We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old Hotel with Great Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
FTW
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely old Hotel with Great Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This old historic hotel is really a treat to stay at. It boasts updated rooms with really nice bathrooms. No coffee service in the room - but it doesn't take too long to go to the LL to get a cup in the bar. The pool is magnificient!
As with any high end hotel - food, drink and accompaniments are very expensive. Examples - water in the room $8. coffee $4; margarita $17; Sunday breakfast buffet $75 (but you can eat the same food at the 19th hole restaurant for $25- just not all you can eat - but I could not finish). Gratuities are already added to everything - including your room @ $20 per day; so if you tip - just be aware that it is on top of what has already been added to your bill.
If you can get past this - then you'll have a great stay at a great hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor - lots of noisy wedding parties disturb lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback. Regarding the $20 daily resort fee: for guests' convenience, charges for special services not included in room rate are combined into a single daily fee of $20 added to the guest account; these include in-room high speed internet, maid service gratuities, daily admission to the Biltmore Fitness Center, guest's choice of daily newspaper, unlimited local calls, long distance access on credit card and outbound collect calls, bellman gratuities for arrivals and departures, town car service throughout Coral Gables and automobile self-parking. Resort fees are standard charges at all hotels throughout South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    276
    120
    58
    32
See reviews for
304
381
46
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The pool is amazing. We get a jounior suite on 10th floor with view on the pool for less than 200 $ only asking the receptionist for a good room.

We had dinner at the fountaine restaurants, it is gut but very expensive

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint paul
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I just completed a two night stay at the biltmore.. A few positives.. Eddie, a waiter in the Fontana restaurant, was excellent, as was Erica, who serves poolside.. Carlos, one of the bellmen, was also fantastic. The woman who checked me out at 645 am this morning needs to be fired. Her attitude is unacceptable. The 18%gratuity added to every thing is tasteless. Even at the brunch -which is a buffey! Really, a mandatory 18% for pouring me coffee? Also, at checkout, i realized that the bag of m&ms i had from the mini bar was 19.99. Now mind you, there was no price list, and i assumed 5-7 dollars, but 19.99??? The rooms are old and tired..my bathroom door wouldnt shut unless i jammed the nightstand up agai.nst the bed, which incidentally, the housekeeper moved back into place each day... The entire experience was just lackluster, worth the exception on the few people I've called out. The moral of this one is that the hotel is still acting like it is a destination property that everyone is clamoring to be at, charging high prices for what really, is no better than what I'd imagine a holiday inn to be like.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
The 18% gratuity is added on the check for the guest’s convenience and it is entirely at the guest’s discretion to either, increase, reduce or completely eliminate the amount of gratuity, depending on the perceived level of service received. This option is clearly stated on the guest’s check and has been received most positively by Biltmore patrons. Additionally, As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We extend every effort possible to resolve guests' issues related to their hotel experience when these concerns are brought directly to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

When ever me and my family go to Florida we ALWAYS make this our first and/or last stop on our holiday. I have been going to the Biltmore Hotel for over 12 years now and I am always happy when I leave. It is such a lovely relaxing hotel. Everything is taken of for you. Everyone is very attentive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with the Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband used to live in Coral Gables, and we love the Biltmore! We were there to celebrate our birthdays and could not have had a better time. The staff was amazing and we had a beautiful tower suite on the 14th floor. We took a very early flight and were at MIA by 9am...since it was raining we asked for an early check in, which they gladly arranged on short notice.
They knew we were celebrating our birthdays and sent up a fruit platter, and then next day chocolate covered strawberries. The place is old but not in a bad way...it's so charming and just spotless. We enjoy looking at all of the old pictures of "The Gables". Ask at the desk for a little brochure about the history of the hotel!
The pool was recently updated and it could not be prettier! The food is always first rate. No matter how many times we've stayed there it's still our favorite place in the Miami area. Close enough to south beach, lincoln rd, etc but worlds apart!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask about AAA or other discount programs. Tower suites are AMAZING!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Our entire Biltmore team appreciates these kind words. It's always a pleasure to hear from our repeat guests. We look forward to your return and to delighting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Baltimore is a solid hotel. The staff is great and all the amenities rock. I recommend getting a pool cabana for the day. The only problem is that it's sort of isolated. I'm a city guy so I like to be able to walk to a different restaurant or sight see. At the biltmore you have take a pretty decent cab ride to get out of neighborhood. However the ground are impeccable and they have all sorts of spa and golf and other option to stay busy on property. I personally sit by the pool, sip the delicious mojitos ( acai mojitos the last time we were there) and eat off the pool menu!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, for the future, please know that The Biltmore offers complimentary town car service to our guests to enjoy dining and shopping experiences throughout the city of Coral Gables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We chose the Biltmore for the history and the fitness center and were pleasantly surprised by both. Guests of the hotel have access the the Biltmore Club's fitness center and fitness classes. We are members of 24 Hour Fitness and are used to high quality classes and the Biltmore exceeded our high expectations. Philip was our spin instructor for two days and while my wife and I have taken hundreds of classes, Philip's ranks among the very best. The exercise equipment is first class and hands down the best I've seen at any hotel.
The hotel itself is gorgeous and loaded with old-Florida history. It has had several lives, but the hotel has been brought back to its former glory-although some renovations remain ongoing. The pool is legendary for all the right reasons. The food choices, while pricey, are excellent. The rooms are updated and very comfortable. If you're traveling on a weekday do not miss high tea served in the beautiful hotel lobby. Lastly, have breakfast at the Cascade on the pool deck at least one morning. We chose to hit the gym, followed by a spin class, followed by a nice swim in the pool while we waited for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are very appreciative of your comments - in particular, about our newly renovated Fitness Center, pool and Cascade Restaurant - and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#3 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.