We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“living on a reputation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
LHW.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Coral Gables
Pinner
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“living on a reputation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

My wife and I just finished a wonderful cruise an had booked a further 5 days at the Biltmore. The first problem was trying to get a cup of coffee. We went to the general restaurant and was told that it was being set for the evening we were directed by a rather offish hostess to "the coffee shop". This is only a shop to get coffee in a cardboeard cup to take away. when we asked where we could sit down and be served with coffee in a real cup , she was very rude and told us we could not get it. This is a 5 star hotel - one of the leading hotels in the world group. We then asked at front desk and again was told to go back to the Coffee Shop. when we said that we wanted just a cup of coffee. we were brushed off. We ended up in our room having to have room service. we booked dinner in the restaurant for the next night and was not asked whether we wanted to sit inside or on the terrace. When we arrived the next day, the hostess immediateley told us that outside was not available. when we queried why we were not given the opportuniity when we booked she just ignored our comment. Eventually a manager sympathised and offered us a complimentary brunch. When we went to check out- this Complimentary meal was charged at $165. I had to argue the point to ge it removed from the account. The bellmen, concierge and waiting staff were excellent but the other did not know how to communicate or look after their guests. The Swimming Pool is reknown to be the biggest in the USA - it is also the coldest. I wondered why it was so empty!!!.

  • Liked — clean and spacious
  • Disliked — no safery rails in bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    188
    73
    44
    21
See reviews for
207
261
34
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

I've traveled the world and stayed at a number of 3,4, and 5 star hotels, and I've never had such a poor experience as I've had at the Biltmore.

When my wife and I first arrived at the hotel there was no bellman to take our luggage to our room + we had to wait 15 minutes on line (only 2 people ahead of us) just to check in.

We had the buffet breakfast the next morning and it was $25 per person for a very average buffet. The first was not fresh at all.

We had to call room service twice to request that they clean and service our room that day. In every other 5 star hotel I've been to they cleaned our room 2-3 times a day, and we never had to ask them to do it.

It gets worst...

We book a conducted tour of Miami for the following day, the concierge flat out lied to us. He said the tour would in a small van with at most 7 people, and not a big tour bus with 50 people.

So we booked the tour, $75/per person. Long behold we were picked up by a big tour bus with 50 people!?!

I've never had a concierge flat out lie to me like that. It's outrageous.

My wife and I were completed shocked by the complete lack of service and professionalism at this hotel, if you ask me it should be stripped of it's 5 star rating.

If you're considering staying here, I would strongly recommend against it. Save your money and go to a Westin or the Intercontinental instead.

  • Liked — The architecture and the view
  • Disliked — The complete and utter lack of service and professionalism
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owl's Head, Maine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

The Biltmore is beautifully restored and does a good job of sharing its interesting history. On our second stay, we were upgraded to a lovely suite with patio. The views were lovely. The rooms were very comfortable and the bathroom above average. The staff was very good.
The only thing that left a bad taste in our mouths was the Fontana Restaurant. We did not feel that the service or food merited the high prices charged. The service was disinterested at best--too bad, as the setting was charming.Because we were tired after a long trip, we opted to eat there twice--and each time were disappointed. The room service offerings were very limited.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed everything. Stayed in a deluxe room with a view of the golf course. A solidly built hotel with real plaster walls, etc. It was relaxing lounging by the pool and listening to the band. The staff were friendly and courteous. The grounds were beautiful and perfectly groomed . This is definitely Mercedes Benz country, but don't worry if you don't have one, they treat everyone well. It is located in a quiet residental neighborhood. We would definetely stay again.

  • Liked — Best of accomafdations
  • Disliked — everythig is expensive and extra
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

We stayed one night at the Biltmore. From arrival to departure, the staff was super accommodating and professional. We utilized the bellstaff, bar area, pool dining and 1200 Courtyard breakfast dining and all staff members were friendly, courteous and helpful.

Our room (#1000) was a standard Queen-bed room, great view of Coral Gables. Very comfy bed, and we really liked the extra counter space in the bathroom.

Overall, a very relaxing stay and an easy 10 minute drive down 42nd Ave. from the airport.

  • Liked — Food and Beverage
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hingham, ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

We stayed at the biltmore for two nights for a wedding last June. This is a beautiful historic hotel with a grand feeling to it. We kept hearing about the "largest pool in the continental US" and were actually disappointed by the pool area. The pool itself is so big, that the area to sunbathe is cramped and crowded. The pool side restaurant/bar is beautiful as are the multiple bar/lounge areas around the hotel. The hotel is a car-ride away from any nightlife or restaurants (other than the hotel restaurants). The room was small, but clean, nicely appointed and comfortable. In general, this hotel has a european feel to it. We enjoyed our stay and the wedding (which was held in the upstairs ballroom) was absolutely incredible. This is a fabulous site for a function.

  • Liked — historic, grand feel to the building itself, close to miami
  • Disliked — crowded pool area, no activities in walking distance
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

We chose the Biltmore for its reputation as a luxury property in the Miami area. We enjoyed two nights in this lovely property. The facility is magnificent though located in a residential area and not within easy walking distance of much at all. Having a car is essential. Our room was comfortable and the hotel amenities plentiful.

Some comments about an otherwise fine hotel. Our stay followed on the heels of the Dec. 9 Republican debates in Coral Gables. The hotel must have been overwhelmed by the various Senate visitors as we were somewhat neglected beginning the next day. After repeated phone calls to housekeeping throughout the day, we finally had to intervene with the hotel manager at 6:00 p.m. to have our room made up from the night before.

Staff and management apologized but never offered much beyond bewilderment as to what went wrong. Upon checkout, we were not offered the routine question as to how we enjoyed our stay - almost as if the hotel welcomed our departure. The gentleman checking out next to me complained about the "worst" valet service he had ever experienced, noting he had waited "an hour" for his car and that he had missed a meeting.

Every hotel has a bad day - and certainly this was a demanding weekend for the Biltmore - but the hotel clearly was understaffed and overwhelmed in the day(s) that followed. And there should have been more kindness extended to those of us who experienced "shortages" following the hotel's big weekend.

A.M. Sensenig, Arlington, VA.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.