We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not OK at this level of price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not OK at this level of price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We checked in Friday the first of March and checked out on the following Monday. Had book a suite for the family and had in the booking expressed our needs for a quite room since our kids easily wake up and we would have had a long journey before getting to Coral Gables.
The good stuff:
- We met friendly and service minded staff everywhere (se notes on front desk below).
- We have very high demands on food and I think they delivered. Considering the price, not more than delivered but that's quite OK. Breakfast is nice, good pastries, alot of fresh fruit and berries and other high end details. Coffee and chocolate is not up to standard and the understanding of our comments/requests were none.
- Dinner in Fontana was friendly and quite nice. A few mistakes were made but still, would recommend it.
- Dinner in Palme d'Or was good. Service was excellent and the food was of a good French standard. Which is great for being in Florida and good for being in France.
- Tennis and golf was great!
- The hotel building fits the neighbourhood very nicely, classy and 'old world' as the americans call it.
The bad stuff:
- We got suite 115 and requested for a change at once since we realised that it was going to be too noisy with the parties going on nearby. Was told we couln't get one that day but likely for the following days. We couldn't sleep for more than a few hours between 2am and 4.30. The room is so loud, drunk guests at the party/parties were outside our windows until around 2am. People leaving the hotel with their suitecases wakes you up (115 should be avoided). There is a constant noise ín the room, you can hear it from the outside at ground level if you stand outside the room. At 4.30 some kind of loud noise from below the room starts, didn't find out what it was but let's describe it as a huge dish washer. That stopped 6.30 which was really nice but at that time our kids wouldn't go back to sleep.
- We moved up to 5th floor and it was much better, but the hotel has some problem with noise since the rooms aren't well sound isolated. And this comes from a writer you usually have to shout at in order to wake up. Heard another guest complain on the same topic when checking out.
- Had a family fun package and it wasn't delivered with high precision. Would never have complained about it if it wasn't for the major issues. Then you pay attention to the small ones... The kids should have received fruit punch. They didn't. Milk and cookies didn't show up one night. For the other night's they were delivered for one child, not two. No biggies but one expects more.
- Front desk is so easily flooded. One or two staff is in place and the lines easily get's long. Brook does a great job but they have some new staff there, sometimes on their own and the result follows. Our check out was so long and we had to pay attention to alot of detals on the bill that were supposed to have been included in our package.

I obviously talked to the manager on duty who got us the suite on the 5th floor (not an upgrade though) and removed 50% of the first night. I was too tired during that discussion, it still ment that I paid some 280$ for a terrible, terrible night sleep.

Room Tip: Suite 115 is way to noisy, most likely the rooms nearby as well. Do what you can to get a higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review of your stay at The Biltmore. We appreciated the positive comments and are internally reviewing the situation regarding your room charge and the children's amenties, as these incidents are not reflective of the normal standards or service culture that our staff is trained to offer at the Biltmore. When we have more information, we will communicate directly with you, as we welcome the opportunity to personally address these issues with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    212
    91
    51
    23
See reviews for
248
303
38
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Spent two nights in February. Historical building in Coral Gables with beautiful architecture and an enormous swimming pool. 18 hold golf course on site was nice to play. Service was excellent. Everyone very helpful.

Room was nicely appointed. Two flat screen tvs in the room. Strong and fast wifi connection (included).

You have to appreciate the historical nature of this property to truly enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The staff was nice, the pool relaxing, the bar food outside terrific. However, the restaurant inside was ruth chris prices for outback quality. The parking situation was very good. This hotel needs to work on the menu.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. We were surprised to see the comments regarding cuisine quality, as our restaurants, both Palme d'Or and Fontana, have received top Zagat ratings in South Florida for six years running. If there is any other aspect of the hotel that you would like to discuss, please contact us directly so that we may address with you more thoroughly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed for about a week during winter 2011. It is a beautiful place located in a quiet posh housing neighborhood which is a short drive away from the central location. There are no shops or restaurants within walking distance. However the hotel offers quite a nunmber of distinctive award-winning fine-dinning options. The room is spacious, warm and nicely decorated. It seemed this hotel is a popular place for wedding reception, so be sure to make an early reservation at the restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night compliments of RSSC prior to our Caribbean cruise.
Beautiful suite in one of the towers. Really comfy bed, lovely toiletries and lots of fluffy towels. Good hair dryer found under the vanitary unit.
Shame no tea / coffee making facilities!
Excellent buffet breakfast.
Would I stay here again? If wanted luxury and a treat ... Yes.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'll start by saying the hotel is charming, the rooms are nicely appointed and serviced well, the pool and property is gorgeous, and any staff members not working behind a desk or at a restaurant were wonderful and helpful. But that is where the good part of the review ends.

We visited the hotel during a busy weekend in Miami - which we didn't realize when we booked the trip. The International Boat Show and Coconut Grove Art Festival were going on, so traffic was crazy all weekend, and the hotel was buzzing with lots of guests for those events and at least 3 weddings as well. You would think that with all that going on, the hotel would have staffed up a bit more, or been prepared in some way, but what we consistently found was that help was not easily found, and when it was found, it wasn't always friendly.

We had difficulty getting cabs all weekend - we found ourselves wishing we'd stayed in Miami Beach or at least closer to the center of Coral Gables. We called from our room on Saturday night requesting that the concierge call us a cab ahead of time because we'd had a lot of trouble the night before as well. The concierge answered that it was very busy and they were calling but that we would need to just come down and deal with it ourselves.

We had breakfast one morning at the restaurant at the pool, and it took almost an hour to be served our meal. When it did arrive it was the wrong thing, and when we questioned it, instead of taking it away and fixing it, he argued with us, saying that he swore that we ordered what he was serving us.

When it came time to check out on Monday morning, only one person was working the front desk and she was occupied with another guest. We needed to settle up and had a flight to catch, and despite asking several other staff people if there was anyone else who could help us, we waiting almost 10 minutes to be helped.

It just seems to me that since this is a Leading Hotel of the World and we paid $500 per night for the room, we should be able to expect better service. I understand that it was a busy weekend, but it just seemed like the hotel was completely unprepared for the number of people they would be serving. Or maybe their attentions were otherwise occupied. Either way, it made for a less than pleasant stay. We would not come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback and regret that our service failed to meet your expectations. The Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status. We have dealt with the particular personnel involved and are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved. We thank you for the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was just a beautiful experience from the decor to the service. The location is perfect and our time there was just too short! This will be our destination from now on when traveling to south Florida.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with the Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.