We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with charachter but problem with taxis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with charachter but problem with taxis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Charachter filled hotel. Beautiful and old in a charming way. Great service with regards to bedrooms. Food wasn't great and had to wait over an hour between starters and main course (dinner in courtyard outside). Bedroom was lovely and clean. Big problem with taxis as you are in the middle of nowhere and there are no restaurants within walking distance so you have to wait for taxis and sometimes the wait can be up to an hour which isn't great if you are in a hurry. Coral Gables nearby does have alot of restaurants but it is a ten minute taxi ride. The hotel has a courtesy car that goes there but they do not seem to advertise it at all which is strange. Large outdoor pool - great but can get cold as too big to heat easily. Free lessons in gym daily - yoga, spin etc - but again didn't seem to advertise this well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We welcome constructive feedback from all our valued guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. We were surprised to read your comments about the quality of food at Fontana, as this restaurant has received consistently high ratings from the Zagat Guide for four years running now. Nevertheless, your comments about the service have been passed on to Restaurant Management, who in turn addressed such with all pertinent staff. Regarding the comment on taxi service, this is a county-wise issue; we are lobbying for better service among all the luxury hotels nearby in order to improve service to all our properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    292
    124
    61
    34
See reviews for
320
398
47
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It's still a great place to stay although we did have a few hic-ups when booking in. The line to check in was quite busy and when we finally got to the desk we were told that our booking agent had made a reservation for 3 superior rooms and we may be charged for all 3 (instead of 2). We were surprised as we only had the paperwork for 2 rooms but was advised to contact our UK agent to sort it out. We tried to do this but could not get through on our cell phones. We were allocated 2 rooms but when we got to one of them there was someone already in it! So, back to reception to queue again! We were still not happy with the fact that we may be charged for 3 rooms. We were allocated a second room but this would not be ready for occupation for a further 30 minutes. We would have liked to have changed for afternoon tea as we had been travelling all day and were hot and tired, but we all had to wait in the one room that was available. We had been booked in for afternoon tea at 4pm, paid for as a special birthday treat for one of our party. Due to not being allocated a room until 3.55pm we had to go for our tea in the clothes we stood up in. This was a bit disappointing as it was a special event for us but having said that the "afternoon tea" was wonderful and I would highly recommend it. Lots of nice sandwiches, cakes, scones and an array of teas many of which we never knew existed. Served by a very nice waitress too. We returned to the reception, still concerned about the 3rd un-booked room and feeling that we were being a nuisance. This time we persuaded the reception manageress to contact the UK booking agent and try and sort it out on our behalf (it's not a cheap hotel and we certainly didn't want to be paying for a room that we didn't want or ask for). This time, success! Everything was sorted and it was all just a paperwork error. The hotel very kindly allocated two bottles of wine to our rooms foc for the inconvenience. We enjoyed the continental breakfast each morning which we had paid for in our room price.

The rooms were beautifully decorated (although one of them did smell a little damp). The only thing missing is the coffee maker which we do like to have in a morning. The grounds of the hotel and golf course are fabulous to walk around. This time we ventured into the pool and it's brilliant. We didn't use the gym but did poke our noses through the window and it looked very well equipped.

The façade of the building was under renovation – this building work did not affect us in any way but it was a pity about the scaffolding being there. I’m sure it will look spectacular when it’s complete.

If you're looking for a special experience in a historic hotel you can't beat a stay at The Biltmore. Be careful about tipping as there is already a 20% service charge added to room bills.

Room Tip: Stick to the standard rooms. The suites are nice but more expensive and all the rooms are well equi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. This positive feedback is most appreciated, particularly with regards to our Front Desk staff sorting out the administrative mistake made by the booking agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband had stayed at the Biltmore with a friend, to golf, and had been very impressed by the course, the value offered, and the service at the hotel. We decided to go on a last-minute getaway with our adult daughter, and so had the opportunity to see a couple of different rooms.

My husband was on the golf package, which came with a Junior Suite. The Junior Suite was fine, with a small terrace, but the desk/TV built-in, meant to divide the room into sleeping/living areas, made the room feel awkward and clunky. I didn't really love the room, and it was far down a hallway, but we'd unpacked and I honestly didn't care enough to move.

Our daughter had a regular room. Although it didn't have the sofa area, it actually felt more spacious. It was in the Tower, and in future, I would book the Tower.

The pool is very, very large. My only suggestion would be that the hotel reserve one section of it as an adult (or kid) section. Screaming, splashing kids were pretty much everywhere two of the days we were there, and they are having fun, you can't blame them, but it was annoying. The pool is large enough that this wouldn't be a problem.

The outdoor Fontana restaurant was excellent 4 of 5 nights that we ate there. It's gorgeous, and we loved sitting beside the oversize fountain. The dinner was so good the first night, and we were so into relaxing, that we went back again and again, rather than venture into CG. One night it wasn't great--turns out it was the night the exec chef wasn't on. The staff was really gracious and accommodating about handling issues, though. Staff at the restaurant was great.

We didn't eat at Palme d'Or---too formal for our purposes, this trip.

Cascade, the poolside restaurant, was just okay. Serviceable.

The downstairs bar was dark and cool and lovely. Well-made cocktails.

The front desk and concierge staff were mixed. Some were over the top friendly and helpful, some were diffident. One concierge was aloof and odd, in the wrong job.

But overall, this place was perfect for a relaxing getaway, when you want to just sort of stay put.

We ate in Coral Gables, but nothing memorable. We did go to Books and Books, the wonderful independent bookstore, on a Friday night. They had great live music playing, and an open-air bar. Wonderful bookstore!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted your and your family enjoyed the hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is a show stopper! Beautiful grounds, spectacular pool, lovely restaurant and very attentive staff. It is well off the water and definitely not a party place. The scene at the pool is very peaceful and great for relaxing, you will not hear club music by the pool or at the restaurants. What I enjoy most is its wonderful history. There are so many great stories about the good times and bad times and how its managed to survive over the years. I love to walk through the property to admire the fabulous architecture and think about the interesting characters that have walked through its doors. I highly recommend a visit to both locals and tourists. Thank you George Merrick for bringing the Old World Mediterranean style to our city!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with the Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Everything about this hotel was perfect: our room, the food, the staff, the pool. Nothing was too much trouble. It was a real touch of class and we loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. This positive feedback is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

First off, we had a great time at the Biltmore, but don't go expecting an ultra-modern, hi-tech, all sing-and-dancing hotel experience. Do go expecting immaculate service, attention to detail and the charm and faded grandeur with which we Brits are so familiar.

Valet parking at $25 a day - no thanks. You can self-park - the lot is a bit of a hike from the lobby but the exercise is good. Great service from the bell-hop, which you only find out is included in the $20 a day 'resort fee' after you've tipped him (and you can't really take it back then, can you?). Also included is housekeeping tips, wifi etc., so not bad value.

On check-in we were told that building works had 'over-run' (hmmm...) and there would be construction work happening during our stay. We were given a resort credit of $100, which, at the Biltmore, just about pays for an olive! Still, a reasonable gesture and it was actually quite fun sitting by the pool watching six guys erect a scaffold tower in hours that would have taken our lazy British workers a week!

Food excellent in all restaurants, especially breakfast in the 19th Hole coffee shop at the golf course. Perfect service. Good cocktails in the stunning, retro Biltmore bar, where happy hour until 8pm halves the price of various drinks - but take note that 18% service and state tax is levied on the full price.

Pool beautiful, drinks service excellent. The hotel was built in the 1920s when sunbathing was not a popular pastime. Consequently, the space allocated to sunbeds is relatively small and you are often shaded by giant palm trees or outbuildings.

Our room, a junior suite, was so junior it could have been an infant. Basically, a large, recently redecorated bedroom split in half by a wooden book-case/desk/drawer unit nailed to the wall. Still, two flat-screen TVs, one for the sofa, one for the bed - set, as most hotel TVs inevitably are, to an incorrect picture ratio. The bathroom was unreconstructed, but absolutely fine.

All in all, we had a really good time and our short stay was a fitting end to a brilliant two weeks in South Florida. I will still be paying for my time at the Biltmore at Christmas, but no matter - indulgence is good!

Room Tip: Junior suites are not really worth the extra money. Go a step up or a step down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted your and your family enjoyed the hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great hotel! So neat to stay in a hotel with such history! The prices are high for food and drink so be ready. The pool is fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at the Biltmore soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.