We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Old Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Islamorada, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Old Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I absolutely enjoy being at the Biltmore and each time I stay there, I discover something new that I love! The pool area is very pleasant and the service staff is very friendly. The food is very good anywhere you in the hotel.

Room Tip: Junior suites are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It is always a pleasure to hear from our loyal repeat guests and know that their warm Biltmore experience keeps them returning year after year. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    225
    95
    50
    24
See reviews for
254
316
40
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Its a historical place built in 1926. Very strategically located between the Miami International airport and the south beach where all the action is. Golfers will love it as it has a 18 hole Golf course. I was told that this was a hospital earlier. Very well maintained property with top class service. Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a roof facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Another great stay with the family. From Pavel the bellman to Clinton and Hilda in La Fontana, we love this hotel. Got upgraded upon arrival (AMEX Platinum perk), received a welcome basket and a drink. Was offered a box refrig for keeping our drinks cold. Breakfasts are wonderful and served by very friendly staff. If I had to ask for one improvement, I would suggest complimentary coffee during the stay...only room service coffee ($20/day). Will not be our last stay.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the AMEX Platinum perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Our entire Biltmore team appreciates these kind words. It's always a pleasure to hear from our repeat guests. We look forward to your return and to delighting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Pricey but worth it. The architecture is beautiful. Built in 1926 it was the jewel of Coral Gables, it then was a V.A. Hospital, it has now return to it's previous glory. Multiple restaurants, tea room and bars, the food is amazing. The service is impeccable. Golf Course, one of the largest pools I've seen, spa. It's location makes seeing all the sites of Miami easily accessible. If you don't stay, you should go for a meal. Of course there is also the Haunted Al Capone Room tour, quite fun.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
At The Biltmore, our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable – we’re very pleased we exceeded expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambilly, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Being there for a long 4 days week end in Miami, I have been well and nicely surprised with this beautifull place. Being Europeans my wife and I are used to places with a bit of history and architectural charm but without being mean this is something hard to find in US where all hotels of a certain standing look alike (sheraton, hilton, ...). Good standards but a lack in personality.
This place is gorgeous without pretentious.
We booked for a standard room, very cosy and cute but small for people with a bit of luggage (we were on a 3 weeks vacations). I exposed the problem and the nice lady (Front desk manager) upgraded us to a large room, suite category without extra cost! I was ready to pay for it but as it was low season she insisted on it!! what a superb clientele attitude!
We did not have the time and chance to try the restaurant (menu looked good though) but we did go several times to the buffet breakfast which was defaultless.
And a must see: the oversized pool! One of the largest and nicest I saw in a city hotel!!
Overall nothing bad to say! only positive feedback! A place to be in Miami! An oasis of quietness within!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive impressions with us! In addition to all the fine amenities you mentioned, we also like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a star this place is. Set in the haven of Coral Gables a city within the city of Miami.
Built in the old style back in the 20's but kept in wonderful condition this is a gem to be savoured. Service from the moment the doorman meets you through every other aspect of the hotel is spot on. My king room overlooking the pool was large and tastefully decorated with a sitting area and a large bathroom. From the window you could see their 18 hole golf course past the largest swimming pool I have ever seen. 750,000 gallons of water to fill it. Food in the ambience of the Fontana courtyard restaurant with the stars above you and the warm breezes made the dining experience truly unforgettable. Service was superb and the swordfish just melted in the mouth. Even if you cannot stay go to the Cascade restaurant before you catch your plane and eat by the pool and soak up the ambience before making the 10 minute journey to the airport. You will promise yourself to stay the next time you are in Miami.

Room Tip: Take a superior king room overlooking the pool the view is stunning and the rooms large and very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with the Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us - we could not have promoted the hotel better than your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just spent three nights at the Biltmore in Coral Gables, Florida and were thrilled with our experience. Everything, but everything was just lovely. From the front desk person who checked us in, to the housekeeping staff, to the wait staff at the restaurants and bars, to the pool 'boys,' and doormen, every single staff person was helpful, engaging, personable and professional! Obviously, the management knows how to train its staff people and it shows.

The food at the various restaurants at the hotel is delicious and given the quality, quite reasonable. That said, we did not eat at the Palme d'Or, the gourmet restaurant, as we were engaged in the evenings, off-premises.

Our room was just lovely. It wasn't a Four Seasons, Ritz-Carlton or Park Hyatt room... as it wasn't 'over-the-top' luxury. That said, it was comfortable, spacious and oozed history, and charm. (I must add, we didn't pay Four Seasons or Park Hyatt rates, either!) Our room was in the tower and we had incredible views over the golf course and a little balcony with french doors. Our bathroom was tiled in marble with a wonderfully powerful showerhead and the sink, with gold faucets, was set into an onyx or granite countertop. And the floors throughout the bathroom and room, were the original marble floors. Last, but not least, the bed was sumptuous with luxurious bedding, down duvet and pillows!

The only negatives are: 1) that the resort is not located on the ocean and therefore, does not have a white sand beach, and 2) while the Biltmore has one of the largest freshwater swimming pools in the world (and it IS spectacular,) it is NOT heated and therefore, for adults, pretty much unswimmable. (I wish the hotel would build a heated pool somewhere on premise, which would add greatly to the many facilities of this resort.) 3) The hotel, as a famous, historic place, attracts lots of tourists, day-trippers, weddings, bar mitzvahs, benefits, corporate events, golfers and conventions. If that is bothersome to you, then the Biltmore may not be your cup-of-tea...

All, in all, the Biltmore is a sublime place to relax, unwind and enjoy "the good life," the way it was enjoyed since it was built in 1924, by folks such as the Vanderbilts, Al Capone, Judy Garland, the Duke & Duchess of Windsor, and lately, President Bill Clinton. Old world elegance and service with modern conveniences, that is the Biltmore.

Room Tip: We loved the tower room we got, but others whom we know, stayed elsewhere and loved their rooms. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, The Biltmore staff continuously strives to exceed our guests’ needs and expectations. We also welcome constructive feedback from our guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our product and services. Please know that our pool is heated, but as it is so large we have to address alternatives to further enhance conditions during the winter months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.