We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the all time great hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the all time great hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Take some time to sit in the lobby and appreciate the beauty and timelessness of this property. The walls are covered with old photos and there are display cases with treasured artifacts from years gone by in the lobby. The staff is wonderful and they're commitment to service quality is obvious. Special kudos must also go to the engineering staff as one could only imagine the challenges of integrating the conveniences of today into a 90 year old property.

The hotel is expensive as are the ancillary services (spa, restaurants, lounges, etc.), so plan ahead. There's really nowhere to walk to so plan for that as well. Don't let that spoil your stay though. This is a truly nostalgic property that must be admired by both the novice and experienced traveller.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at the Biltmore soon. And for next time, please know that The Biltmore offers complimentary town car service to our guests to enjoy dining, museum and shopping experiences throughout the city of Coral Gables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    225
    95
    50
    24
See reviews for
253
315
40
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Perfect place for a restful week in Miami. Luxury started with the room -- plush towels, smooth sheets, quiet and spacious. Ate frequently at Fountain(morning)/Fontana(evening) where service was excellent. Enjoyed drinks at Cascade bar by the huge pool (January water too cold for this old florida girl though). Loved the high tea in the lobby. Note that hotel auto-adds 18% service charge at all eating places. We'd rented a car, but could have used hotel complimentary town car drop-off if we had only wanted to go to Coral Gables. If husband or I were a golfer, this place would have been even more fun, but we simply enjoyed the serenity and good location (not far from airport, and central to various sights, but off in its own little world).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that the 18% gratuity added onto the check is for the guest’s convenience and it is entirely at the guest’s discretion to either, increase, reduce or completely eliminate the amount of gratuity, depending on the perceived level of service received. This option is clearly stated on the guest’s check and has been received most positively by Biltmore patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel... full of charm & history .
Everywhere is a pleasure to explore. Only ate breakfast there & that was marvellous.
Coral Gables itself is a very nice area with lots of shops & restaurants within a 10 min drive of the hotel..... They provide a town car to take you & pick you up too. Would recommend this hotel highly although not if you want the beach on your doorstep.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

what a breath of fresh air in the midst of the crowded congested miami area. This place is a dream to stay in. Better to eat before you go here, as the restaurants are not that friendly or cost effective, but they are handy if you are hungry and don't want to go out. Every hotel worker we encountered was as helpful as can be, and seemed genuinely interested in our comfort at their hotel.
Overall, a wonderful experience

Room Tip: corner rooms seems better. Splurge for the suite if you can, it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. We were surprised to see the comments regarding restaurant quality and service, as two of our restaurants (Palme d'Or and Fontana) have received top Zagat ratings in South Florida for four years running. The pricing is consistent with that of other top-rated restaurants in the South Florida area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

From the moment we pulled up to the entrance of the hotel, we began to experience the attention to detail that became more evident as we stayed there. This hotel may have been there for many years, but it has been restored to it's orriginal beauty (just as I remembered it from the 70's). We ate at 3 restaurants as well as at a cocktail reception and wedding. The food was excellent. Surprising for "banquet" food. If you can, stay in "The Tower". The view of the city is beautiful. I would recomend this hotel for a special occasion as it is a bit pricey. Given a gift again, I'd be packed in a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: Try for the Tower!!! The view is beautiful, and no obstructions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with the Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The building is beautiful, the pool is gorgeous but very cold, the front desk
Is beyond miserable, late in in answering, appear overworked, promise
You service and don't deliver.
One of the Worcester experiences among Miami hotels with comparable
Price.
The staff looks like if they are on training, concierge service was average,
Fo tana restaurant was good service and ok food.
The hotel looks like has a good past and a terrible present.
The cabana boys and girls need to understand what a cabana boy
Exactly means.
Th best food was poolside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Biltmore. We regret that the experience did not meet your expectations. With regard to the staff comments you expressed, we have dealt with the particular personnel involved and are confident these issues have been effectively resolved. Also, please know that we make every effort possible to immediately resolve a guest’s issues related to their hotel experience when brought to our attention at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth Budd
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, and staff are wonderful. Things are a bit rundown for this level of hotel, but I suppose that's to be expected. The pool bar was crazy expensive for beyond ordinary food. Fontana, however, was a very good experience food wise, though still overpriced. We'd go back to the Biltmore to enjoy the gorgeous pool, but probably venture outward to eat. Since we were there only one night before leaving on a Regent Seven Seas cruise, it was easiest just to stay put. Had a blow out at the spa; great stylist who did a wonderful job, but, again, overpriced for the value. That's part of the gig with this type of hotel, I suppose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Here at the Biltmore, we welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. We appreciate your positive comments about Fontana and our spa; please know that prices at both are comparable with, and standard for, luxury hotels across South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.