We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nip and a tuck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a nip and a tuck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

first let me say this is my absolute favorite hotel in Miami area- and its hard to find anything wrong with it- But let me say there was a few things that did catch my eye
the amazing pool- was not perfectly clean- some of this could be from the horrible storms in the area- but the bottom of the pool needed a good cleaning
the exterior of the building - if you looked around - you could see a few areas at roof line that needed a little work
THERE IS THE GOOD STUFF
when you arrive and drive up the driveway to the Hotel entrance- you are greeted by some of the best staff anywhere- always attentive to your needs- they remember your name can seem to know your car- GREAT --everyone from Check-in, Concierge, House keeping, Pool staff, wait staff-
the Biltmore is a grad hotel - that does not need a Joan Rivers face lift -just a little nip and tuck to make it a perfect as it deserves to be
make the time in your life time to stay here- and you will see it the moment you arrive

Room Tip: facing the pool area or golf course - there not a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your sincere feedback. We welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as a means of monitoring services and product quality, ensuring they're consistent with our profile - that of a world-class luxury resort. In regard to the comments on the pool and the hotel exterior, we are presently addressing renovation of these areas, which are scheduled for enhancement in the upcoming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    250
    108
    52
    27
See reviews for
269
345
42
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Back in 1999, my husband and I were supposed to stay at the Biltmore prior to our honeymoon in the British Virgin Islands. Sadly, we never made it to the Biltmore due to a cancelled flight originating in South America. Fast forward to Summer 2011...we were in need of a sunny weekend escape with our young son, and it seemed like a perfect opportunity to finally stay at the Biltmore.

Our stay here was simply glorious! Shortly after checking in, we were upgraded to a Tower suite after asking for a room with a view-- what a wonderful surprise and a lovely gesture by staff! The view was truly mesmerizing, and the suite was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed.

The hotel itself is a stunnning building, taking you back to another era. The pool is amazing in every way, and the pool staff are all friendly and courteous. One can easily tell that the Biltmore aims to please its guests and sets high service standards for its staff... everything a hotel should be and more.

I should also mention that the hotel is very child-friendly, and the whimsical bird cages on the main level will delight any child.

We look forward to a return stay at the Biltmore sometime in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. This positive feedback is most appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Biltmore very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The biggest American Hotelpool until this Year . This is a well Run Five Star Hotel in a very nice neighbarhood Coral Gables , just a 15 minutes drive from Miami AirPort ,is a Nenner of the Leading Hotels .The rooms are Build in a Classic style are in perfect Condition.there is also a 18 hole Golfcourse and a Big Sporting Club.the Bistro at the Pool serves really good Food Jthrough the Day and the Fine Dining Restaurant was the Best in my two weeks trip to the States.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
At the Biltmore, our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable – we’re very pleased we exceeded expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at the Biltmore during our daughter's graduation from U of Miami. During the four years she was in school we stayed at practically every hotel in Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Biltmore was by far the best. Wonderful service, wonderful food and great value. Yes, there was a $20 resort fee, but that covered so much: internet, tips, exercise classes, bikes to explore the neighborhood.... We thought this was our last trip to Miami but now we want to come back just to stay at the Biltmore.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for this feedback. Our staff and management at Biltmore always appreciate hearing from our guests. We’re delighted your and your family enjoyed the hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel is where you want to stay in Miami if you want peace and quiet in lovely surroundings. Has an old world European feel, lots of history. There is a book about the hotel in the gift shop. It is not far from the airport, and located in a residential area on beautiful grounds--golf course. The pool area is reason enough to stay, the Sunday brunch is legend with locals so make reservations far in advance. The hotel restaurant is excellent, and there is a cigar bar. Shopping and nightlife is near by on Miracle Mile. Coconut Grove, a tourist area is about 15 minutes away by car, South Beach is about 30 minutes away by car depending on time of day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
We like to describe the Biltmore as “a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami”. We’re pleased to hear that you left with unique and cherished memories from your stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i stayed for two nights and were won over. The grounds were lush and lovely the room bright and cheerful (great mattress and pillows too!) the lobbies and bar areas stately and beautiful and the pool absolutely gorgeous. My husband played golf and raved about the course and i enjoyed the complimentary mango sherbet and cool towels. The fontana restaurant was excellent and service excellent overall. My only caution is to inquire about the wine at the bar. In the restaurant i was given the option of three pinot noirs at 12, 17 or 20 per glass but the bar served me the 20 dollar glass with no option. I didnt appreciate that. However, the rest of the biltmore experience was wonderful and i would most definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize for the oversight regarding the lack of options you were given in the bar. We have the same options regarding wine by the glass (as well as an extensive wine list) in the bars as we do in our restaurants. We have addressed this issue with the appropriate personnel to avoid any future confusion in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in April 2012. Visually the hotel is everything it claims to be, huge, smart, impressive, and luxurious. The biggest hotel pool in the USA certainly. The facilities and the staff, excellent and faultless. We enjoyed jazz and a pleasant meal with cocktails by the poolside bar. Breakfast fabulous. The rooms are not as large as one might have expected but nonetheless comfortable and pleasant. My one criticism would be the plumbing which is dated and not too efficient. We had to run the water for several minutes to achieve enough heat to enjoy a bath. The sink once filled with water would leak from the plunge plug before you have finished washing your hands. Disappointing for the rates charged.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We are very appreciative of this feedback about our property. With regards to the comments about the plumbing, please know that we are presently addressing a handful of lower category rooms that are scheduled for enhancement in the upcoming weeks. We would also welcome the opportunity to address this issue directly with this guest and encourage them to contact us, as we feel this was truly an isolated incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.