We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for family reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Coral Gables
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for family reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was searching for a destination for 3 generations (15 total) to fly in to celebrate my moms 90th. The Miami area met the easy flight criteria and fortunately, I found the Biltmore. It was simply perfect. Everyone ( ages 25 to 90) loved the hotel. We did splurge and booked the Merrick Suite, a 3 king br suite on the 15th floor. The best part - spectacular views of course, but more importantly, a wonderful living room where we could all relax and catch up. A special kudo to Nick in reservations who worked with me on the rooms - no question was too silly for Nick. He was great. Also, we held my mom's birthday dinner in a private room at Palme d' Or and Patrick was fabulous helping me select the menu. It was an exquisite dinner with perfect attention to every detail. Also, some of us had spa treatments, some played tennis, everyone enjoyed the dreamy courtyard breakfasts and we loved getting a yummy lunch right at our pool chairs. The best comments - can we please come here for gram's 91 st birthday next year? Yes, it's a splurge weekend, but it was the perfect way to mark a milestone birthday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with the Biltmore, as all of us here do. We are delighted that you enjoyed your mother's special milestone birthday and family reunion in our Merrick Suite. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us - we hope to see you back next year or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    188
    73
    44
    21
See reviews for
207
261
34
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having had a satisfactory stay at this hotel I have been hounded by emails from them. Despite unsubscribing they still keep coming. While the hotel is okay it isn't worth the continual badgering. It is difficult to make a reservation and stay without giving one's email so I won't be staying again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We did respond to this comment several weeks ago, but it appears that was never posted on this website. We do understand the concern with being "overly e-mailed"; we will happily remove your e-mail address if you communicate directly with our PR office, as we cannot tell by the information attached to your comment what that address actually is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This might not be the place for design addicts, because the mixture of moresque, art deco and belle epoque with some sugar plum expects some tolerance in matter of taste. Nevertheless: This is a real Grand Hotel, where an experienced crew makes the guest feel home. You need a short ride into the center of Coral Gables? No problem, the Biltmore's town care takes you und picks you up. You are checking in late after a long flight? You'll find a bottle of a very good Californian pinot noir and some fruit in your room (complimentary). You like to swim? The pool has more than olympic size. Linens , pillows, beds: pure luxury. If you go to Miami (and can afford it): again, again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Biltmore in Coral Gables is an iconic treasure. It is full of the history of this beautiful part of Miami (Coral Gables FL) and the hotel does a great job in trying to preserve the old world beauty of this lovely hotel. It is my first choice when visiting Coral Gables and Miami. The staff work hard at European style service. We hosted a wedding for my daughter and the staff were wonderful to work with. We will return on future trips to Miami.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted you, your family and your guests enjoyed the hospitality for this very special occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We repeat stay after a few years specially to enjoy its Sunday brunch, still spectacular (but this time missing lobster!) I Advise you to visit the excellent assortment of desserts before you start eating. But nevertheless we detected a decline in service staff (always demanding more than looking for a tip) which is worrying for a hotel of its category.
Otherwise, spacious and comfortable suites, spectacular pool, golf ... but little else. Therefore, according to your needs or interests in Miami, there are other very good hotels in other areas of the city

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. Your comments regarding an observed decline in service are of concern, because among the many charges included in our $20 daily resort fee (a standard charge in South Florida hotels) is the inclusion of bellman gratuities for arrivals and departures. To that end, we encourage you to contact the Managing Director’s office directly, so we may address this issue thoroughly with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

While not the most "all cons" hotel in Miami, it is a great location and very historic for those of you looking for a bit of peace and quiet -- and tranquility -- in Coral Gables. The conference facilities were acceptable, and I was very impressed with the catering spreads for breakfast. For lunch, the staff were even willing to organize a special meal to accommodate my dietary concerns at the last minute (i.e. something a bit abnormal). It was appreciated.

The highlights of the service experience, however, were Jorge (?) at the concierge in the morning who went above and beyond to help me get something that I could eat for breakfast and gave me great tips about where to go running when I discovered that the gym was closed in the morning. I also had a rather amazing bell boy when I checked in during the evening who was very solicitous and keen to be of good service (although it felt a bit overanxious / trying to hard on another level). Bottom line = was pleased by how responsive and careful people were.

The facilities are grand, but a bit aging. That having been said, there is a charm to them that is still of a high quality. The gym is fully kitted out and quite good when it is open.

The bathroom was recently renovated, which meant it was quite decent. I can imagine that, a few years ago, it would have been a bit tatty. But they did well to keep the updates with some graceful stone and have everything looking very slick. The bed and the bedding was very nice. One of the big issues, however, is the lighting in the room. When you enter the room, there is only one switch that turns on a dim light that is not much brighter than an iPhone. Getting to any of the table lamps was a bit challenging because of the layout of the room and furniture. While I appreciate mood lighting and that not every hotel has ceiling lighting, this was one of the most extreme "light challenges" of all of my travels.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. Your positive feedback is most appreciated, and your comments about the lighting and furniture placement in your room have been passed along to the appropriate departments for remedying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Biltmore on several occasions, since it is a large meeting/conference hotel, and the groups to which I belong go there every couple of years for conferences. This will be my last visit.

Yes, the property is lovely - nice grounds, historic building, etc. But management has adopted a not-so-nice "don't give a damn about individual guests" approach. If you have clout as part of a big, expensive wedding or a repeat group, you might get better treatment.

First the small stuff. A lobster sandwich for lunch was dripping with mayo and stuffed full of the sourset, most vinegary olives imaginable. Olives? In a lobster salad? What are they thinking? Lobster is delicate and succulent. The olives overwhelmed it totally. We sent it back, only to find out that instead of taking the $21 item off the bill, they charged us $9 for the fries it came with.

The room was the big deal breaker, particularly when we got back at 10 pm to find ear splitting music from two weddings. Management offered us a room a couple of floors higher, which softened the din a bit, but was still not conducive to sleep. Then they said to be patient, since the bands would quit by 1 am. Really? $500 for a room, and I have to wait till 1 am before I can even think about sleeping? No way. We checked out. The next day my wife found a charge for the full amount on her AmEx.

Skip this place. It's resting on its historic laurels and way, way overrated.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore. We sincerely regret that the experience fell so short of your expectations. This matter is of grave concern, as we take great pride in our commitment to guest satisfaction. As a goodwill gesure, we have credited your folio for the full amount of your room charge and room tax. Additionally, we have addressed the problems that you encountered with your meal at the poolside restaurant with the appropriate manager and are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.