We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrated Birthday with Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Celebrated Birthday with Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

This was a weekend family getaway for my birthday. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival because İ had mentioned it was a special occasion. We relaxed at the pool, drove around, went to Coconut Grove to eat. The hotel is situated on a golf course. We don't play golf so we actually were left with little to do on the premise. The pool is large and pretty but not exciting enough for my kids (10 and 8). We wanted an umbrella because the pool chairs are in an area where there is very little shade. There only were 5 umbrellas to go around and the pool boy was unwilling to move one for us. My husband brought it himself and staff just watched us. We asked to talk to manager about our concern and need for improvement but no one came.
İn our room, the shower needed some TLC. The knobs and handles were coming off so we called maintenance. The bathroom felt a little dated. My daughter started sneezing in the room so we took a look at the A/C filter and saw it had not been replaced in a long time because it was full of dust. We called maintenance again and that was taken care of as well.
Five star hotel with some issues but staff willing to help.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
We are very appreciative of this feedback and regret that the property failed to meet your expectations. The property is presently addressing a handful of lower category rooms that are scheduled for enhancement in the upcoming weeks. We would also welcome the opportunity to make amends in the future, as we feel this was truly an isolated incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    507
    201
    83
    48
    22
See reviews for
223
281
35
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have special affection for this beautiful hotel for an unusual reason: I was born there! During WWII, the Biltmore became a US Army hospital and my father was stationed in Miami. A magnificent structure that fell into disrepair as a army then VA hospital until it closed, it was resurrected and restored to its original grandeur. This is a true five-star experience and one the finest hotels that I have frequented in the US. Service is impeccable, the rooms nicely done and the common space grand.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
It is always a pleasure to hear from guests who have a special connection with the Biltmore and yours is one with great history. Thank you for taking the time to share your impression of the present day Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Talk about old world charm and architechtural splendor. Yes this is a very old, but still beautiful hotel. I was there on business and only booked the Biltmore because everything else in Coral Gables was full, I was so happy it turned out that way. The staff was extremely helpful and room service was delicious. Not the run of the mill hotel food, but food that was well made and definitely first class. Can't wait to go back again with my family. Even though I am not a big golfer, the golf course and grounds were impeccable. A++ for the Biltmore.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Biltmore in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

this place is simply the best resort hotel in all of south florida. the food is fantastic in all of the restaurants with the palm d'or having some of the best food i have ever eaten. the staff while fairly young is intuitive to guests needs. david at the front desk, ivan at the bar, frank the concierge, terry and sebastian in fontana and all the staff make your stay seemless. (otania the chef in fontana is a magician) worth the money to stay in a golf suite and try the sunday brunch. Dont think twice, the hotels we stayed in prior to this place did not compare.

Room Tip: rooms with private terraces are very neat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Biltmore's management is always appreciative of feedback from our guests, in recognition of our staff's professionalism, warm hospitality and service. Our restaurants continue to receive recognition for their culinary creativity and impeccable service. This guest's gracious comments will certainly be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Beautiful Hotel, I come here every summer. Close to beach, shopping and cuban coffee!! Rent the cabana and have family over for the day. Play the golf course, swim in the largest outdoor hotel pool in the country and enjoy the florida sunshine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We are very appreciative of this guest's comments and look forward to future return visits to the Biltmore for further opportunities for relaxation and to enjoy all that the resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is without a doubt a beautiful hotel, quintessentially Miami. I look forward to my business trips every year as I get to stay here and enjoy the ambiance. I stayed in a room on the 13th floor (the "haunted" floor) and did not experience anything. In fact, I remember sleeping well. But that's probably because of the wonderful dinner at one of the Miami restaurants. The only issue I have is they charge for internet connection.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
We are very appreciative of this guest's kind remarks on the property and pleased to know that our valued repeat guests come back for the Biltmore's warm hospitality. In regards to the internet comment, it should be noted that for guests' convenience, charges for special services not included in room rate are combined into a single daily fee of $20 added to the guest account, to provide in-room high speed internet in addition to maid service gratuities, daily admission to the Biltmore Fitness Center, guest's choice of daily newspaper, unlimited local calls, long distance access on credit card and outbound collect calls, bellman gratuities for arrivals and departures, town car service throughout Coral Gables and automobile self-parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I have stayed at the Biltmore for short "get away" trips for the past 10-15 years. Each time I am their it seems to just get better the rooms are great the food is great and the service is great. However, this past trip was the best stay yet. You don't want to leave the property once you get their and if any problem does arise a simple call to the office and David Castro Front Office Mananger not only makes the problem go away he makes you feel like a member of the family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
It's always a pleasure to hear from our loyal repeat guests and know that their welcoming Biltmore experience keeps them returning year after year.We take special pride in all our staff and are very appreciative when they are recognized for their outstanding service and professionalism and more importantly their warm hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Agoda, Splendia, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.