- The hotel building fits the neighbourhood very nicely, classy and 'old world' as the americans call it.
The bad stuff:
- We got suite 115 and requested for a change at once since we realised that it was going to be too noisy with the parties going on nearby. Was told we couln't get one that day but likely for the following days. We couldn't sleep for more than a few hours between 2am and 4.30. The room is so loud, drunk guests at the party/parties were outside our windows until around 2am. People leaving the hotel with their suitecases wakes you up (115 should be avoided). There is a constant noise ín the room, you can hear it from the outside at ground level if you stand outside the room. At 4.30 some kind of loud noise from below the room starts, didn't find out what it was but let's describe it as a huge dish washer. That stopped 6.30 which was really nice but at that time our kids wouldn't go back to sleep.
- We moved up to 5th floor and it was much better, but the hotel has some problem with noise since the rooms aren't well sound isolated. And this comes from a writer you usually have to shout at in order to wake up. Heard another guest complain on the same topic when checking out.
- Had a family fun package and it wasn't delivered with high precision. Would never have complained about it if it wasn't for the major issues. Then you pay attention to the small ones... The kids should have received fruit punch. They didn't. Milk and cookies didn't show up one night. For the other night's they were delivered for one child, not two. No biggies but one expects more.
- Front desk is so easily flooded. One or two staff is in place and the lines easily get's long. Brook does a great job but they have some new staff there, sometimes on their own and the result follows. Our check out was so long and we had to pay attention to alot of detals on the bill that were supposed to have been included in our package.

I obviously talked to the manager on duty who got us the suite on the 5th floor (not an upgrade though) and removed 50% of the first night. I was too tired during that discussion, it still ment that I paid some 280$ for a terrible, terrible night sleep.

Room Tip: Suite 115 is way to noisy, most likely the rooms nearby as well. Do what you can to get a higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review of your stay at The Biltmore. We appreciated the positive comments and are internally reviewing the situation regarding your room charge and the children's amenties, as these incidents are not reflective of the normal standards or service culture that our staff is trained to offer at the Biltmore. When we have more information, we will communicate directly with you, as we welcome the opportunity to personally address these issues with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Spent two nights in February. Historical building in Coral Gables with beautiful architecture and an enormous swimming pool. 18 hold golf course on site was nice to play. Service was excellent. Everyone very helpful.

Room was nicely appointed. Two flat screen tvs in the room. Strong and fast wifi connection (included).

You have to appreciate the historical nature of this property to truly enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The staff was nice, the pool relaxing, the bar food outside terrific. However, the restaurant inside was ruth chris prices for outback quality. The parking situation was very good. This hotel needs to work on the menu.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. We were surprised to see the comments regarding cuisine quality, as our restaurants, both Palme d'Or and Fontana, have received top Zagat ratings in South Florida for six years running. If there is any other aspect of the hotel that you would like to discuss, please contact us directly so that we may address with you more thoroughly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed for about a week during winter 2011. It is a beautiful place located in a quiet posh housing neighborhood which is a short drive away from the central location. There are no shops or restaurants within walking distance. However the hotel offers quite a nunmber of distinctive award-winning fine-dinning options. The room is spacious, warm and nicely decorated. It seemed this hotel is a popular place for wedding reception, so be sure to make an early reservation at the restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.