We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We are return visitors to the Biltmore and can't wait to return. It is such a lovely and classy property in a beautiful neighborhood. One of our favorite parts of staying there is going for a morning walk in the Coral Gables neighborhood around the hotel (and invariably becoming lost). The Biltmore fits so nicely into the neighborhood and the whole experience is a wonderful respite from both the beach mania and everyday life. And that pool is incomparable! Just a lovely, one-of-a-kind property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with the Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    209
    91
    51
    22
See reviews for
245
295
38
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Very charming hotel with an interesting history. Has a huge swimming pool from the 30's that was used for various movies. Although the hotel has been elegantly maintained, being an old hotel ,means small rooms, very small elevators (and no service elevator so you constantly have the staff with housekeeping carts, bellhops with luggage, etc.) and small bathrooms.

Food in the various restaurants was excellent. This is an hotel you may visit once as although it's in Miami--it's not really close to anything--basically in a resdential neighborhood so all the action is at least 30 minutes away.

Room Tip: Go for the king bed as these rooms are the largest. Just an FYI--they promote a Sunday Brunch but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore, a designated National Historic Landmark property, known for its rustic Mediterranean charm. We especially appreciate the comments regarding cuisine quality, as our restaurants, both Palme d'Or and Fontana, have received top Zagat ratings in South Florida for four years running. We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”, but we do offer complimentary town car service to our guests to enjoy dining and shopping experiences throughout the city of Coral Gables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I really enjoy grand old hotels and was looking forward to this one based upon its history of elegance, but have to say, I was disappointed with the place. It's very nice, but difficult to call world class and even more difficult to justify the nightly room rate. If it were half the price, it would be good value, but the rate and reputation suggest higher expectations that simply weren't met.

The place really looks much nicer in the evening, lit up; it looks like a great spot for an evening event/wedding. In the daylight, though, it really shows its age and could use a coat of paint. Furniture in the room also needs to replaced - it's not charming old, but outdated old. The pool needs a thorough cleaning as well, and was relatively dirty for a hotel of this stature (again, holding the Biltmore to a higher standard based upon its own target market). I actually had second thoughts about swimming in it. Pool service was mediocre as well.

Service across the board was mediocre. The people were very nice and friendly, but again, just not particularly useful. As an example, when we initially drove up, there was only one gentleman at the front door trying to juggle numerous arriving cars. Didn't get an offer to valet the car or take our luggage out until we were already on our way through the door to the front desk. Charging $25 for valet service at a place like this is absurd, by the way. As further examples, housekeeping again was friendly and did a good job - when they came. Our first day in the hotel, we were out of the room from 9:30A-3:30P and our room wasn't cleaned during that time. It wasn't actually cleaned until we left it for dinner that evening. On subsequent days, we made it a habit to call housekeeping when leaving the room, just to be sure it would be cleaned when we came back.

On the plus side, the golf course was nice and well-maintained. The hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, but not far from a variety of shopping and restaurants. We didn't dine at any of the restaurants inside the hotel, though they looked nice from the outside. This hotel is one minor renovation and a detail-oriented service approach away from being really special, but for now, it was a disappointment and I wouldn't recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property, known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We regret that the property profile and our services did not meet your expectations. However, we do welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. To that end, we encourage you to contact the General Manager’s office directly, so we may address these issues thoroughly with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

first let me say this is my absolute favorite hotel in Miami area- and its hard to find anything wrong with it- But let me say there was a few things that did catch my eye
the amazing pool- was not perfectly clean- some of this could be from the horrible storms in the area- but the bottom of the pool needed a good cleaning
the exterior of the building - if you looked around - you could see a few areas at roof line that needed a little work
THERE IS THE GOOD STUFF
when you arrive and drive up the driveway to the Hotel entrance- you are greeted by some of the best staff anywhere- always attentive to your needs- they remember your name can seem to know your car- GREAT --everyone from Check-in, Concierge, House keeping, Pool staff, wait staff-
the Biltmore is a grad hotel - that does not need a Joan Rivers face lift -just a little nip and tuck to make it a perfect as it deserves to be
make the time in your life time to stay here- and you will see it the moment you arrive

Room Tip: facing the pool area or golf course - there not a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your sincere feedback. We welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as a means of monitoring services and product quality, ensuring they're consistent with our profile - that of a world-class luxury resort. In regard to the comments on the pool and the hotel exterior, we are presently addressing renovation of these areas, which are scheduled for enhancement in the upcoming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Back in 1999, my husband and I were supposed to stay at the Biltmore prior to our honeymoon in the British Virgin Islands. Sadly, we never made it to the Biltmore due to a cancelled flight originating in South America. Fast forward to Summer 2011...we were in need of a sunny weekend escape with our young son, and it seemed like a perfect opportunity to finally stay at the Biltmore.

Our stay here was simply glorious! Shortly after checking in, we were upgraded to a Tower suite after asking for a room with a view-- what a wonderful surprise and a lovely gesture by staff! The view was truly mesmerizing, and the suite was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed.

The hotel itself is a stunnning building, taking you back to another era. The pool is amazing in every way, and the pool staff are all friendly and courteous. One can easily tell that the Biltmore aims to please its guests and sets high service standards for its staff... everything a hotel should be and more.

I should also mention that the hotel is very child-friendly, and the whimsical bird cages on the main level will delight any child.

We look forward to a return stay at the Biltmore sometime in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. This positive feedback is most appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Biltmore very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The biggest American Hotelpool until this Year . This is a well Run Five Star Hotel in a very nice neighbarhood Coral Gables , just a 15 minutes drive from Miami AirPort ,is a Nenner of the Leading Hotels .The rooms are Build in a Classic style are in perfect Condition.there is also a 18 hole Golfcourse and a Big Sporting Club.the Bistro at the Pool serves really good Food Jthrough the Day and the Fine Dining Restaurant was the Best in my two weeks trip to the States.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
At the Biltmore, our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable – we’re very pleased we exceeded expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at the Biltmore during our daughter's graduation from U of Miami. During the four years she was in school we stayed at practically every hotel in Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Biltmore was by far the best. Wonderful service, wonderful food and great value. Yes, there was a $20 resort fee, but that covered so much: internet, tips, exercise classes, bikes to explore the neighborhood.... We thought this was our last trip to Miami but now we want to come back just to stay at the Biltmore.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted your and your family enjoyed the hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.