We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, particularly concierge - decent rooms - historic venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
LHW.com amextravel.com
and 12 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Coral Gables
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good service, particularly concierge - decent rooms - historic venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

While not the most "all cons" hotel in Miami, it is a great location and very historic for those of you looking for a bit of peace and quiet -- and tranquility -- in Coral Gables. The conference facilities were acceptable, and I was very impressed with the catering spreads for breakfast. For lunch, the staff were even willing to organize a special meal to accommodate my dietary concerns at the last minute (i.e. something a bit abnormal). It was appreciated.

The highlights of the service experience, however, were Jorge (?) at the concierge in the morning who went above and beyond to help me get something that I could eat for breakfast and gave me great tips about where to go running when I discovered that the gym was closed in the morning. I also had a rather amazing bell boy when I checked in during the evening who was very solicitous and keen to be of good service (although it felt a bit overanxious / trying to hard on another level). Bottom line = was pleased by how responsive and careful people were.

The facilities are grand, but a bit aging. That having been said, there is a charm to them that is still of a high quality. The gym is fully kitted out and quite good when it is open.

The bathroom was recently renovated, which meant it was quite decent. I can imagine that, a few years ago, it would have been a bit tatty. But they did well to keep the updates with some graceful stone and have everything looking very slick. The bed and the bedding was very nice. One of the big issues, however, is the lighting in the room. When you enter the room, there is only one switch that turns on a dim light that is not much brighter than an iPhone. Getting to any of the table lamps was a bit challenging because of the layout of the room and furniture. While I appreciate mood lighting and that not every hotel has ceiling lighting, this was one of the most extreme "light challenges" of all of my travels.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. Your positive feedback is most appreciated, and your comments about the lighting and furniture placement in your room have been passed along to the appropriate departments for remedying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    188
    73
    44
    21
See reviews for
207
261
34
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Biltmore on several occasions, since it is a large meeting/conference hotel, and the groups to which I belong go there every couple of years for conferences. This will be my last visit.

Yes, the property is lovely - nice grounds, historic building, etc. But management has adopted a not-so-nice "don't give a damn about individual guests" approach. If you have clout as part of a big, expensive wedding or a repeat group, you might get better treatment.

First the small stuff. A lobster sandwich for lunch was dripping with mayo and stuffed full of the sourset, most vinegary olives imaginable. Olives? In a lobster salad? What are they thinking? Lobster is delicate and succulent. The olives overwhelmed it totally. We sent it back, only to find out that instead of taking the $21 item off the bill, they charged us $9 for the fries it came with.

The room was the big deal breaker, particularly when we got back at 10 pm to find ear splitting music from two weddings. Management offered us a room a couple of floors higher, which softened the din a bit, but was still not conducive to sleep. Then they said to be patient, since the bands would quit by 1 am. Really? $500 for a room, and I have to wait till 1 am before I can even think about sleeping? No way. We checked out. The next day my wife found a charge for the full amount on her AmEx.

Skip this place. It's resting on its historic laurels and way, way overrated.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore. We sincerely regret that the experience fell so short of your expectations. This matter is of grave concern, as we take great pride in our commitment to guest satisfaction. As a goodwill gesure, we have credited your folio for the full amount of your room charge and room tax. Additionally, we have addressed the problems that you encountered with your meal at the poolside restaurant with the appropriate manager and are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed a here a couple times since my son has enrolled at University of Miami. I chose it because of its close proximity to the campus and really didn't realize what a brilliant choice I had made until I arrived. Staying at the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables is like stepping back in time while still rooted in our modern times. As you walk into the lobby you see two enormous bird cages and the beautiful birds that reside there. It is easy to imagine the splendor and opulence of another era where movie stars, tycoons and dignitaries came to escape the winter months so many years ago. Despite the grandeur of the high painted ceilings and immense lobby the Biltmore has a relaxed and welcoming feeling. The property has been well maintained and the lake size swimming pool has recently been completely renovated. Unfortunately I haven't had time to take advantage of all the hotel has to offer in terms of golfing, swimming or dining at the restaurants. However, the breakfast buffet is excellent and the service and staff are always friendly and helpful in every way. The bar/lounge has a nice happy hour and is a great place to cool off and unwind after a day in the Miami heat.
The size of the rooms are ample and furnished very tastefully. My one complaint is each time I first entered my room after check-in it smelled slightly musty but I suppose that it might be because of the high humidity and the fact that the room may not have been occupied immediately prior to my arrival. A little spritz of air freshener does the trick.
I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Coral Gables. It is a easy drive to the sights, sounds and tastes of Miami, South Beach, Coconut Grove and Key Biscayne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Overall, the hotel was grand and charming. There are large bird cages in the lobby. The atmosphere was not new and slick. There is a very large outdoor pool with an open bar/ restaurant on one side. Staff from check in to car valets, to drivers, to pool boys were all excellent.
Our room wasn't very quiet. We could hear talking through the adjoining room. Also, other guests were loud getting off elevator. Housekeeping staff were excellent and quiet in the halls.

Room Tip: We had a balcony on the 6 th floor overlooking the courtyard and the golf course beyond. gorgeous v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore. We regret that the experience did not completely meet your expectations. With regard to the comments you expressed about the noise, we encourage you to contact the Managing Director's office directly, so we may address these issues thoroughly with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Second time I have been here - business with a personal stay tagged on the end. Great location, service generally good - except the whole breakfast customer service is poor, otherwise great place to stay, gym has just been refreshed in the past 12 months with new treadmills etc, and some great runs around the area. Housekeeping is very thorough and friendly as is concierge and the bars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We welcome constructive and timely feedback from all our valued guests as a means of monitoring our level of services and product quality to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. We made Restaurant Management aware of your comments on the breakfast service and appropriate measures have been taken to avoid such occurrences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel BAR was our first stop every night before dinner. Gorancho was the best bartender we've ever met. Such a nice man, very informative, quiet spoken and we wanted to take him home. i will be back just beacuse of him .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managine Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
At The Biltmore, our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable – we’re very pleased we exceeded expectations with regards to our valued team member Gorancho!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Take some time to sit in the lobby and appreciate the beauty and timelessness of this property. The walls are covered with old photos and there are display cases with treasured artifacts from years gone by in the lobby. The staff is wonderful and they're commitment to service quality is obvious. Special kudos must also go to the engineering staff as one could only imagine the challenges of integrating the conveniences of today into a 90 year old property.

The hotel is expensive as are the ancillary services (spa, restaurants, lounges, etc.), so plan ahead. There's really nowhere to walk to so plan for that as well. Don't let that spoil your stay though. This is a truly nostalgic property that must be admired by both the novice and experienced traveller.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at the Biltmore soon. And for next time, please know that The Biltmore offers complimentary town car service to our guests to enjoy dining, museum and shopping experiences throughout the city of Coral Gables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.