We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“A Most Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Biltmore, as it was one of the most relaxing hotel visits we have had in a long time. The events my husband attended were well supported by the hotel staff. When we had free time for lunch or dinner we hardly ever left the property as the hotel has so many varied restaurant venues that we always found one that suited us. The “Happy Hours” were an excellent opportunity to share a drink with colleagues and the staff’s professionalism made us feel welcome. The staff were always dependable and very helpful. I enjoyed the spa along with its many services, the afternoon "high tea", learning about the hotels history from the tour of the hotel & grounds, swimming in the largest pool in America, and many of the hotels other amenities. A most enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    268
    117
    57
    31
See reviews for
296
373
45
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is strictly a case of a historical hotel forgetting that in today's environment, price and value need to be connected in some manner. The Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has a history dating back to the mid-1920's. It was built by the founder of Coral Gables to be a playground for the rich and pampered wintering in the Miami area. Its walls are covered with the photos of the wealthy and priviledged of the first half of the 20th century enjoying what money and priviledge buy. I found the price of the hotel to have nothing to do with value. The hotel makes sure that all convenience items and services are priced alacarte. You want a soft drink in your room. There are no choices but o get it out of the locked refrigerator in your room that is jammed with various beverages, with and without alcohol. The coke will cost you $4, plus sales tax, plus service fee, plus a "restocking" fee. Your $1.50 coke will end up on your final bill as nearly $6. God help you if you want a beer or a half-carafe of wine. You could order up room service. A breakfast of buttered croissant, choice of coffee or tea and juice is $19, plus gratuity of 18%, plus sales tax of 9%, plus service charge of $3.50. For a buttered bun, coffee and a juice, you choke up around $27.00. And that is per person.
For these prices, you would expect the service of a lifetime. We were met by the super bell hop. He insisted that he grab our luggage out of the car. I explained that our room was not ready yet and I thought it would be better if the luggage stayed with me. He assured me he would make sure it got to our room when it was ready. Well, let's just say that didn't happen. In fact, someone elses luggage was in our room. It took them a while to figure out where our luggage ended up. After an hour of angst, our luggage was found and delivered to our room. I hope the other person ended with their bags. The concierge wanted to do something to make up for the mistake. I told him that a nice glass of chardonnay delivered to the room would be nice. He effusively promised to have it there as his way of apologizing. It never arrived and when I walked through the lobby later that day, he looked through me like I had just arrived from another planet.
The room we had was small, cramped and the only thing comfortable was the bed. A very nice king sized bed that was comfortable. The other furniture in the room consisted of two straight-backed chairs that were nearly impossible to use and a small table.
The Biltmore is not the choice if you're looking for value for you money. And you will spend the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies for the less than favorable experience you had during your recent stay with us at The Biltmore. I assure you that this matter is of grave concern, as we take great pride in our commitment to guest satisfaction. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problems with the bellstaff, and we would welcome an opportunity to address this situation with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had been wanting to visit this hotel for some time and finally were able to do so for two nights in order to celebrate a birthday. From our time of arrival and the excellent service we recieved from Kassandra at the front desk, to the knowledge of the property and further great service from Alejandro and Raoul, the staff were part of what made our stay memorable and enjoyable. The room, complete with pool view was beautiful and comfortable. Dinner at the Palm d' or presided over by matre d Patrick who organized a special plate of handmade candies complete with Birrhday candle, and the wonderful Sunday brunch, were memorable meals. We were also pleasantly surprised by the birthday bottle of wine and fresh fruit that were sent to the room the first evening.
The grounds and pool are amazingly beautiful and the pool terrific for swiming, both in terms of the ambiance and the considerately shallow depth, which means you can almost always touch the bottom.
A fantastic visit, and we will certainly come again.

Room Tip: Try for a pool or golf course view, and the deluxe room with the divder is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, my room was immaculate. I stayed for several nights while on a business trip. Absolutely everyone on the staff was pleasant, friendly, and professional. I cannot praise them enough. I highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Miami.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A short trip to Miami and a return trip to the Biltmore. As expected, I received a very warm and efficient reception/check-in. My junior-suite was on a high floor overlooking the golf course and courtyard.

My colleagues and I met for dinner at Palm d'Or, their gourmet restaurant. Excellent meal in every way (I recommend the rack of lamb). There were three of us for dinner - one wasn't drinking, one was drinking white wine, and I wanted red - clearly not ideal to buy a bottle of anything! The sommelier made sure we had great options by the glass.

I have stayed here for vacation travel with family and will definitely return. It is one of the most beautiful hotels in the US!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Flew down to Coral Gables for wedding that was taking place at this hotel -- pretty much all the guests stayed here. The property is outstanding. Our room was on the 5th floor (room 528) and we had a deluxe room, essentially the same as a junior suite, with tiled floors, a view of the pool, and a sitting area. The property itself is a 30-45 minute taxi ride from South Beach and the hotel is actually located in a residential area but we came here with a group and had little reason to leave the hotel all weekend. There is nothing to do if you leave the hotel grounds (it's a suburban neighborhood). The hotel is a 10 minute drive from the airport and, once at the Biltmore, you have everything you need for a relaxing weekend. The restaurants are outstanding, the service is great, and the pool is a nice way to spend the day. And yes, if you get cabin fever, you can still take a car into South Beach (approximately $45). Remember to check out the champagne brunch on Sunday morning - if you thought you were leaving town early, it is worth catching a later flight....

Room Tip: Choose a "deluxe" room with tile floors and you get a tremendous value of a modern room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we suggest that next time you check out the myriad of activities in Coral Gables, many of which are listed in our daily guest newsletter - and to which you may avail yourself of our complimentary town car service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The facilities are absolutely georgous with old world charm that has been restored. I was in room 371 that had a quaint little terrace which was a wonderful surprise.

The swimming pool was amazing although too cold for my liking.

The service was outstanding. Everyone said hello in passing, were quick to assist, and restaurant service was first class.

We ate at every restaurant and the food was superb. Make sure to try out homemade pasta at Fontanas. Every pasta dish can be a half order which is a great side to fabulous seafood options.

the room itself was clean, the bathroom very well maintained, and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. I would love to take it home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.