We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed her at the end of our honeymoon and it was excellent all round

The rooms are lovely, the building itself is superb and very interesting in terms of its history. The service is outstanding. The pool, golf, gym, spa and all facilities are top notch

We ate dinner in the Palm d'Or which is not cheap but is excellent with fantastic food, wine list and service.

We had such a relaxing time by the pool and running around the local area - we didnt really have time to explore Coral Gables at the end of our trip but this would be easy from here is you wanted to.

Overall this is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    207
    90
    50
    22
See reviews for
243
293
37
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I really have mixed feelings about this hotel.

The check'in experience is by far the worst one i've seen in any kind of a 4 stars hotel so far :
- no indication where to park / valets ;
- stayed 5 minutes in front of the main entrance and nobody seemed to care about us ;
- I finally left my car there and went inside to get my way. There, I found two employees yelling at each other. Nice. Had to interrupt them to get my way. They told me, on a questionable manner where I could find the front desk but i really seemed to bother them .
- Front desk : no explanation on where to find a valet / no bellman service offered.
Finally checked in, parked my car myself, and brought my luggages to my room.
Awesome WYDIWG experience (What You Do Is What You Get).
Is it the "Circus Circus" here ? First impression : ZERO.

Whatever the price, when I had a long trip, I WANT a valet to to take care of us and park my car and I WANT someone to atleast offer to take care of my baggage.

Hopefully, the hotel itself is absolutely awesome. You'll feel liketravelling back into time.
A lot different from most hotels you'll find in the Miami area : relaxing, classic, calm, elegant populated with quiet guests.

Regular rooms are spacious enough and clean. But hey guys, keeping a historic place up running doesnt mean that you have to give up on buying Flat TVs.
Also, I had some serious problems with the air conditioning system : whenever we started it, i had some serious allergies and even had to buy some zyrtec to face this problem.
I must admit that i am quite sensitive but it usually happens to me when the air conditionning system is dusty.
The mattress was average.

The restaurants provide various experiences : The italian restaurants is probably a bit overpriced for some average food.
The small restaurant at the swimming pool delivers good food at decent prices.
The cellar bar and the Biltmore Bar both deserve a visit (good service, good wines and the classic wooden style of the cellar bar is charming).

Regarding its location, and unless you're a golf fan, you will need a car. There's almost nothing at a decent walking distance from the hotel.
However, the hotel has a huge complimentary parking.
The coral gables "miracle mile" is only 5-10 minutes way.
Miami beach is about 15-20 minutes away.
The airport is 15-20 minutes away.
And you'll find various malls (aventura or dolphin mall) 15-20 minutes way.

A nice 4 nights experience and a tremendous historic place spoiled by the very unwelcoming check'in : Hotel guests are obviously second zone customers while those booking a restaurant or setting up a party/wedding are their main focus. In the end, you can enjoy much of this hotel by simply having lunch or diner there.

Good destination if you get a good bargain.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
We welcome all feedback from our guests and take pride in our commitment of providing a world-class luxury experience at Biltmore. The subject matter mentioned in this correspondence is certainly inconsistent with our normal standards and service culture. The issues at hand have been thoroughly addressed with all pertinent staff and areas involved. As well, the majority of our rooms have been updated with new flat screen televisions, with completion of this initiative due in the upcoming weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

First class treatment all the way. While we were checking in we were greeted with cocktails at the front desk, that was a great touch! Hotel was historic but up to date...wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Biltmore. As we do not golf and love the beach we were hesitant. To my surprise this was probably one of the most outstanding hotel experiences I have had! For the past 7 years I have gone to The Breakers, Palm Beach, however I enjoyed this more! Whether it was the staff, the complimentary room upgrade, incredible dining - never a bad meal - or the expert concierge services everything exceeded my expectations! Including Happy Hour from 5-8.
I had emailed Brooke in advance as to my love of historic hotels but also my high standards for rooms. She went out of her way to ensure everything was of the highest quality. It probably helped the hotel was not full and therefore we were able to be accommodated.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool have afternoon sun, front of hotel is nice but not as scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I normally like modern hotels over historic properties, but the Biltmore sold me with its updated rooms and authentic Florida charm. The hotel is in a residential area in Coral Gables, which is a community of historical million dollar + homes and the relaxed feel of an upscale suburban retirement community. The hotel itself has an elegance that modern hotels can't quite match. Lobby is amazing, rooms are updated and clean with great views. If you like swimming, the pool is worth the price of admission. There aren't any restaurants nearby, so you'll either need to take a taxi or I would recommend just eating at the excellent on-site restaurants. The breakfast buffets are solid, the restaurants are very good and there are numerous happy hour opportunities for the budget minded (do not miss the half-price happy hour drinks at the poolside bar in the evening - particularly the margaritas and mojitos). Another advantage of the huge pool is that there is no shortage of lounge seating or space for swimming. A great place to veg out, get some sun, swim, play golf and drink yourself into oblivion while enjoying a slice of real old Florida luxury. I also found the service to be friendly and responsive.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Excellent hotel, pool, resturants, gym, personnel. Great history.

Room Tip: Recommend reservations for Sunday brunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

An excellent way to spend an afternoon

My wife and I walked the grounds, sat at the pool bar for an afternoon cocktail and just relaxed

If you have a few hours you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Don't rush - just take it all in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.