We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

We stayed one night at the Biltmore. From arrival to departure, the staff was super accommodating and professional. We utilized the bellstaff, bar area, pool dining and 1200 Courtyard breakfast dining and all staff members were friendly, courteous and helpful.

Our room (#1000) was a standard Queen-bed room, great view of Coral Gables. Very comfy bed, and we really liked the extra counter space in the bathroom.

Overall, a very relaxing stay and an easy 10 minute drive down 42nd Ave. from the airport.

  • Liked — Food and Beverage
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    201
    83
    48
    22
See reviews for
223
280
35
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hingham, ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

We stayed at the biltmore for two nights for a wedding last June. This is a beautiful historic hotel with a grand feeling to it. We kept hearing about the "largest pool in the continental US" and were actually disappointed by the pool area. The pool itself is so big, that the area to sunbathe is cramped and crowded. The pool side restaurant/bar is beautiful as are the multiple bar/lounge areas around the hotel. The hotel is a car-ride away from any nightlife or restaurants (other than the hotel restaurants). The room was small, but clean, nicely appointed and comfortable. In general, this hotel has a european feel to it. We enjoyed our stay and the wedding (which was held in the upstairs ballroom) was absolutely incredible. This is a fabulous site for a function.

  • Liked — historic, grand feel to the building itself, close to miami
  • Disliked — crowded pool area, no activities in walking distance
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

We chose the Biltmore for its reputation as a luxury property in the Miami area. We enjoyed two nights in this lovely property. The facility is magnificent though located in a residential area and not within easy walking distance of much at all. Having a car is essential. Our room was comfortable and the hotel amenities plentiful.

Some comments about an otherwise fine hotel. Our stay followed on the heels of the Dec. 9 Republican debates in Coral Gables. The hotel must have been overwhelmed by the various Senate visitors as we were somewhat neglected beginning the next day. After repeated phone calls to housekeeping throughout the day, we finally had to intervene with the hotel manager at 6:00 p.m. to have our room made up from the night before.

Staff and management apologized but never offered much beyond bewilderment as to what went wrong. Upon checkout, we were not offered the routine question as to how we enjoyed our stay - almost as if the hotel welcomed our departure. The gentleman checking out next to me complained about the "worst" valet service he had ever experienced, noting he had waited "an hour" for his car and that he had missed a meeting.

Every hotel has a bad day - and certainly this was a demanding weekend for the Biltmore - but the hotel clearly was understaffed and overwhelmed in the day(s) that followed. And there should have been more kindness extended to those of us who experienced "shortages" following the hotel's big weekend.

A.M. Sensenig, Arlington, VA.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2007

We had a great stay at the Biltmore. The room and architecture of the hotel are fantatsic '30's glamour and the staff even better. Defintely the best hotel experience in the US in the 6 months we lived there. I would recommend it to anyone

  • Liked — the staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

I stayed here 1 night for a conference. This is a grand belle epoque hotel from the roaring 1920s which has been wonderfully restored. The pluses were grand public spaces, wonderful (almost obsequious) service, a very large room, a very comfortable plush bed, and a very nice bathroom with very nice stone on the walls and bathtub. However, my room was L shaped, and the space was extremely poorly organized. Instead of more comfortable modern chairs or loveseats, the room had 2 rather uncomfortable, ornate sitting chairs. There was no desk of any kind . There was only a combination bookcase sized dresser (bottom) / entertainment center (top). The top of the dresser (where the hotel places expensive snacks for purchase) served as the desk. There was a chair for this purpose - how anyone with legs was supposed to sit there was unclear... The only way to watch the 20" TV (I never understand why 5 star hotels buy the cheapest TV brands) was to lie on my bed 20 feet away or sit on the "desk" chair in the middle of the room. The 2 sitting chairs were at an impossible angle to the TV. The room's decor was French provincial meets Southern county fair - the strange decor made the furniture look cheaper than it was. The conference facilities were outstanding, but the room itself was inadequate for business travel. The hotel is in the middle of pricey houses, and there is really nothing of interest near the hotel. Both restaurants are painfully overpriced - the 1200 Grill had great appetizers, but the "Kobe-like" steak was tough, chewy and overpriced - I have had steaks at the Golden Corral and Outback that were far easier to cut than what I ate here.

  • Liked — They don't make hotels like this grand hotel anymore
  • Disliked — No desk in room, poor layout of room, location in residential area
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

I traveled to Coral Gables to meet my husband who was attending a professional conference at The Biltmore. It was my 3rd visit here. On this visit we had beautiful bed and bathrooms. I don't golf, but the pool and spa made this hotel a luxury retreat. Book your spa treatments on line for a discount.

  • Liked — the spa
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

If only I could live here! This exquisite hotel reeks of Hollywood Glamour from the second you walk in the door you are greeted warmly and offered a glass of champagne upon check-in....very knowledgeable bellman who gave us the history of the hotel as well as great information about the amenities. Have a drink Fridays by the pool and listen to live music or eat at any of the restaurants..or venture out into Coral Gables for many great choices. The rooms are PRISTINE...absolutely spotless. Everything about this hotel is very well-maintained and top-notch!

  • Liked — Absolutely amazing historic hotel with top-notch service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Splendia, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.