We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice older hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice older hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Biltmore is a beautiful older hotel tucked away in Coral Gables. We stayed here for a wedding and received the room block price - which was still expensive for the tiny room we got, but nicely appointed and comfortably furnished. We were told that the hotel was sold out for the night, but it never appeared to be too crowded. We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the front of the hotel, and when the windows were closed, we couldn't hear a thing.

Around 10pm the first night, I had laid down to get some rest, and somebody from housekeeping came into our room - I don't know if it was to offer turn down service or what, but I couldn't imagine why they would come in so late. She appologized profusely and I just kept the "do not disturb" sign on the door after that.

One thing that did irk me during our stay was when we were getting ready for the wedding in one of the suites (5th floor). We had several people in the room (bridesmaids, hair/makeup people, etc.) and we needed more glasses as there were only 2 in the room. I called the front desk to please bring up some more cups to drink from and they charged the bride to bring up empty glasses for drinking. A bit absurd when you're paying the prices they are charging for the rooms themselves, let alone the suites.

We did not get to try the brunch on Sunday morning which I hear is amazing, and overall, we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our product and services. With regards to the comment about being charged for the glasses, this isolated incident is certainly not reflective of our normal standards or service culture at the Biltmore. We would welcome an opportunity to personally address these issues with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    276
    120
    58
    32
See reviews for
304
381
46
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Let's be honest: I'm not really the kind of person who would stay at the Biltmore if it weren't for a wedding we attended there. It is a gorgeous estate -- luxurious, ornate, classy. But you pay dearly for it.

We scored a decent (mid-$200s) rate for our stay, given how posh it is. But unlike at other expensive hotels -- say, in downtown Boston or midtown Manhattan -- you're kind of trapped on the hotel grounds. So if you want a cup of coffee in the morning, you can't just walk across the street to a coffee shop; you're forced to buy it at a premium from the hotel bar. (Even a Starbucks would be cheaper.) Likewise, unless you want to drive somewhere, you're eating on the premises -- which means you're paying $18 for a lackluster hamburger, or far more for something delicious. (Delicious is available though -- see my review of La Fontana.)

We also awoke one morning to very loud drilling above our room. We called down to the desk to ask if they could wait until later in the day, and the racket stopped... for about 20 minutes. Then it picked right back up again. It was directly above us, rattling the room and our minds. We complained at the desk (we've never done this before, but then again we don't usually drop $250 a night either) and they gave us a discount and an apology. But still, it was midweek and not particularly busy... shouldn't you avoid booking the rooms directly adjacent to a construction zone if possible? I feel like this is Hotel Management 101 stuff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We welcome constructive and timely feedback from all our valued guests as a means of monitoring our level of services and product quality to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. We made Front Desk Management aware of your comments on the breakfast service and appropriate measures were taken to avoid such occurrences in the future. Additionally, we would welcome an opportunity to personally address these issues with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Brunch at the Biltmore is a MUST! From the moment you check in till the moment you leave you are treated like royalty. Unlimited mimosas, bloody marys or which ever drink you prefer. So many choices, the seafood table, stone crab, shrimp, peeled and clean, oysters, tuna, salmon, caviar station, moving to the pasta station, made to order pasta with your choice of sauces and ingredients, moving on the carving station, pork loin, roast, paella, omelette station, breads, pancakes, breakfast meats. The dessert room is amazing! Chocolate fountain, candies, cake pops, creme brulees, flans, brownies, icecream, all kinds of desserts. Tip: Book in advance and eat at the court yard, enjoy the Florida weather, and reserve as early as possible to truly enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Arriving by shuttle from the airport, there was nobody to help us wheel the luggage across the driveway area. Once at the entrance, we handed over the luggage to a doorman who suddenly appeared and from then on the experience was of a high level of personal service and frequently being greeted by name. Built in the European grand style, the hotel maintains its property and the rooms are well modernized, reasonably sized, quiet and comfortable. Typical of the service standard, there is a town car provided to shuttle guests locally. The concierge was friendly and helpful and one got the impression that no request was too small, large or impossible. Our room had a two sided desk which worked fine as a computer station for me (there is included wifi) and a dressing table on the other side for my wife. One negative is the lack of an in-room coffee maker, but most every other amenity was there. Our stay was short, given the chance we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Wanted to surprise my hubby for his bday with a stay here. Booked a special that included welcome amenity and complimentary town car service. Welcome amenity took almost an hour to get to our room although it was fresh, yummy and delivered by a very friendly staff member. Went to the pool and were approached by 2 staff members, on separate occasions, in less than a half hour asking if we were actual guests at the hotel?! Booking the town car was a mission. First, i was told i should reserve it as soon as possible. Since i had reservations at a nearby restaurant, i tried to reserve a car as soon as we checked in...i was told to wait until 30-20min prior to my reservation and call from my room. When i call, they tell me the car is out and will be out for 15-20min. 5 min later, i was called to my room to tell me if my hubby and i were willing to share a ride with someone else, the towncar would be available in 5min. My hubby and i rush downstairs and find that the car is waiting for us and that the other gentleman was already in the car...in the backseat. My hubby and i were forced to sit separetly, something i believe the staff should have communicated to the gentleman and asked if he minded sitting in the front as a couple was going to join him. Luckily he was a nice guy and we had good conversation. We did get picked up after dinner without an issue. The special i booked included breakfast, which really meant $20 credit each for breakfast (which doesnt go a long way here). We ordered in room and, i must say, it was delicious! The staff member that delivered it was awesome. She set up our table and was very friendly which really helped me digest the price when i saw the bill!! The room was nice but had an awkward setup in regards to the separation of the living and sleeping areas. Because the tv's for both were back to back, the tv in the living area would respond to the remote when we watched tv in bed! The bathroom was awesome. Super spacious, nice toiletries, really hot water with great pressure...lovely!
Overall, 4/5 stars...nice but slightly missed the mark for the outstanding reputation it has. Maybe it was just an off day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was a lovely hotel. First of all, one of the most beautiful pools and lobbies in the world. Gorgeous architecture - very 20s. Like a movie set. As you check in you are offered juice or water and some lovely person will bring it to you while you sit peacefully on the sofa. Parking can be either valet or self park and the self park is literally one minute from the pool entrance, so hardly an imposition. When I needed my boarding pass printed the concierge took care of it no time. The Fontana restaurant is excellent - not outrageously overpriced and not horrid hotel food. Breakfast can be buffet or a la carte. Or eat next to the pool for any of your meals which is a little less expensive and tropically relaxed. About 20 minute drive to Miami Beach, but every time you make the drive you get to plunge into that breathtaking Miami skyline. An extra dividend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel was awesome and probably one of the most comfortable hotels I have ever stayed in. I was not expecting to like it enough just to sit around here for most of the stay but we did. Rundown:

Value – we ended up canceling a hotel on the water to stay here during a split stay to the area. It was half the price and was so impressive during the first part of our stay we ended up booking in for the second part of the stay. The level of service was well above the price we paid to stay here.

The rooms - were excellent. During the first stay we had a normal room w/ a king bed. The room was large, provided a ton of space. The only downside, it was not really set up w/ a desk etc if you had to do business. I’d ask if your room is set up for business if that is your need. The second part of the stay we had a suite; it was a great size and allowed for plenty of room to relax and work. The internet was a little quirky and would kick you off randomly, that would probably be my only criticism. Every amenity in the room was high end. Advice – try to get one of the few rooms w/ a balcony.

Service – every aspect was perfect. Whether it was in the bar, pool, gym, restaurant, or bell hop it was great.

Grounds – I am bias towards historical hotels. The building is great, interesting, and at times boarders on weird. The restoration that was done to this building was even more impressive when you find out that this building was shuttered for years.

Gym – it is actually an athletic club. It has every machine a normal gym at home would have, complete w/ a juice bar and trainers.

Pool – it bears separate mention because it is one of the largest in the world - definitely something to see and enjoy.

Restaurants – it has several. The food is great, fresh, and well made. The bars are old school and places you can sit, have a drink, and either visit or read and relax.

Location – it’s a 10-15 minute drive to the beach, etc. 5 minutes to the airport. If you want a ton of action and things to do you are going to have to drive to it – it really depends what sort of experience you would like.

Golf – great track – and next to the hotel, no driving necessary.

In short, this is a great place to stay if you are in the Miami area and use for a base of operations – especially if you want to stay out of the crowds. This is an even better place to stay if you want to fly to Miami, take a car to the hotel, and check out for the weekend. Try it, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#3 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.