We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Living in a castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This might not be the place for design addicts, because the mixture of moresque, art deco and belle epoque with some sugar plum expects some tolerance in matter of taste. Nevertheless: This is a real Grand Hotel, where an experienced crew makes the guest feel home. You need a short ride into the center of Coral Gables? No problem, the Biltmore's town care takes you und picks you up. You are checking in late after a long flight? You'll find a bottle of a very good Californian pinot noir and some fruit in your room (complimentary). You like to swim? The pool has more than olympic size. Linens , pillows, beds: pure luxury. If you go to Miami (and can afford it): again, again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    250
    108
    52
    27
See reviews for
269
345
42
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Biltmore in Coral Gables is an iconic treasure. It is full of the history of this beautiful part of Miami (Coral Gables FL) and the hotel does a great job in trying to preserve the old world beauty of this lovely hotel. It is my first choice when visiting Coral Gables and Miami. The staff work hard at European style service. We hosted a wedding for my daughter and the staff were wonderful to work with. We will return on future trips to Miami.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted you, your family and your guests enjoyed the hospitality for this very special occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We repeat stay after a few years specially to enjoy its Sunday brunch, still spectacular (but this time missing lobster!) I Advise you to visit the excellent assortment of desserts before you start eating. But nevertheless we detected a decline in service staff (always demanding more than looking for a tip) which is worrying for a hotel of its category.
Otherwise, spacious and comfortable suites, spectacular pool, golf ... but little else. Therefore, according to your needs or interests in Miami, there are other very good hotels in other areas of the city

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. Your comments regarding an observed decline in service are of concern, because among the many charges included in our $20 daily resort fee (a standard charge in South Florida hotels) is the inclusion of bellman gratuities for arrivals and departures. To that end, we encourage you to contact the Managing Director’s office directly, so we may address this issue thoroughly with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

While not the most "all cons" hotel in Miami, it is a great location and very historic for those of you looking for a bit of peace and quiet -- and tranquility -- in Coral Gables. The conference facilities were acceptable, and I was very impressed with the catering spreads for breakfast. For lunch, the staff were even willing to organize a special meal to accommodate my dietary concerns at the last minute (i.e. something a bit abnormal). It was appreciated.

The highlights of the service experience, however, were Jorge (?) at the concierge in the morning who went above and beyond to help me get something that I could eat for breakfast and gave me great tips about where to go running when I discovered that the gym was closed in the morning. I also had a rather amazing bell boy when I checked in during the evening who was very solicitous and keen to be of good service (although it felt a bit overanxious / trying to hard on another level). Bottom line = was pleased by how responsive and careful people were.

The facilities are grand, but a bit aging. That having been said, there is a charm to them that is still of a high quality. The gym is fully kitted out and quite good when it is open.

The bathroom was recently renovated, which meant it was quite decent. I can imagine that, a few years ago, it would have been a bit tatty. But they did well to keep the updates with some graceful stone and have everything looking very slick. The bed and the bedding was very nice. One of the big issues, however, is the lighting in the room. When you enter the room, there is only one switch that turns on a dim light that is not much brighter than an iPhone. Getting to any of the table lamps was a bit challenging because of the layout of the room and furniture. While I appreciate mood lighting and that not every hotel has ceiling lighting, this was one of the most extreme "light challenges" of all of my travels.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. Your positive feedback is most appreciated, and your comments about the lighting and furniture placement in your room have been passed along to the appropriate departments for remedying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Biltmore on several occasions, since it is a large meeting/conference hotel, and the groups to which I belong go there every couple of years for conferences. This will be my last visit.

Yes, the property is lovely - nice grounds, historic building, etc. But management has adopted a not-so-nice "don't give a damn about individual guests" approach. If you have clout as part of a big, expensive wedding or a repeat group, you might get better treatment.

First the small stuff. A lobster sandwich for lunch was dripping with mayo and stuffed full of the sourset, most vinegary olives imaginable. Olives? In a lobster salad? What are they thinking? Lobster is delicate and succulent. The olives overwhelmed it totally. We sent it back, only to find out that instead of taking the $21 item off the bill, they charged us $9 for the fries it came with.

The room was the big deal breaker, particularly when we got back at 10 pm to find ear splitting music from two weddings. Management offered us a room a couple of floors higher, which softened the din a bit, but was still not conducive to sleep. Then they said to be patient, since the bands would quit by 1 am. Really? $500 for a room, and I have to wait till 1 am before I can even think about sleeping? No way. We checked out. The next day my wife found a charge for the full amount on her AmEx.

Skip this place. It's resting on its historic laurels and way, way overrated.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore. We sincerely regret that the experience fell so short of your expectations. This matter is of grave concern, as we take great pride in our commitment to guest satisfaction. As a goodwill gesure, we have credited your folio for the full amount of your room charge and room tax. Additionally, we have addressed the problems that you encountered with your meal at the poolside restaurant with the appropriate manager and are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed a here a couple times since my son has enrolled at University of Miami. I chose it because of its close proximity to the campus and really didn't realize what a brilliant choice I had made until I arrived. Staying at the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables is like stepping back in time while still rooted in our modern times. As you walk into the lobby you see two enormous bird cages and the beautiful birds that reside there. It is easy to imagine the splendor and opulence of another era where movie stars, tycoons and dignitaries came to escape the winter months so many years ago. Despite the grandeur of the high painted ceilings and immense lobby the Biltmore has a relaxed and welcoming feeling. The property has been well maintained and the lake size swimming pool has recently been completely renovated. Unfortunately I haven't had time to take advantage of all the hotel has to offer in terms of golfing, swimming or dining at the restaurants. However, the breakfast buffet is excellent and the service and staff are always friendly and helpful in every way. The bar/lounge has a nice happy hour and is a great place to cool off and unwind after a day in the Miami heat.
The size of the rooms are ample and furnished very tastefully. My one complaint is each time I first entered my room after check-in it smelled slightly musty but I suppose that it might be because of the high humidity and the fact that the room may not have been occupied immediately prior to my arrival. A little spritz of air freshener does the trick.
I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Coral Gables. It is a easy drive to the sights, sounds and tastes of Miami, South Beach, Coconut Grove and Key Biscayne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Overall, the hotel was grand and charming. There are large bird cages in the lobby. The atmosphere was not new and slick. There is a very large outdoor pool with an open bar/ restaurant on one side. Staff from check in to car valets, to drivers, to pool boys were all excellent.
Our room wasn't very quiet. We could hear talking through the adjoining room. Also, other guests were loud getting off elevator. Housekeeping staff were excellent and quiet in the halls.

Room Tip: We had a balcony on the 6 th floor overlooking the courtyard and the golf course beyond. gorgeous v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore. We regret that the experience did not completely meet your expectations. With regard to the comments you expressed about the noise, we encourage you to contact the Managing Director's office directly, so we may address these issues thoroughly with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.